The 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt

Want to learn more about the 75th anniversary? Below you can find information on the battle and the delegation that will attend commemorative events in Belgium in September 2019.

History

The Battle of the Scheldt was fought in northwestern Belgium and the southwestern Netherlands. The main campaign raged from 2 October - 8 November 1944. The Allied victory, led by the First Canadian Army, opened the port of Antwerp and secured a crucial supply line for the Allied liberation of Europe. More than 75,000 Canadians served in the Battle of the Scheldt, including over 6,300 who were killed, wounded or taken prisoner.

See the First Canadian Army’s progress in the Battle of the Scheld.


Government of Canada delegation

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt, an official Government of Canada delegation will travel to Antwerp, Belgium, from 6-8 September 2019. Canadian Veterans of the Battle of the Scheldt, representing regiments that took part in the campaign, will join the delegation.

The First Canadian Army played a leading role during the Battle of the Scheldt and will be well represented by the delegation’s campaign Veterans. Veterans were selected based on nominations from several of the regiments that took part in the campaign.


Travel subsidy

Canadian Second World War Veterans and Allied Veterans living in Canada and travelling outside official Government of Canada delegations to attend commemorative ceremonies in 2019-2020 may qualify for a travel subsidy of up to $2,000 CDN. You can learn more by following this link.


Events

The official Government of Canada delegation will participate in a number of public events while in Belgium.

Liberation Village

Time:
Saturday, September 7: 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 a.m.
Sunday, September 8: 10:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Location:
Steenplein (Antwerp)

Experience the atmosphere of the Liberation of Antwerp in the Liberation Village on the Scheldt waterfront at Steenplein. Attractions will include historical vehicles and a re-enactment camp as well as period food, music and interactive experiences.

7 September 2019

Liberation parade

Time:
1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Location:
Stadspark to Liberation Village at Steenplein (Antwerp)

A parade of more than 100 historic and contemporary military vehicles will wind its way through the city to Stadspark, where it will be joined by marching bands and re-enactors as it continues to the Liberation Village.

Parade of ships and flypast

Time:
4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Location:
Steenplein (Antwerp)

Historic and contemporary ships will sail up the Scheldt, passing in front of the old city centre and the Liberation Village (Steenplein). At 5:30 p.m., period military planes will fly overhead.

Sunday, 8 September 2019

75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt commemorative ceremony in Maldegem

Time:
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Location:
Adegem Canadian War Cemetery

This annual commemorative ceremony will take place at Adegem Canadian War Cemetery, where 848 Canadians who lost their lives during the Battle of the Scheldt are buried.

75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt commemorative ceremony

Time:
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Location:
Monument to the Fallen, Stadspark (Antwerp)

Official commemorative ceremony hosted by the City of Antwerp to mark the 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Scheldt.

*If you or your organization are planning a ceremony or know of one being planned to commemorate the Battle of the Scheldt, we encourage you to consult our Commemorative Partnership Program to see if you could qualify for financial support. We also recommend adding them to our Calendar of Community Events.


Travelling to Belgium


Date modified:

Le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut

Vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage au sujet du 75e anniversaire? Vous trouverez ci-dessous de l’information sur la bataille et notre délégation qui participera à des activités commémoratives en Belgique en septembre 2019.

Histoire

La bataille de l’Escaut s’est déroulée dans le Nord de la Belgique et le Sud-Ouest des Pays-Bas du 2 octobre au 8 novembre 1944. La victoire des Alliés, menée par la Première Armée canadienne, a permis d’ouvrir le port d’Anvers et d’assurer une ligne de ravitaillement essentielle pour la libération de l’Europe par les Alliés. Plus de 75 000 Canadiens ont pris part à la bataille de l’Escaut, dont plus de 6300 ont été tués, blessés ou faits prisonniers.

Voyez les progrès de la Première Armée canadienne lors de la bataille de l’Escaut .


Délégation du gouvernement du Canada

Pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut, une délégation officielle du gouvernement du Canada se rendra à Anvers, en Belgique, du 6 au 8 septembre 2019. Des vétérans canadiens de la bataille de l’Escaut, représentant les régiments qui ont participé à la campagne, se joindront à la délégation.

La Première Armée canadienne a joué un rôle de premier plan pendant la bataille de l’Escaut et elle sera bien représentée par les vétérans de la campagne participant à la délégation. Ces vétérans ont été choisis en fonction des candidatures proposées par plusieurs régiments ayant pris part à la campagne.


Subvention de voyage

Les vétérans canadiens de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et les vétérans alliés vivant au Canada et voyageant séparément des délégations officielles du gouvernement du Canada pour assister à des cérémonies commémoratives en 2019-2020 peuvent avoir droit à une subvention de voyage pouvant atteindre 2000 $ CAN. Vous pouvez en savoir plus en suivant ce lien.


Activités

La délégation officielle du gouvernement du Canada participera à un certain nombre d’activités publiques pendant son séjour en Belgique.

Village de la libération

Heure :
le samedi 7 septembre, de 10 h 30 à minuit.
le dimanche 8 septembre, de 10 h 30 à 17 h 30.

Lieu :
Steenplein (Anvers)

Faites l’expérience de la libération d’Anvers dans le village de la libération sur les rives de l’Escaut à Steenplein. Des véhicules historiques et un camp de reconstitution, des expériences interactives, ainsi que de la nourriture et de la musique d’époque font partie des attraits.

Le samedi 7 septembre 2019

Défilé de la libération

Heure :
de 13 h à 15 h

Lieu :
de Stadspark jusqu’au village de la libération à Steenplein (Anvers)

Un défilé de plus de 100 véhicules militaires historiques et contemporains sillonnera la ville jusqu’à Stadspark, où les rejoindront des fanfares et des acteurs de reconstitution historique sur le chemin du village de la libération.

Défilé de navires et défilé aérien

Heure :
de 16 h à 18 h

Lieu :
Steenplein (Anvers)

Des navires historiques et contemporains remonteront l’Escaut en passant devant le vieux centre-ville et le village de la libération (Steenplein). À 17 h 30, des avions militaires d’époque survoleront l’endroit.

Le dimanche 8 septembre 2019

Cérémonie commémorative du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut à Maldegem

Heure :
de 10 h à 12 h

Lieu :
Cimetière de guerre canadien d’Adegem (Maldegem)

Cette cérémonie commémorative annuelle aura lieu au cimetière de guerre canadien d’Adegem, où sont inhumés 848 Canadiens qui ont perdu la vie pendant la bataille de l’Escaut.

Cérémonie commémorative du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut

Heure :
de 14 h 30 à 16 h

Lieu :
Monument honorant les soldats morts en service, Stadspark (Anvers)

Cérémonie commémorative officielle organisée par la ville d’Anvers pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Escaut.

**Si votre organisme ou vous prévoyez organiser une cérémonie ou savez qu’une cérémonie est prévue pour commémorer la bataille de l’Escaut, nous vous encourageons à consulter notre Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration pour voir si Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) pourrait vous accorder des fonds. Nous vous recommandons également d’ajouter ces cérémonies, le cas échéant, à notre Calendrier des activités.


Voyager en Belgique


Date de modification :