Canada's Industries Gear up for War

Bofors anti-aircraft gun production, Hamilton

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

When the Second World War began, Canadian industry was still struggling in the midst of a bumpy and uncertain recovery from the Great Depression. The mobilization of our country's industrial potential during the war was nothing less than revolutionary and led to significant changes in the conditions experienced by workers in Canada. With the coming of the war, the government would suddenly find itself actively involved in building production plants, training a work force, controlling wages and prices, managing labour disputes, and regulating the movement of employees seeking to change jobs.

  • During the Second World War, Canadian industries manufactured war materials and other supplies for Canada, the United States, Britain, and other Allied countries. The total value of Canadian war production was almost $10 billion - approximately $100 billion in today's dollars.
  • In 1940, the Honourable C.D. Howe became the Minister of the newly-created Department of Munitions and Supply. This government department controlled and coordinated all aspects of war production.
  • This department was, in a sense, one of the biggest businesses in the world. It coordinated all purchases made in Canada by British and other Allied governments for things like military transport vehicles, tanks, cargo and military ships, aircraft, guns and small arms, ammunition as well as uniforms, minesweeping equipment, parachutes, firefighting equipment, and hospital supplies. It also created 28 Crown corporations to produce everything from rifles to synthetic rubber.

The Genius of "Bits and Pieces"

Though much was invested in new plants, plant expansions and technological upgrading, industry showed a remarkable talent for adapting existing space and technology to fit the needs of wartime production. Harry J. Carmichael - a Vice President of General Motors who had been loaned to the Department of Munitions and Supply for one dollar a year - brought with him a genius for sub-contracting. Called the "bits and pieces program" by C.D. Howe, Mr. Carmichael's initiative brought scores of small, unproductive factories into production even though the British had rated them as little better than garages at the start of the war.

  • For example, the Canadian Cycle and Motor Co. Ltd. of Weston, Ontario, which had made bicycles and hockey skates before the war, took over the manufacture of armaments including gun parts, tripods for Bren guns, and cradles and pivots for anti-tank guns.
  • There were spin off industries born of wartime conditions. For example, Industrial Engineering Ltd. of Vancouver produced a much-improved chainsaw. This development increased the efficiency of lumberjacks and also allowed some people to cut wood who otherwise would not be physically able to do the job. In these ways, the new chainsaw helped fill the gap created by the lumber industry's loss of personnel to military service.
  • Liquid Carbonic Canadian Corporation, a Quebec company, had a soda fountain division which was turned over to building tank parts.

A Country Gets to Work

On the heels of the crippling depression and staggering levels of unemployment of the 1930s, the coming of war meant Canada suddenly needed every worker it could get. To set up for the new industrial growth and help smooth the way for efficient production, several related issues also had to be addressed.

  • To meet the needs of workers who had to relocate in order to work in the new munitions plants and other industries, the Department of Munitions and Supply established a Crown corporation called Wartime Housing Ltd. Though the original plan was to build temporary housing, it soon became apparent that the housing would have to be of adequate quality in order to ensure that the buildings would be habitable for decades. This corporation produced two basic house models: a two-bedroom residence that sold for $1,982 and a four-bedroom residence that went for $2,680.
  • The federal government entered into agreements with the provinces to share the cost of day-care facilities required by many working mothers engaged in wartime industries (although, most commonly, the important task of child care fell to other family members or community volunteers).
  • Out of Canada's population of 11.3 million, the total number of workers engaged in essential war industries was 1,049,876, with approximately 2,100,000 more engaged full-time in what was called "essential civilian employment", which included agriculture, communications, and food processing.
  • To ensure that wages remained under control and to curb inflation, the government established the National Selective Service Regulations, prohibiting employers from advertising for workers except through National Selective Service offices. As well, employees were prohibited from seeking other employment without a permit.

The Aftermath

Perhaps most remarkably, Canadian industry, which had "geared up" for war, did not gear down greatly in its aftermath. Some jobs disappeared, certainly, but they were replaced by other employment. C.D. Howe was again involved, this time in charge of the new Department of Reconstruction, which overcame a potential economic crisis by orchestrating the transition from a wartime economy to a peacetime one. In 1948, unemployment was still at a minimum; steel mills were exceeding their wartime capacity while the demand for aluminum held. Canada had become the third largest trading nation in the world. Best of all, the war seemed to have taught Canada the value of our "human capital" and things would never again be the same for Canadian workers.

The Legacy

The collective experiences and stories of all the Canadians, including those who worked in industry, who contributed to the national effort during the Second World War provided our country with a proud and lasting legacy that will continue into the future.

Canada Remembers Program

Making uniforms at Tip Top Tailors

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Les industries canadiennes se préparent à la guerre

Fabrication de canons antiaériens Bofors, à Hamilton

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale a commencé, les industries canadiennes subissaient encore les contrecoups de la Grande Dépression et se débattaient sur la voie d'une reprise économique sporadique et encore incertaine. La mobilisation des possibilités industrielles durant la guerre a été certes tout à fait révolutionnaire, et des changements importants se sont produits dans les conditions de travail des employés de ces industries. Le gouvernement s'occupait maintenant de construire des usines, de former la main-d'oeuvre, de contrôler les salaires et les prix, de gérer les conflits de travail et de réglementer le mouvement des travailleurs qui cherchaient un autre emploi.

  • Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les industries canadiennes ont fabriqué du matériel pour le Canada, les États-Unis, la Grande-Bretagne et d'autres pays alliés. La valeur totale de la production de guerre du Canada s'est élevée à près de 10 milliards de dollars, environ 100 milliards en dollars d'aujourd'hui.
  • En 1940, l'honorable C.D. Howe est devenu ministre du nouveau ministère des Munitions et des Approvisionnements. Ce Ministère contrôlait et coordonnait tous les aspects de la production de guerre.
  • D'une certaine manière, le Ministère était l'une des plus grandes entreprises au monde. On y coordonnait tous les achats au Canada du gouvernement britannique et des autres gouvernements alliés : véhicules militaires de transport, chars, cargos et navires militaires, avions, canons et armes portatives, munitions, de même qu'uniformes, équipement de balayage de mines, parachutes, équipement de lutte contre les incendies et fournitures pour les hôpitaux. Il a aussi créé 28 sociétés d'État pour produire toutes sortes d'articles, allant des fusils au caoutchouc synthétique.

Le génie de bric et de broc

Des sommes considérables ont été investies dans l'agrandissement et la rénovation technologique des usines et dans la construction de nouvelles usines, mais les industriels ont fait preuve d'un talent remarquable pour adapter l'espace et la technologie aux besoins de la production du temps de guerre. Harry J. Carmichael - un vice-président de General Motors détaché au ministère des Munitions et des Approvisionnements au salaire d'un dollar par année - a été le génie de la sous-traitance, que C.D. Howe appelait « le programme de bric et de broc ». L'initiative de M. Carmichael a fait fonctionner nombre de petites usines non productives que les Britanniques avaient qualifiées de garages au début de la guerre.

  • La Canadian Cycle and Motor Co. Ltd., de Weston, en Ontario, qui fabriquait des bicyclettes et des patins de hockey avant la guerre, s'est transformée en manufacture d'armes, notamment des pièces de canons, des trépieds pour les mitrailleuses Bren ainsi que des berceaux et des pivots pour les canons antichars.
  • La guerre a engendré des industries dérivées; par exemple, l'Industrial Engineering Ltd. de Vancouver, a produit un tronçonneuse améliorée. En rehaussant l'efficacité des travailleurs et en permettant d'employer ceux qui auparavant ne pouvaient supporter les rigueurs du travail de bûcheron, la nouvelle tronçonneuse a eu pour effet de combler la perte de travailleurs de l'industrie forestière qui étaient passés au service militaire.
  • Une division d'une compagnie du Québec, la Liquid Carbonic Canadian Corporation, qui fabriquait des fontaines distributrices d'eau gazeuse, a construit des pièces de chars.

Le pays se met au travail

Se relevant péniblement d'une dépression paralysante et des niveaux de chômage désolants des années 1930, le Canada, quand la guerre a été déclarée, avait soudainement besoin de tous les travailleurs qu'il pouvait trouver. Pour mettre en oeuvre cette nouvelle croissance industrielle et aider à ouvrir la voie à l'amélioration de la production, on a dû se pencher sur plusieurs questions connexes.

  • Afin de répondre aux besoins de logement des travailleurs qui s'étaient rapprochés des usines de munitions et d'autres industries pour y travailler, le ministère des Munitions et des Approvisionnements a mis sur pied la Société d'habitation en temps de guerre. Bien que l'idée ait d'abord été de construire des habitations temporaires, on s'est vite rendu compte que la qualité devait être suffisante pour que le logement soit habitable pendant des décennies. Il y a donc eu deux modèles : une maison de deux chambres à 1 982 $ et une autre de quatre chambres à 2 680 $.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral a conclu des ententes avec les provinces pour le partage du coût de l'installation de garderies pour les mères qui travaillaient dans les industries de guerre (mais la garde des enfants incombait le plus souvent à d'autres membres de la famille ou à des bénévoles).
  • Des 11,3 millions de personnes qui composaient la population canadienne, 1 040 876 travaillaient dans les industries essentielles à la guerre et environ 2 100 000 autres exerçaient des fonctions permanentes dans ce qu'on appelait « les emplois civils essentiels », soit l'agriculture, les communications et la transformation des aliments.
  • Pour contrôler les salaires et contenir l'inflation, le gouvernement a adopté le Règlement sur le service sélectif national qui interdisait aux employeurs de recruter des travailleurs sans passer par les bureaux du Service sélectif national. Pour leur part, les employés ne pouvaient postuler un autre emploi sans permis.

Les répercussions

Ce qui est le plus remarquable cependant, c'est que les industries canadiennes qui se sont transformées pour la guerre, n'ont pas fermé leurs portes par la suite. Il est vrai que certains emplois sont disparus, mais d'autres emplois les ont remplacés. Encore une fois, C.D. Howe, maintenant à la tête du nouveau ministère de la Reconstruction, a jugulé la crise possible en orchestrant la transition vers une économie de temps de paix. En 1948, le chômage était encore à son plus bas niveau; les aciéries produisaient plus que pendant la guerre, la demande d'aluminium étant restée élevée. Le Canada était devenu le troisième pays au monde pour le commerce extérieur. Qui plus est, la guerre semblait avoir fait comprendre aux Canadiens la valeur de leur « capital humain », et rien ne serait jamais plus pareil pour les travailleurs canadiens.

Le legs

Les expériences et les histoires collectives des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, y compris ceux et celles qui ont travaillé dans l'industrie et qui ont contribué à l'effort national durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, constituent pour notre pays un legs glorieux et durable.

Le programme Le Canada se souvient

Confection d'uniformes chez Tip Top Tailors

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d'Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l'héritage qu'ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :