Battle of the Scheldt - Backgrounder

The Battle of the Scheldt was fought in northwestern Belgium and the southwestern Netherlands during the Second World War. On 12 September 1944, the task of liberating the banks of the Scheldt River was initially assigned to the First Canadian Army. The campaign began in earnest on 2 October 1944 and ended on 8 November 1944. The First Canadian Army, under the command of Lieutenant-General Guy Simmonds, played a pivotal role in opening the Scheldt and allowing Allied shipping to reach the major Belgian port of Antwerp from the North Sea.

In early October, the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division began to advance north of Antwerp to close access to the South Beveland isthmus and to capture the Beveland peninsula, while the 3rd Canadian Infantry Division, supported by the 4th Canadian Armoured Division, began the assault to cross the Leopold Canal and clear the Breskens pocket south of the Scheldt. On 31 October 1944, our troops began the challenging task of capturing Walcheren Island at the mouth of the Scheldt. They established a foothold across the causeway there after a grim struggle. The 52nd British Division, supported by Allied amphibious landings, subsequently continued the advance. Middleburg, the island's capital, was secured on November 6. By November 8 all enemy opposition on the Scheldt had ended.

The Battle of the Scheldt secured the Allies' crucial supply lines in continental Europe, which was essential to continue their efforts to liberate Western Europe. This victory came at a high price, however, as more than 6,300 Canadians were killed, wounded or taken prisoner during the fighting on the Scheldt.

Date modified:

Bataille de l’Escaut - Fiche d’information

La Bataille de l'Escaut s'est déroulée au nord de la Belgique et au sud des Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le 12 septembre 1944, la Première Armée canadienne a reçu le mandat de libérer les rives de l'Escaut. La campagne a véritablement commencé le 2 octobre 1944 pour se terminer le 8 novembre 1944. La Première Armée canadienne, sous le commandement du lieutenant-général Guy Simmonds, a joué un rôle central dans l'ouverture de l'Escaut, permettant ainsi aux navires alliés d'atteindre le principal port belge d'Anvers depuis la mer du Nord.

Au début d'octobre, la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne a commencé à avancer au nord d'Anvers pour fermer l'accès à l'isthme du Beveland-Sud et capturer la péninsule du Beveland, tandis que la 3e Division d'infanterie canadienne, appuyée par la 4e Division blindée canadienne, s’est lancée à l’assaut du canal Léopold pour nettoyer la poche de Breskens au sud de l'Escaut. Le 31 octobre 1944, nos troupes ont entrepris la tâche périlleuse de prendre le contrôle de l'île de Walcheren à l'embouchure de l'Escaut. Après une lutte acharnée, elles ont réussi à prendre position de l'autre côté de la chaussée. La 52e Division britannique, appuyée par les débarquements amphibies alliés, a ensuite poursuivi son avancée. Middleburg, la capitale de l'île, a été sécurisée le 6 novembre. Le 8 novembre, toute opposition ennemie sur l'Escaut avait cessé.

La bataille de l'Escaut a permis aux Alliés d'assurer la sécurité des voies de ravitaillement cruciales en Europe continentale, ce qui était essentiel pour poursuivre leurs efforts en vue de libérer l'Europe occidentale. Cette victoire a toutefois été remportée au prix d’importants sacrifices, puisque plus de 6 300 Canadiens ont été tués, blessés ou faits prisonniers au cours des combats dans l'Escaut.

Date de modification :