Canadian Youth – Growing up in Wartime

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Canada's children and teenagers played an important role in Canada's war effort. They filled many of the gaps left by male family members and other able-bodied men in Canadian society who left to join the armed forces and also provided other sorts of valuable support to those overseas. Young people's selfless drive and enthusiasm earned them the respect and admiration of a country.

The Aluminum Victory Campaign, 1941 (man and girl looking at sculpture made out of aluminum).  Photo:  Gordon W. Powley.  Archives of Ontario C 5-1-0-18-1

The 'Boys' in Uniform

Many Canadian soldiers were just teenagers themselves. Numerous nineteenth, eighteenth, and even seventeenth birthdays were celebrated in uniform. Their willingness to fight and sacrifice everything for peace and freedom was an inspiration to all those who supported them at home.

  • Approximately 700,000 Canadians under the age of 21 served in uniform during the Second World War.
  • Sometimes boys as young as 13 would lie about their age and attempt to enlist in the military. The underage volunteers who looked old enough were often accepted while many of those who were rejected ended up serving in the Merchant Navy, where they supported the war effort in a different way, transporting troops and materials overseas.
  • Outside of Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery in France, is a monument commemorating Private Gérard Doré, the youngest Canadian soldier to die in the Battle of Normandy. The Quebec teenager, who was only 16 when he died in action in 1944, serves as a solemn example of the kind of service Canadian youth made to their country.

Living with War

During the war, Canadian children contributed and sacrificed in many ways.

  • Youth were constantly encouraged by their teachers, family, and friends to support the home front effort.
  • With most able-bodied men overseas, there were not enough farm workers to harvest the crops. Countless young people worked long hours on farms to ensure a steady food supply for Canadians and our Allies.
  • To encourage students to help with the harvest, many schools did not count attendance or introduce new material in classes until after the crops were in.
  • The government lowered the minimum age for obtaining a driver's licence to 14 so that children could legally operate farm trucks and other vehicles.
  • Many children saw themselves as junior soldiers. They prepared for war by memorizing aircraft silhouettes and building ship models. Many high school students joined cadet corps and learned how to march, perform arms drills, and fire weapons.
  • Teachers often had children write letters to Canadian military members overseas, telling them about what was happening back home.
  • Canadian children were joined by hundreds of British refugee children (guest children) who were sent by their parents from bomb-ravaged Britain to Canada for their safety. These children lived with Canadian children and went to school with them.

Scrimping, Saving, and Scavenging

Children learned to scrimp and save to raise money for the war effort. They learned to recycle and collect materials, such as metal, rubber, fat, and grease, that were in short supply and could be reused to produce useful products. Encouraged by incentives such as free passes to movies, Canada's children became ardent scavengers.

  • Children collected tons of scrap. Some even donated their own toys for metal salvage drives.
  • Children used their hard-earned money, bringing their nickels and dimes to school, to buy War Savings Stamps which they stuck into special booklets for post-war redemption.
  • Boy Scouts and Girl Guides conducted many fund-raising activities. As an example, the 10th Toronto Scout Troop collected 510,000 pounds of salvage and used the money they earned to buy a truck, an ambulance for the Royal Canadian Air Force, and Victory Bonds.
  • Of the $5.5 billion raised in Victory Loan appeals, millions were contributed by children.

"Canadian Whites"

To save scarce U.S. dollars, the government barred all non-essential American products from entering Canada. This embargo included children's much-beloved comic books. The Canadian publishing industry stepped in to fill the void, but they could not afford colour printing so they published black-and-white comic books which became known as "Canadian whites".

  • In the summer of 1941, the first Canadian comic book, "Better Comics #1" hit the stands, and all 52,000 copies were sold.
  • Canadian comic book heroes included Johnny Canuck, Freelance Dixon of the Mounties, and Nelvana of the Northern Lights.

The Legacy

The broad range of sacrifices and achievements made by Canadians during the Second World War provide us with a proud and lasting legacy that will continue into the country's future. The considerable efforts and sacrifices made by the young people of that time serve as a lasting reminder of what Canada's youth can do when they put their mind to it.

'Wait for me, Daddy': Private Jack Bernard, B.C. Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles) saying goodbye to his five-year-old son Warren.  1940 / New Westminster, B.C. Photo:  Library and Archives Canada/PA C-038723

Canada Remembers Program

The Canada Remembers Program of Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who have served—and continue to serve—during times of war and peace. As well, it invites Canadians to become involved in remembrance activities that will help preserve their legacy for future generations.

Date modified:

Les enfants canadiens et la guerre

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Les enfants et adolescents canadiens ont joué un rôle important dans l'effort de guerre du Canada. Ils ont comblé nombre des vides laissés par les hommes des familles et les autres hommes valides de la société canadienne qui s'étaient enrôlés dans les forces armées; ils ont aussi été, d'autres façons, d'un précieux soutien aux soldats qui servaient outre-mer. Leur généreuse motivation et leur enthousiasme leur ont valu le respect et l'admiration de la nation.

La victoire de l'aluminium, 1941 (un homme et une jeune fille regardant une sculpture en aluminium).  Gordon W. Powley.  Photo : Archives de l'Ontario C 5-1-0-18-1

Les gars en uniforme

Beaucoup de soldats canadiens étaient eux-mêmes des adolescents. Nombreux étaient les jeunes en uniforme qui célébraient leur dix-neuvième et même dix-huitième et dix-septième anniversaire. Leur volonté de combattre et de risquer leur vie pour défendre la liberté était une source de fierté pour tous ceux qui les soutenaient au pays.

  • Environ 700 000 Canadiens qui ont servi dans les forces armées durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale étaient âgés de moins de 21 ans.
  • Certains garçons âgés de 13 ans ont menti sur leur âge et tenté de s'enrôler. Ceux qui avaient l'air plus vieux réussissaient à le faire. D'autres, qui ne pouvaient pas entrer dans les forces armées ont soutenu l'effort de guerre autrement; ils se sont enrôlés dans la marine marchande afin de transporter des troupes et du ravitaillement outre-mer.
  • En France, à l'extérieur du Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bretteville-sur-Laize, se dresse un monument en mémoire du soldat Gérard Doré, soit le plus jeune soldat canadien à mourir dans la bataille de Normandie. L'adolescent québécois, qui n'avait que 16 ans lorsqu'il est mort au combat en 1944, est un remarquable exemple du genre de service que les jeunes Canadiens ont rendu à leur pays.

Vivre avec la guerre

Les enfants canadiens ont fait des sacrifices et ont participé de diverses façons à l'effort de guerre.

  • Les jeunes étaient constamment encouragés par leurs enseignants, leur famille et leurs amis à appuyer l'effort de guerre sur le front intérieur.
  • Comme la plupart des hommes physiquement aptes au service militaire se trouvaient outre-mer, il y avait pénurie de travailleurs agricoles pour les récoltes. D'innombrables jeunes ont passé de longues heures à travailler pour assurer aux Canadiens et aux Alliés un approvisionnement constant de nourriture.
  • Pour encourager les élèves à participer aux travaux de récolte, beaucoup d'écoles suspendaient l'enregistrement des présences et l'enseignement de nouvelles matières tant que les récoltes n'avaient pas pris fin.
  • Le gouvernement a réduit à 14 ans l'âge requis pour l'obtention d'un permis de conduire, pour que des enfants puissent conduire légalement des camions de ferme et d'autres véhicules.
  • Beaucoup d'enfants se considéraient comme des soldats en puissance. Ils se préparaient à la guerre en apprenant à reconnaître les silhouettes d'avions et en construisant des maquettes de navires. Des élèves du secondaire entraient dans des corps de cadets, apprenaient à marcher au pas et s'initiaient au maniement des armes et au tir.
  • Les enseignants demandaient aux enfants d'écrire des lettres aux soldats qui servaient outre-mer pour leur raconter ce qui se passait au pays.
  • Les enfants canadiens ont dû s'adapter aux centaines d'enfants réfugiés britanniques qui avaient été envoyés par leurs parents dont le pays avait été ravagé par les bombes, car ceux-ci estimaient qu'ils seraient en sécurité ici. Les enfants canadiens et les jeunes réfugiés vivaient ensemble et étudiaient dans les mêmes écoles.

Se serrer la ceinture, économiser et récupérer

Les enfants ont appris à se serrer la ceinture et à économiser pour recueillir des fonds destinés à l'effort de guerre. Ils ont appris à recycler et à recueillir des matériaux tels que le métal, le caoutchouc, la graisse et les lubrifiants, dont il y avait pénurie et qui pouvaient servir à fabriquer des produits utiles. Encouragés par diverses incitations (billets de cinéma gratuits, etc.), les jeunes Canadiens sont devenus de fervents récupérateurs.

  • Les enfants ont recueilli des tonnes de ferraille. Certains ont même fait don de leurs jouets dans le cadre de campagnes de récupération de métaux.
  • Les enfants ont utilisé l'argent qu'ils avaient durement gagné, en apportant leur petite monnaie à l'école pour acheter les timbres d'épargne de guerre qu'ils plaçaient dans des livrets en attendant le remboursement qui aurait lieu après la guerre.
  • Les scouts et les guides organisaient de nombreuses activités de collecte de fonds. Par exemple, la 10e Troupe de scouts de Toronto a recueilli 510 000 kg de ferraille et, avec l'argent qu'elle a reçu, elle a acheté un camion, une ambulance pour l'ARC et des obligations de la Victoire.
  • Sur les 5,5 milliards de dollars recueillis dans le cadre des emprunts de la Victoire, des millions ont été versés par des enfants.

Les blancs canadiens

Pour économiser les devises américaines, qui étaient rares, le gouvernement avait interdit l'importation de produits américains non essentiels. Cet embargo visait aussi les bandes dessinées tant prisées par les enfants. Les éditeurs canadiens se sont emparés du créneau et, comme l'impression en couleurs était trop chère, ils ont publié des « Blancs canadiens ».

  • La première bande dessinée canadienne, « Better Comics #1 », a paru au cours de l'été 1941 et les 52 000 exemplaires se sont vendus en un temps record.
  • Parmi les héros canadiens de bandes dessinées, mentionnons Johnny Canuck, Freelance Dixon of the Mounties et Nelvana of the Northern Lights.

Le legs

Le vaste éventail des réalisations et des sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens et les Canadiennes durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale constituent pour notre pays un legs glorieux et durable. Les efforts considérables et les sacrifices déployés par les jeunes de cette époque prouvent sans équivoque que les jeunes Canadiens peuvent accomplir des merveilles lorsqu'ils s'y mettent.

« Attends-moi, papa »: le soldat Jack Bernard, du British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles) disant au revoir à son fils de cinq ans, Warren. 1940 / New Westminster, Colombie-Britannique. Photo : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA  C-03872

Le programme Le Canada se souvient

Le programme Le Canada se souvient d'Anciens Combattants Canada incite tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se renseigner sur les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous ceux et celles qui ont servi et qui continuent de servir leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix. Il invite aussi les citoyens à prendre part aux activités commémoratives qui aident à préserver l'héritage qu'ils nous ont légué et à le transmettre aux générations à venir.

Date de modification :