The Canadian Armed Forces in the Golan Heights of Syria

Introduction

Canadian peacekeeper using large binoculars at UN observation post in Golan Heights.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Being far from home and family is never easy, especially if your work takes you to a harsh and isolated part of the world where you must carry out your duties surrounded by barbed wire, trenches, and the wreckage of past conflicts between two bitter foes that could explode into flashes of violence. For the many Canadian Armed Forces members who have served in the United Nations (UN) peace mission in the Golan Heights of Syria, this is not a hypothetical scenario. It is real – and they lived it.

The Canadian presence in the uplands between Syria and Israel is one of the longest-running international commitments ever undertaken by Canada. More than 12,000 Canadians have served there since the UN peace mission began in 1974.

Many Canadians have enjoyed peace for so long that it might be difficult to imagine its absence; but those who served in Syria deeply understand how fragile peace is, and how important it is to protect.

Syria

Syria is a small Arab country with a population of approximately 18 million people. It is located in the Middle East along the eastern edge of the Mediterranean Sea. Much of Syria's recent history is defined by the tensions and political unrest that have enveloped much of the volatile Middle East for the past half century. From time to time, conflicts between the Arab countries and Israel have broken out, as it did in the Yom Kippur War of 1973 when Syria and Egypt clashed with Israeli forces. It would be the next year before a cease-fire agreement was reached between Syria and Israel.

Canada and the World Responds

The UN was called upon in 1974 to create a mission, known as the United Nations Disengagement Observation Force (UNDOF), to supervise the cease-fire plan and to monitor the situation afterward.

The plan created a buffer zone between the forces of the two countries. This zone, called an "Area of Separation," is 80 kilometres long and from one to 10 kilometres wide. It is mostly located in the area known as the Golan Heights. Inside this special area, no military presence is allowed other than UN observers. Beyond this zone there is an "Area of Limitation" where there are restrictions upon any military presence and the activity of Israeli and Syrian forces.

The Canadians' primary role in Syria is to provide transportation, supply, maintenance, communications and other logistical support services for their fellow UN forces. Without these essential services, the larger UN peace forces could not continue their patrols and other vital activities that help stabilize the area.

Facts and Figures

  • The Golan Heights is a dry, inhospitable area where poisonous snakes and other natural threats are common. In places, the temperatures can reach 40 C in the summer and the weather can turn cold, wet and snowy in the winter.
  • The UN peace contingent in the Golan Heights has numbered more than 1,000 personnel strong, with tens of thousands of UN troops serving in the area over the years. In total, approximately 40 UN personnel have died in the course of peace efforts there, including four Canadians.

Heroes and Bravery

The challenges of peace missions are varied. In 1984, a Canadian, Lieutenant-Colonel Donald Ethell, was acting as the Force Commander in the area when he made the delicate last-minute arrangements for a large prisoner and body exchange between Israel and Syria. The situation was tense and violence was a distinct possibility, but Lieutenant-Colonel Ethell was able to complete the exchange which involved more than 300 prisoners of war and soldier remains. A year later he successfully arranged a similar exchange of approximately 150 prisoners.

During the Gulf War of 1991, the UN forces stationed in the Golan Heights were on high alert. Scud missiles launched from Iraq and targeted on Israel would fly overhead on an almost nightly basis for a time. For the Canadians stationed in occupied Syria, this was a time of constant tension and sleepless nights as the perils of war again came calling on the Golan Heights.

Canadian Armed Forces members serving in distant, dangerous places have found ways to cope. In the Golan Heights, for example, the Canadian contingent has a mascot. Digger is a dog who lives with the Maintenance Platoon and holds an honourary rank of sergeant. He has been with the contingent for more than 20 tours and even had his picture taken with the then-Prime Minister of Canada, Jean Chrétien, when he visited the troops.

Sacrifice

Canadian peacekeepers undergoing chemical weapons defence training in Golan Heights.

The presence of UN troops in the Golan Heights has helped to prevent the outbreak of new full-fledged hostilities between Israel and Syria. However, this has come with a high price.

The single highest loss of Canadian lives since our country began to participate in international peace missions involved our presence in Syria. Nine Canadian Armed Forces members with the UN peace mission in Egypt were killed on August 9, 1974, when the plane they were in was shot down in a Syrian missile attack while making a routine supply run to the mission in the Golan Heights.

Hostile fire, land mines and vehicle accidents are the most obvious dangers in a conflict zone, but they are not the only ones. Mysterious illnesses and psychological effects resulting from the harsh conditions take a serious toll that can last a lifetime.

Building a solid foundation for lasting peace in a region torn by years of strife can be a lengthy process. Because rotations are usually six months at a time, the Canadians serving there often do not get to see the full effects of their labours to support peace. Because of the nature of peace work, it sometimes takes years for the results of their work to be seen and understood. This can add to the stress that Canadian Armed Forces members feel when they return home and, when they leave the Forces, it can make it more difficult for them to reintegrate into civilian life.

All those who serve in peace efforts take their place of honour alongside Canadian Veterans who achieved and sacrificed so much in the First and Second World Wars and the Korean War. About 130 Canadians have died in the course of peace support operations overseas over the years, paying the ultimate price in their efforts to help the people in these strife-torn places. Many more have been injured in these efforts.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by all those that served, and continue to serve, during times of war and peace, and to become involved in remembrance activities that will help to preserve their legacy for future generations of Canadians.

Date modified:

Les Forces armées canadiennes sur le plateau du Golan en Syrie

Introduction

Un gardien de la paix canadien utilisant de grosses jumelles dans un poste d’observation des Nations Unies sur le Plateau du Golan.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Il n'est jamais facile de se trouver loin de chez soi et de sa famille, particulièrement quand votre travail vous amène dans un endroit hostile et isolé du globe où vous devez remplir vos fonctions entouré de barbelés, de tranchées et de ruines de conflits antérieurs entre deux farouches ennemis, dans une situation où la violence risque d'exploser. Or, pour les nombreux membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont servi dans la mission de paix des Nations Unies (ONU) sur le plateau du Golan en Syrie, ceci n'est pas un scénario hypothétique, c'est la réalité, et ils l'ont vécue.

La présence canadienne dans les hautes-terres qui séparent la Syrie d'Israël s'inscrit dans l'un des plus longs engagements internationaux auxquels participe le Canada. En effet, plus de 12 000 Canadiens ont servi en cet endroit depuis que la mission de paix de l'ONU y a débuté en 1974.

Les Canadiens vivent en paix depuis si longtemps qu'il leur est parfois difficile d'imaginer son absence, mais ceux qui ont servi en Syrie savent très bien combien elle est fragile et combien il est important de la protéger.

Syrie

La Syrie est un petit pays arabe qui compte environ 18 millions de personnes et qui se trouve au Moyen-Orient, sur la côte est de la Méditerranée. Une grande partie de l'histoire récente de la Syrie est caractérisée par les tensions et les remous politiques qui sont le lot de cette région instable depuis un demi-siècle. Des conflits ont éclaté de temps à autre entre les pays arabes et Israël, comme la guerre du Kippour en 1973, alors que la Syrie et l'Égypte ont affronté les forces israéliennes et qu'il a fallu un an pour qu'un accord de cessez-le-feu intervienne entre la Syrie et Israël.

Intervention du Canada et de la communauté internationale

En 1974, l'ONU a été appelée à créer une mission, la Force des Nations Unies chargée d'observer le désengagement (FNUOD), afin de superviser le plan du cessez-le-feu et de surveiller la situation par la suite.

Le plan prévoyait une zone tampon entre les forces des deux pays. Cette « zone de séparation », qui fait 80 kilomètres de longueur et entre un kilomètre et dix kilomètres de largeur, est presque entièrement située sur le plateau du Golan. Aucune présence militaire autre que les observateurs de l'ONU n'est admise à l'intérieur de cette zone spéciale et il y a, à l'extérieur de celle-ci, une « zone de limitation » où sont imposées des restrictions sur la présence et les activités militaires des forces israéliennes et syriennes.

Le rôle primordial des Canadiens en Syrie est d'assurer des services de transport, d'approvisionnement, d'entretien, de communication et d'autres services de soutien logistique aux forces de l'ONU qui sont sur place. Sans ces services essentiels, la grande force de paix de l'ONU ne pourrait pas poursuivre ses patrouilles ni les autres activités vitales qui permettent de stabiliser la région.

Statistiques

  • Le plateau du Golan est une région aride et inhospitalière où il n'est pas rare de rencontrer des serpents venimeux et d'autres dangers naturels. En certains endroits, le mercure peut atteindre 40° C en été, alors qu'en hiver il fait froid et qu'il peut pleuvoir ou neiger.
  • Le contingent de paix de l'ONU sur le plateau du Golan a parfois compté plus de 1 000 membres. Des dizaines de milliers de troupes ont en effet servi dans la région au fil des ans, et environ 40 membres de la force de l'ONU, dont quatre Canadiens, y sont morts dans le cadre des efforts de paix.

Héroïsme et bravoure

Les enjeux des missions de paix sont variés. En 1984, le lieutenant-colonel canadien Donald Ethell assurait provisoirement le commandement de la Force dans la région, quand il a vu aux délicats préparatifs de dernière minute d'un imposant échange de prisonniers et de victimes entre Israël et la Syrie. Le climat était tendu, et il y avait un risque sérieux de violence, mais le lcol Ethell a pu effectuer l'échange de plus de 300 prisonniers de guerre et dépouilles de soldats. Un an plus tard, il a organisé avec succès un autre échange d'environ 150 prisonniers.

Au cours de la guerre du Golfe en 1991, les forces de l'ONU stationnées sur le plateau du Golan étaient sur un pied d'alerte. Pendant un certain temps, les missiles Scud lancés d'Iraq en direction d'Israël survolaient la région presque toutes les nuits. Pour les Canadiens stationnés dans le territoire occupé de la Syrie, ce fut une période de tension et d'insomnie, car le plateau du Golan était encore une fois exposé aux périls de la guerre.

Cependant, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui servent dans les endroits éloignés et dangereux trouvent des moyens d'atténuer la tension. Sur le plateau du Golan, par exemple, le contingent canadien s'est doté d'une mascotte, le chien Digger. Celui-ci vit avec le peloton de maintenance et porte le titre de sergent honoraire. Il est avec le contingent depuis plus de 20 périodes de service, et il s'est même fait photographier avec M. Jean Chrétien quand celui-ci était premier ministre du Canada et qu'il a visité les troupes.

Sacrifices

Des gardiens de la paix canadiens suivent une formation contre les armes chimiques sur le Plateau du Golan.

La présence des troupes de l'ONU sur le plateau du Golan permet de prévenir le déclenchement d'hostilités sans limites entre Israël et la Syrie, mais le prix de cette trêve est élevé.

L'événement singulier qui a coûté le plus de vies canadiennes depuis que notre pays participe à des missions de paix internationales s'est en effet produit en Syrie. Neuf membres des Forces armées canadiennes faisant partie de la mission de paix de l'ONU en Égypte qui exécutaient un vol régulier d'approvisionnement à la mission sur le plateau du Golan ont été tués le 9 août 1974 quand leur appareil a été abattu dans une attaque au missile de la Syrie.

Le tir ennemi, les mines terrestres et les accidents de véhicule sont les dangers les plus manifestes dans les zones de conflit, mais ce sont loin d'être les seuls. Des troubles physiques et psychologiques découlant des conditions difficiles sont parfois un lourd tribut qui peut durer toute la vie.

Établir une base solide de paix durable dans une région déchirée par des années de dissension peut exiger beaucoup de temps. Comme les rotations sont habituellement de six mois, les Canadiens qui servent dans ces régions ne voient pas nécessairement le fruit de leur labeur pour la paix. En raison de la nature de ce travail, il faut parfois des années avant d'en voir et d'en comprendre les résultats, ce qui peut ajouter au stress que ressentent les membres des Forces armées canadiennes quand ils rentrent au pays et accroître la difficulté qu'ils éprouvent à réintégrer la vie civile quand ils quittent les Forces.

Toutes les personnes qui ont servi dans les efforts de paix occupent une place d'honneur aux côtés des anciens combattants canadiens qui ont tant accompli et sacrifié au cours des deux guerres mondiales et de la guerre de Corée. Au fil des ans, environ 130 Canadiens ont perdu la vie au cours d’opérations de soutien de la paix à l’étranger, faisant le sacrifice ultime pour venir en aide aux habitants dans ces régions déchirées par des conflits. Plusieurs autres ont été blessés lors de ses efforts.

Programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient, d'Anciens Combattants Canada, encourage le peuple canadien à se renseigner sur les réalisations des anciens combattants du Canada et les sacrifices qu'ils ont consentis en temps de guerre, de conflit armé ou de paix, et à participer aux activités du Souvenir qui permettent de préserver pour les générations à venir l'héritage qu'ils ont légué.

Date de modification :