The Canadian National Vimy Memorial

Introduction

The Canadian National Vimy Memorial in France.

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

There are many ways that Canadians have honoured those who have served our country in uniform over the years. One of the most evocative ways this spirit of remembrance has been expressed is with the majestic Canadian National Vimy Memorial which our country erected in France in the aftermath of the First World War.

The Battle of Vimy Ridge

More than 650,000 Canadians served in the First World War that raged from 1914 to 1918. Our soldiers would see much heavy action along the Western Front in France and Belgium, but the Battle of Vimy Ridge would become the most iconic Canadian action of the entire conflict.

The Canadian assault at Vimy—part of the larger Battle of Arras in northern France—began on Easter Monday, April 9, 1917. All four divisions of the Canadian Corps, made up of soldiers from coast to coast, would fight together for the first time there. Advancing behind a powerful “creeping barrage” laid down by the Allied artillery, our men captured most of the ridge by noon on the battle’s first day, with the last German resistance being overcome by April 12. The Battle of Vimy Ridge was one of the most successful Allied offensive operations to that point in the war and saw the capture of more ground, enemy artillery pieces and prisoners than any previous action by British or Canadian forces.

A Monumental Idea

The scale of the Canadian service and sacrifice during the First World War was unprecedented and the end of the conflict was accompanied by a strong public sentiment that it must never be forgotten. Thousands of monuments began to spring up in cities, towns and villages across the country. This drive to commemorate the war was also felt on a national scale as the Canadian government looked to erect memorials on the former battlefields in Europe where so many of our soldiers had fought and died.

It was decided that Canada would have eight official sites overseas to commemorate our most significant battles. Memorials at St. Julien, Hill 62 (Sanctuary Wood) and Passchendaele would be created in Belgium. Courcelette, Le Quesnel, Dury, Bourlon Wood and Vimy Ridge would be the sites for the memorials in France.

Newfoundland, which was a separate dominion at the time, also established overseas war memorials of its own at Courtrai, Gueudecourt, Masnières, Monchy-le-Preux and Beaumont-Hamel. At each site would be erected a magnificent bronze sculpture of a caribou, the emblem of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment. Responsibility for maintaining these memorials was assumed by the Government of Canada after Newfoundland later joined Confederation.

The Canadian National Vimy Memorial on the day of its dedication in 1936.

A public contest was held in the early 1920s to select the design for the Canadian monuments and it was ultimately decided that the ambitious proposal submitted by Walter Seymour Allward would be chosen for Canada’s primary First World War memorial at Vimy Ridge. A second special memorial—the so-called “Brooding Soldier” designed by Frederick Chapman Clemesha—would be erected at St. Julien, while the remainder of the overseas sites would be marked by granite blocks situated within reflective garden landscapes.

From the beginning, Allward’s vision for the monument at Vimy was to be a synthesis of art and remembrance. Its location is integral to its power as it stands on the hallowed ground where our soldiers sacrificed and achieved so much in April 1917. On some 107 hectares of land that the grateful people of France had granted to Canada after the war, the beautiful Canadian National Vimy Memorial rises from atop the highest point of the ridge, offering visitors breathtaking panoramic views. Much of the surrounding terrain was left largely untouched, making it one of the largest preserved First World War battlefields on the former Western Front. The site is crisscrossed with former trench lines, pockmarked with countless shell craters and undermined with old tunnels, making it a true glimpse into the past.

It would take eleven years to build the monument which rests on a bed of 11,000 tonnes of concrete, reinforced with hundreds of tonnes of steel. It is clad with almost 6,000 tonnes of light-coloured limestone which came from an ancient quarry on the Adriatic Sea. When the memorial was officially dedicated by King Edward VIII in July 1936, a huge crowd was in attendance which included thousands of Canadian Veterans who had made the long trip back to France.

Symbolism

Two 30-metre tall pylons soar into the sky from the Canadian National Vimy Memorial’s massive base, which Allward had designed to evoke the feel of a strong defensive bastion. The pylons, one adorned with maple leaves and the other with a fleur-de-lis, represent the nations of Canada and France that fought alongside one another during the First World War.

The monument was designed in a classical style and is adorned with 20 large allegorical figures, each with its own symbolic meaning. These sculptures were carved from massive limestone blocks, with stoneworkers using models that had been personally crafted by Walter Allward as a guide. High atop the memorial’s pylons are two figures representing “Peace” and “Justice,” while just below them are found “Faith,” “Honour,” “Truth” and “Knowledge.” Figures of “Hope” and “Charity” can also be seen near the top, as can the shields of Canada, Britain and France. On the memorial’s base between the two pylons is a young dying soldier, representing the “Spirit of Sacrifice,” alongside the “Torch Bearer.”

On the rear staircase are found the “Male Mourner” and “Female Mourner.” On the front corners of the base are “the Defenders”—three figures representing the “Breaking of the Sword” on one side and four figures representing “Sympathy of Canadians for the Helpless” on the other. Finally, the cloaked figure of a woman—carved from a single 30-tonne block of limestone—stands at the centre and overlooks the Douai Plain below. This is “Canada Bereft” and represents the mourning of a young country for its war dead. Below her lies a sculpted tomb draped in laurel branches and bearing a helmet and a sword.

Sacrifice

The Battle of Vimy Ridge was not only the site of one of our country’s most significant battlefield victories, but also one of our bloodiest. Some 3,600 Canadians lost their lives in the fighting there and more than 7,000 more were wounded. The Canadian National Vimy Memorial, however, does not commemorate only one battle. On its walls are also inscribed the names of 11,285 Canadians who lost their lives in France during the First World War and then had no known grave. Here again the artistic vision of the monument shines through as the many rows of names gracefully run in a continuous ribbon around the base of the memorial. It is humbling to gaze upon these sweeping streams of names and consider the immense scale of the sacrifices that were made. It is even more sobering to realize that these fallen were only a fraction of the overall total of more than 66,000 Canadians who gave their lives during the First World War.

Legacy

The Battle of Vimy Ridge has assumed an almost mythical meaning for many who view it as a key event in the evolution of Canada into an independent nation of its own—a ‘coming of age’ for a young country that came to pass thanks to the great courage of our soldiers there on those cold April days so long ago.

The Canadian Corps’ great victory at Vimy Ridge was part of the unbroken string of battlefield successes that marked its record in the final two years of the First World War. Our soldiers’ great successes and sacrifices on the battlefields of Europe indeed earned Canada a new respect on the world stage and a separate signature on the Treaty of Versailles that would formally end the conflict. The service and sacrifice of those who did so much in the cause of peace and freedom will never be forgotten.

Figure of  “Canada Bereft” overlooking the Douai Plain from Vimy Ridge.

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy

Introduction

Le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy, en France.

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Les Canadiens ont honoré de nombreuses façons les hommes et les femmes qui ont servi leur pays en uniforme au fil du temps. L’une des façons les plus évocatrices de concrétiser ce devoir de mémoire est le majestueux Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy, que notre pays a érigé en France après la Première Guerre mondiale.

La bataille de la crête de Vimy

Plus de 650 000 Canadiens ont participé à la Première Guerre mondiale, qui a fait rage de 1914 à 1918. Nos soldats ont participé à d’âpres combats le long du front occidental en France et en Belgique, mais la bataille de la crête de Vimy est devenue le fait d’armes canadien le plus emblématique de tout le conflit.

L’attaque canadienne à la crête de Vimy (qui faisait partie de la grande bataille d’Arras au nord de la France) a débuté le 9 avril 1917, lundi de Pâques. Les quatre divisions du Corps canadien, composées de soldats venus de partout au Canada, combattraient ensemble pour la première fois. Avançant derrière un puissant « barrage roulant » de tirs fournis par l’artillerie alliée, nos hommes ont capturé la majorité de la crête dès l’heure du midi le premier jour de la bataille, et les dernières poches de résistance allemande ont été vaincues le 12 avril. La bataille de la crête de Vimy fut l’une des offensives alliées les plus réussies à ce moment pendant la guerre, menant à la capture de plus de territoire, de pièces d’artillerie ennemie et de prisonniers que les opérations militaires britanniques ou canadiennes précédentes.

Une idée monumentale

L’ampleur du service et des sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens pendant la Première Guerre mondiale était sans précédent et la fin du conflit a été accompagnée d’un fort sentiment dans l’opinion publique selon lequel il ne faudrait jamais l’oublier. Des milliers de monuments ont commencé à voir le jour dans les villes, grandes et petites, et les villages de tout le pays. Cette volonté de commémorer la guerre a également été ressentie à l’échelle nationale, car le gouvernement du Canada souhaitait construire des monuments commémoratifs sur les lieux des anciens champs de bataille en Europe, aux endroits mêmes où de nombreux soldats canadiens avaient combattu et, dans certains cas, perdu la vie.

Il a été décidé que le Canada compterait huit lieux commémoratifs officiels en Europe pour souligner nos batailles les plus importantes. Les monuments à Saint-Julien, à la colline 62 (Bois du Sanctuaire) et à Passchendaele seraient érigés en Belgique. Courcelette, Le Quesnel, Dury, Bois de Bourlon et la crête de Vimy étaient les emplacements retenus pour les monuments commémoratifs en France.

Terre-Neuve, qui ne faisait pas encore partie du Canada à cette époque, a aussi érigé des monuments de guerre : à Courtrai, à Geudecourt, à Masnières, à Monchy-le-Preux et à Beaumont-Hamel. À chacun de ces sites, on retrouve un fier caribou de bronze, l’emblème du Royal Newfoundland Regiment. Lorsque Terre-Neuve s’est jointe à Confédération plus tard, le gouvernement canadien a assumé la responsabilité de ces monuments.

Un concours public a eu lieu au début des années 1920 pour sélectionner la conception des monuments canadiens. La proposition ambitieuse présentée par Walter Seymour Allward a été retenue pour le principal monument commémoratif canadien de la Première Guerre mondiale à la crête de Vimy. Un deuxième monument commémoratif spécial, dit le Soldat en méditation, conçu par Frederick Chapman Clemesha, serait érigé à Saint-Julien, tandis que les autres emplacements outre-mer seraient marqués par des blocs de granit sur des sites évocateurs soigneusement entretenus.

Le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy le jour de son inauguration en 1936.

Dès le départ, Walter Allward voulait faire du monument à Vimy une symbiose entre l’art et la commémoration. Le lieu choisi devait être un puissant rappel des sacrifices et des réalisations consentis par nos soldats à cet endroit même, en avril 1917. Sur quelque 107 hectares de terre que le peuple de France reconnaissant a offert au Canada après la guerre, le magnifique Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy fut construit au sommet de la crête, offrant aux visiteurs une vue imprenable. Une grande partie du terrain à Vimy a été laissé tel quel, faisant de l’emplacement l’un des plus grands champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale conservés sur l’ancien front occidental. Le site est sillonné par des lignes de tranchées, troué par d’innombrables cratères d’obus et traversé par des tunnels, donnant un véritable aperçu du passé.

Il a fallu onze ans pour construire le monument, qui se dresse sur un socle de 11 000 tonnes de béton, armé de centaines de tonnes d’acier. Il est couvert de près de 6 000 tonnes de pierre calcaire de couleur claire qui provient d’une carrière ancienne au bord de la mer Adriatique. Une foule immense, qui comprenait des milliers de vétérans canadiens qui avaient fait le long voyage en France, a assisté à l’inauguration officielle du monument par le roi Édouard VIII en juillet 1936.

Symbolisme

Deux pylônes de 30 mètres se dressent dans le ciel à partir du socle massif du Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy, qu’Allward avait conçus pour rappeler un bastion défensif. Les pylônes, l’un orné de feuilles d’érable et l’autre d’une fleur de lis, représentent le Canada et la France qui ont combattu côte à côte pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le monument a été conçu dans un style classique et est orné de 20 personnages allégoriques, dont chacun est investi d’une valeur symbolique. Ces personnages ont été sculptés dans des blocs de pierre calcaire et les tailleurs de pierre ont utilisé les modèles sculptés par Walter Allward lui-même comme guide. Au sommet des pylônes du monument se trouvent deux personnages représentant la Paix et la Justice, tandis qu’immédiatement au-dessous d’eux se trouvent la Foi, l’Honneur, la Vérité et la Connaissance. On peut également apercevoir les personnages représentant l’Espoir et la Charité près du sommet, ainsi que les armoiries du Canada, de la Grande-Bretagne et de la France. Sur le socle du monument entre les deux pylônes se trouve un jeune soldat mourant, représentant l’Esprit du sacrifice, accompagné du Porteur du flambeau.

Sur l’escalier arrière se trouvent l’Homme en pleurs et la Femme en pleurs. Sur les coins avant du socle sont les Défenseurs, trois personnages qui représentent la Rupture de l’épée d’un côté et quatre personnages qui représentent la Compassion du Canada pour les faibles, de l’autre. Enfin, le personnage d’une femme, taillé dans un seul bloc de pierre calcaire de 30 tonnes, se dresse au centre et surplombe la plaine de Douai. Cette femme représente le Canada en deuil, un jeune pays qui pleure ses morts à la guerre. En contrebas se trouve une tombe sculptée, drapée de feuilles de laurier et sur laquelle reposent un casque et une épée.

Sacrifices

La bataille de la crête de Vimy a été non seulement l’emplacement de l’une des victoires militaires les plus importantes du Canada, mais aussi l’une de nos batailles les plus coûteuses en vies humaines. Au total, près de 3 600 Canadiens ont perdu la vie et plus de 7 000 autres ont été blessés. Toutefois, le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy commémore plus que cette bataille. Sur les murs qui ceinturent le monument sont gravés les noms des 11 285 soldats canadiens morts en France pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et qui sont sans sépulture connue. Cette gracieuse succession de milliers de noms, présentés tel un ruban continu sur la base du monument, fait réfléchir à l’ampleur des sacrifices consentis. Il est encore plus troublant de prendre conscience que ces disparus ne sont qu’une fraction des plus de 66 000 Canadiens morts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Héritage

La bataille de la crête de Vimy a pris une signification quasi mythique pour de nombreuses personnes, qui la voient comme un événement clé dans l’évolution du Canada à titre de pays indépendant, une ère nouvelle pour un jeune pays qui a façonné son identité en s’inspirant de l’immense courage dont nos soldats ont fait preuve en ces jours froids d’avril 1917.

La victoire impressionnante du Corps canadien à la crête de Vimy faisait partie d’une série ininterrompue de victoires qui ont caractérisé son bilan des deux dernières années de la Première Guerre mondiale. Les exploits et les sacrifices de nos soldats sur les champs de bataille de l’Europe ont permis au Canada d’acquérir un nouveau respect sur la scène internationale et lui ont valu le privilège d’apposer sa signature sur le Traité de Versailles, qui a officiellement mis fin au conflit. Le service et les sacrifices de ceux qui ont tant donné au nom de la paix et de la liberté ne seront jamais oubliés.

Soldats canadiens capturés à Dieppe.

Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d’Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et continuent servir leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l’héritage qu’ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :