The Honourable Daniel J. MacDonald

July 23, 1918 - September 30, 1980

Daniel J. MacDonald

Daniel J. MacDonald

Daniel Joseph MacDonald was born on his family's mixed farm in the small community of Bothwell, Prince Edward Island. His early years were typical of any Island farm boy of the time. He grew up with five brothers and one sister, helped work the farm and attended the one-room school, which he affectionately called "Bothwell University".

He learned responsibility and self-sufficiency early, losing his mother at the age of 15. When he bought his own farm above Bothwell Beach in 1938, he continued to help his father on the home property. In August, 1940 "Danny" enlisted in the Prince Edward Island Highlanders. In June, 1943 he transferred to the well-known Cape Breton Highlanders and by October of that year, he was a sergeant of the front line of the Allied campaign in Italy.

First wounded in action during an assault on the Gothic Line, he received treatment and returned to his unit after only a few weeks. On December 21, 1944, during the Battle of Senio River, a shell exploded 20 feet in front of him, wounding him seriously. Sergeant MacDonald was transported to England for medical treatment. The injury resulted in the amputation of his left arm and leg. Hospital policy required veterans to be discharged in a wheelchair if they were unable to walk. He was so determined to leave the hospital under his own power that he got a British cobbler to make him a protector for his arm that enabled him to walk on crutches.

When he returned to Prince Edward Island to work the farm he had bought before the war, he was greeted as a hero. A homecoming celebration, organized by community members, featured a girl from a neighbouring community who loved to act and sing. She was Pauline Peters of St. Charles. He met "Polly" that evening and married her in 1946. Showing characteristic determination, he carried on as many Canadians who were returning to post-war life, apparently not slowed by what many would consider a serious handicap. He cleared the land and together with Pauline built a house, raised seven children and managed a prosperous farm.

Daniel MacDonald's political achievements are no less impressive. He spent a total of ten years as the member for 1st King's in the Prince Edward Island legislature. First elected in 1962, he was returned to office in 1966 and again in 1970.

He held the important post of Minister of Agriculture and Forestry in the government led by Premier Alex B. Campbell, from 1966 to 1972. In the summer of '72 he resigned his portfolio to run as the federal Member of Parliament for the riding of Cardigan.

He won the right to represent the citizens of Cardigan that October, was returned in July of 1974, and again in February, 1980. Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau appointed him as Minister of Veterans Affairs first in November, 1972 and again in March, 1980. As Minister responsible for Veterans Affairs, his portfolio included the Canadian Pension Commission, the Pension Review Board, the War Veterans Allowance Board, and the Bureau of Pension Advocates. He also served as the Canadian Agent for the Commonwealth War Graves Commission. It was during this time that the decision was made to relocate head office operations to Charlottetown.

Minister MacDonald accomplished much in the aid and support of veterans and their families. He amended pensions and allowance regulations to make their benefits commensurate with public service pay rates and expanded eligibility to include veterans' widows and children. He brought about changes in legislation to increase disability pensions, compensation for prisoners of war, and allowances for civilians. Programs were initiated which supported Canadian veterans emotionally, physically and financially.

Mr. MacDonald died on September 30, 1980. His state funeral, at St. Dunstan's Basilica in Charlottetown, was attended by many national figures, including Prime Minister Trudeau, who had become close to the PEI MP. Many Canadians were touched by the simple eloquence of the Island's most famous soldier/farmer/politician.

Mr. MacDonald's commitment to veterans was recognized after his death with the dedication of the national headquarters of the Portfolio of Veterans Affairs, located on Grafton Street in Charlottetown. The cornerstone was laid by Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau on June 15, 1983.

Dan MacDonald told each of us a great deal about making the most of our talents when he said "It isn't what you've lost, but what you have left."

Date modified:

L'honorable Daniel J. MacDonald

23 juillet 1918 - 30 septembre 1980

Daniel J. MacDonald

Daniel J. MacDonald

Daniel Joseph MacDonald naît sur la ferme familiale dans la petite localité de Bothwell, à l'Ile-du-Prince-Édouard. Il connaît une enfance typique de garçon de ferme de l'île. Il a cinq frères et une soeur. Il participe aux travaux de la ferme et fréquente l'école locale qui ne compte qu'une seule salle de classe. Il la surnomme affectueusement l'« Université Bothwell ».

Il apprend très jeune le sens des responsabilités et l'autonomie puisqu'il perd sa mère à l'âge de 15 ans. En 1938, il achète sa propre ferme qui surplombe la plage de Bothwell, et il continue d'aider son père sur la ferme familiale. En août 1940, « Danny » s'enrôle dans le Prince Edward Island Highlanders. En juin 1943, il est muté dans le célèbre Cape Breton Highlanders et en octobre, il est segent sur la ligne de front au cours de la campagne des Alliés en Italie.

Il est blessé au combat au cours d'une attaque de la Ligne gothique. Il est soigné et retourne à son unité seulement quelques semaines plus tard. Le 21 décembre 1944, au cours de la rivière Senio, un obus explose vingt pieds devant lui. Il est gravement blessé. Le sergent MacDonald est envoyé par bateau en Angleterre pour recevoir des soins. Il subit l'amputation du bras et de la jambe gauches. Selon la politique de l'hôpital, à leur sortie de l'hôpital, les anciens combattants qui ne peuvent marcher doivent utiliser un fauteuil roulant. Le sergent MacDonald tient tellement à quitter l'hôpital par ses propres moyens qu'il demande à un cordonnier britannique de lui fabriquer un protecteur pour son bras afin de pouvoir marcher avec des béquilles.

À son retour à la ferme qu'il a achetée avant la guerre à l'île-du-Prince-Édouard, il est accueilli en héros. Les membres de sa localité organise une fête pour célébrer son retour, une fête qui met en vedette une jeune fille d'un village avoisinant, qui aime jouer la comédie et chanter. Elle s'appelle Pauline Peters, de St. Charles. Ce soir-là il fait la connaissance de Polly, et il l'épouse en 1946. Avec toute la détermination qui l'habite, il reprend la vie comme tant d'autres Canadiens qui sont rentrés au pays après la guerre, sans être ralenti, semble-t-il, par ce que d'aucuns considéreraient comme un handicap grave. Il défriche sa terre et avec l'aide de Pauline, il construit une maison. Ils élèvent sept enfants et gèrent une ferme prospère.

Les réalisations politiques de Daniel MacDonald sont tout aussi impressionnantes. Il est député de 1st Kings à l'assemblée législative de l'île-du-Prince-Edouard pendant dix ans. Il est élu pour la première fois en 1962, puis en 1966 et une autre fois en 1970.

De 1966 à 1972, il occupe le poste important de ministre de l'Agriculture et des Forêts au sein du gouvernement très populaire du Premier ministre Alex B. Campbell. Au cours de l'été de 1972, il démissionne de son portefeuille et se lance dans l'arène fédérale pour être élu à titre de de député de la circonscription de Cardigan.

Il est élu au cours du mois d'octobre, réélu en juillet 1974 et encore une fois en 1980. Le Premier ministre Pierre Elliot Trudeau le nomme ministre des Affaires des anciens combattants d'abord en novembre 1972, puis en mars 1980. Le portefeuille des Affaires des anciens combattants comprend alors la Commission canadienne des pensions, le Conseil de révision des pensions, la Commission des allocations aux anciens combattants et le Bureau de services juridiques des pensions. M. MacDonald a également été agent canadien au sein de la Commonwealth War Graves Commission. C'est au cours de son mandat que l'on décide de réinstaller l'Administration centrale du Ministère à Charlottetown.

Le ministre MacDonald a fait beaucoup pour aider soutenir les anciens combattants et leurs familles. Au cours de son mandat, on a apporté des modifications aux règlements relatifs aux pensions et aux allocations de manière à ce que les prestations soient proportionnelles aux taux de rémunération en vigueur dans la fonction publique, et il a élargi les critères d'admissibilité afin d'inclure les veuves et les enfants des anciens combattants. Il a fait en sorte que des modifications soient apportées à la législation pour majorer les pensions d'invalidité, les indemnités de prisonnier de guerre et les allocations pour les civils. Au cours de son mandat, on a également instauré des programmes visant à assurer une aide aux anciens combattants canadiens d'un point de vue émotionnel, physique et financier.

M. MacDonald est décédé le 30 septembre 1980. Ses funérailles ont eu lieu à la basilique St. Dunstan, à Charlottetown, et de nombreuses personnalités nationales y ont assisté, dont le Premier ministre Trudeau qui était devenu un proche du député de l'Ile-du-Prince-Édouard. De nombreux Canadiens ont été touchés par l'éloquence simple de l'un des plus célèbres soldat/fermier/homme politique de l'Ile.

L'engagement de M. MacDonald envers les anciens combattants a été reconnu après son décès lorsque l'on a donné son nom à l'édifice de l'Administration centrale du portefeuille des Anciens Combattants, situé rue Grafton, à Charlottetown. La première pierre a été posée par le Premier ministre Trudeau, le 15 juin 1983.

Dan MacDonald nous a appris beaucoup quant à la façon de maximiser ses talents. Il disait :  « Ce n'est pas ce que vous avez perdu, c'est ce qui vous reste ».

Date de modification :