Language selection

Remembering Canadian Merchant Seamen Lost at Sea

Aim

To help students remember the contributions and sacrifices of Canadian Merchant Navy mariners who participated in the Battle of the Atlantic, by doing research on Merchant Navy ships lost at sea.

Objectives

Youth will be expected to:

  • learn about Merchant Navy ships lost at sea during the Second World War;
  • conduct research using two Veterans Affairs Canada databases;
  • create a remembrance profile on Canadian Merchant Navy mariners who died at sea.

Target Audience

This activity is suitable for students in grades 7 to 12 (12 to 18 years of age).

Class Materials

Sequence of Activities and Anticipated Time Frame (75 minutes)

[This activity can be modified to fit available class time.]

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • Research (60 minutes)
  • Closing (10 minutes)

Introduction (5 minutes)

Distribute the article Fourth Dimension - May 8, 1942, about the sinking of two merchant ships off the Gaspé coast. Once the students have read it, discuss the dangers faced by crew members while sailing the Atlantic Ocean during the Second World War. Discuss the possible impact of such an event on the local population. You can also talk about the fact that crews on these two ships were 'lucky' in their misfortune; their ship having been torpedoed close to the coast, rescuers were able to reach to them. In most other cases, however, ships were sunk in the middle of the ocean where the chances of surviving the sinking of a ship were very slim.

Explain to the students that they will be conducting research, using databases on Merchant Navy ships that were lost at sea during the Second World War, in an effort to identify and remember some of those who died in service.

Research (60 minutes)

Distribute the Selected list of 23 Merchant Navy ships lost at sea during the Second World War. Explain to your students that hundreds of Merchant Navy ships were lost during the war. However, for the purpose of this activity, only a partial list of 23 vessels is provided. Every ship listed suffered more than ten Canadian fatal casualties. More than 370 merchant ships saw at least one Canadian losing his or her life during the conflict.

Divide the class in groups if so desired, and assign one ship per individual or group.

Using a search engine on the Internet, students may find additional information on their ship. Be mindful that more than one ship might have carried the same name. Therefore, it's always helpful to cross reference the findings with the date the ship was lost at sea.

Wikipedia, an online free encyclopedia, provides a list of shipwrecks during the war by date. It could be used to obtain additional information, such as the reason why the ship was lost or where it was sunk. Use the ship Montrolite (sunk February 5, 1942) as an example.

Once the students have found information about their ship, they may look for information concerning the Canadian merchant seamen who died while serving on board.

  1. Have students go to the Canadian Merchant Navy War Dead Registry.
  2. Do a 'Search by Vessel Name'.

    Insert the ship's name in the 'Enter the name of the vessel' field. Tell the students to be careful when entering the name, as one typo may prevent them from finding the list of Canadian casualties. Use only the short form of the ship's name. For example, if searching for MV Montrolite (Montréal), simply insert 'Montrolite' and click 'Search'.
  3. The students should see a link named Montrolite and click it. It will take them to a list of casualties.

    The list shows all the Canadians who died on that ship along with the date of death. In cases when all merchant seamen died on the same day, it is usually because the ship sank, either due to an accident or enemy action.
  4. Clicking on a name will lead students to a memorial page with additional information on a casualty.

    To obtain more information on the deceased merchant navy seamen, have students carefully write the name and then;
  5. Go to the Canadian Virtual War Memorial website and type in the name in the search field. They should use only the SURNAME (sailor's last name) to do their search. A given name should only be used if they need to narrow their search.
  6. Once students have found the page listing their Canadian Merchant Navy seamen, their profiles should include the following information:
    • Person's name
    • Person's rank
    • Date of death
    • Age
    • Force
    • Unit
    • Division
    • Burial information
    If an Internet search on the lost ship was successful, they can add a picture and additional information on the ship to the sailor's profile.
  7. Have students compile the information and create their remembrance profile using the software of their choice. Ask students to present their Canadian Merchant Navy seamen lost at sea findings to the class.

    Display all the remembrance profiles in the classroom, in the hallway of your school or on your school Web site. You may want to invite local Veterans or Canadian Armed Forces members for the presentations.

    The Canadian Virtual War Memorial (CVWM) is a database that continually grows with submissions from the general public. Any additional information (pictures, newspaper clippings or other pertinent information) found by the students pertaining to their fallen Merchant Navy seamen could be submitted to the CVWM.

Closing (10 minutes)

During this learning activity, students have focused their attention on one individual. They have also learned about a few other Merchant Navy seamen who died during the Second World War. You may want to take this opportunity to remind them that more than 1,600 Canadian Merchant Navy seamen died during that conflict. As well, many more died in the Royal Canadian Navy and the Royal Canadian Air Force while protecting merchant ships.

You may want to share with your students some Heroes Remember interviews with Canadians who served in the Merchant Navy.

The vast majority of the sailors who died at sea have no known grave. The Halifax Memorial in Nova Scotia is one of the few tangible reminders of these lost men and women. If a visit to this memorial is not possible, you may conduct a virtual tour by exploring this website:

You can also search online for Point Pleasant Park and Halifax Memorial.

Date modified:

En souvenir des marins marchands canadiens disparus en mer

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

But

Aider les élèves à réfléchir aux contributions et aux sacrifices des marins marchands canadiens qui ont participé à la bataille de l'Atlantique, grâce à des recherches sur les navires de la Marine marchande perdus en mer.

Objectifs

Grâce à cette activité, les jeunes devraient :

  • pouvoir se renseigner sur les navires de la Marine marchande perdus en mer pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • être en mesure de mener des recherches à l'aide de deux bases de données d'Anciens Combattants Canada;
  • pouvoir créer un profil du souvenir portant sur les marins marchands canadiens perdus en mer.

Public cible

L'activité convient aux élèves de 12 à 18 ans.

Ressources

Séquence et durée prévue de l'activité (75 minutes)

[L'activité peut être modifiée en fonction du temps disponible en classe.]

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • Recherche (60 minutes)
  • Conclusion (10 minutes)

Introduction (5 minutes)

Distribuez l'article « Quatrième dimension – le 8 mai 1942 » à propos du naufrage de deux navires de la Marine marchande au large de la côte de Gaspé. Lorsque les élèves l'ont lu, parlez des dangers auxquels étaient confrontés les membres des équipages des navires en circulation dans l'océan Atlantique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Abordez les répercussions possibles de tels événements sur la population de la région. Vous pouvez également parler du fait que les membres des équipages de ces bateaux ont été « chanceux » malgré leurs difficultés, car les navires ont été coulés près de la côte et les sauveteurs ont pu aller à leur rescousse. Dans la plupart des cas, par contre, les navires étaient coulés au milieu de l'océan et les membres des équipages n'avaient pas beaucoup de chance de survivre au naufrage de leur navire.

Expliquez aux élèves qu'ils feront des recherches à l'aide de bases de données des navires de la Marine marchande qui ont été perdus en mer pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale afin de trouver et de se souvenir de ceux qui sont morts en devoir.

Recherche (60 minutes)

Distribuez la Liste choisie de 23 navires de la Marine marchande ayant sombré lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Expliquez aux élèves que des centaines de navires de la Marine marchande ont disparu en mer pendant la guerre. Cependant, pour les besoins de l'activité, une liste partielle de seulement 23 navires leur est fournie. Chaque navire sur la liste a perdu plus de dix marins canadiens. Plus de 370 navires de la Marine marchande ont perdu au moins un Canadien pendant ce conflit.

Divisez la classe en groupes si vous le souhaitez, et assignez un navire par personne ou par groupe.

En utilisant un moteur de recherche Internet, les élèves peuvent trouver d'autres renseignements sur leur navire. Par contre, ayez en tête que plus d'un navire peut avoir porté le même nom. C'est pourquoi il est toujours utile de vérifier ce que les élèves trouvent avec la date à laquelle le navire a été perdu en mer.

Le site Wikipédia, une encyclopédie gratuite en ligne, dresse (en anglais) la liste des navires perdus pendant la guerre. Les élèves pourraient consulter ce site afin d'obtenir des précisions comme la raison ou l'endroit du naufrage. Utilisez l'exemple du navire Montrolite (coulé le 5 février 1942).

Après que les élèves ont trouvé des renseignements sur leur navire, ils peuvent ensuite chercher des renseignements au sujet des marins marchands canadiens qui ont perdu la vie en servant à bord de leur navire.

  1. Suggérez aux élèves de consulter la Base de données des marins marchands canadiens morts à la guerre.
  2. Faites une « recherche par nom de navire ».

    Inscrivez le nom du navire dans le champ « Entrez le nom du navire ». Dites aux élèves de faire attention à la graphie du nom puisqu'une erreur peut les empêcher de trouver la liste des pertes canadiennes. N'utilisez que la forme courte du navire. Par exemple, pour faire une recherche sur le MV Montrolite (Montréal), inscrivez seulement « Montrolite » et cliquez sur « Rechercher ».
  3. Les élèves peuvent cliquer sur le lien indiquant Montrolite. Une liste des pertes s'affichera.

    La liste comprend le nom de tous les Canadiens qui ont perdu la vie ainsi que leur date de décès. Lorsque tous les marins marchands sont décédés le même jour, c'est habituellement parce que le navire a coulé, soit par accident, soit par attaque ennemie.
  4. En cliquant sur un nom, les élèves peuvent consulter une page donnant des renseignements supplémentaires sur un marin mort à la guerre.

    Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements sur les marins marchands morts à la guerre, les élèves peuvent prendre leur nom en note.
  5. Ils peuvent ensuite consulter le site Web du Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada et taper le nom dans le champ de recherche. Utiliser uniquement le NOM DE FAMILLE du marin pour la recherche. Au besoin, utiliser le prénom si les élèves veulent cibler leur recherche.
  6. Une fois que les élèves ont trouvé la page de leur marin marchand canadien, ils peuvent créer un profil qui devrait comprendre les informations suivantes :
    • Nom de la personne
    • Grade de la personne
    • Date du décès
    • Âge
    • Force
    • Unité
    • Division
    • Renseignements sur le lieu d'inhumation
    Si les élèves font une recherche Internet sur le navire qui a fait naufrage, ils peuvent ajouter au profil du marin une photo et des renseignements supplémentaires à propos du navire.
  7. Demandez aux élèves de faire une synthèse des renseignements et de créer un profil du souvenir à l'aide du logiciel de leur choix. Demandez aux élèves de présenter le profil de leur marin marchand canadien disparu en mer au reste de la classe.

    Affichez tous les profils dans la classe, le couloir ou le site Web de l'école. Vous voudrez peut-être inviter un vétéran ou un membre des Forces armées canadiennes pour les présentations.

    Le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada (MVGC) est une base de données qui continue de prendre de l'expansion grâce aux renseignements fournis par le grand public. Tout renseignement additionnel (photos, coupures de journaux ou toute autre information pertinente) que les élèves trouvent au sujet de leur marin marchant peut être ajouté au MVGC.

Conclusion (10 minutes)

Pendant cette activité d'apprentissage, les élèves se sont concentrés sur une personne. Ils ont également reçu des renseignements sur quelques autres marins marchands qui sont morts durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Vous pourriez leur rappeler que plus de 1 600 marins marchands canadiens sont décédés pendant ce conflit. En outre, beaucoup d'autres membres de la Marine royale du Canada et de l'Aviation royale du Canada ont péri en protégeant les navires marchands.

Vous pouvez également présenter à vos élèves des entrevues avec des Canadiens qui ont servi dans la Marine marchande.

La vaste majorité des marins qui ont péri en mer n'ont pas de lieu de sépulture connu. Le Monument commémoratif d'Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, est l'un des rares rappels concrets de ces hommes et de ces femmes perdus en mer. Si vous ne pouvez pas vous y rendre, vous pouvez visiter le monument à l'aide des sites suivants :

Si vous voulez voir les noms des marins marchands, regardez à partir du panneau 17.

Date de modification :