Forget-me-nots – Remembering the Newfoundlanders at Beaumont-Hamel

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Newfoundland soldier holding forget-me-nots

Tiny forget-me-not flowers have a special meaning in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, where they are often worn as symbols of remembrance on July 1st, just as many of us wear poppies for Remembrance Day on November 11.

Many of you might know that July 1st is Canada Day in our country and reason for celebration and fireworks! But in Newfoundland and Labrador, the day has another meaning–and not one for celebration.

Before joining Canada many years ago in 1949, Newfoundlanders traditionally had Memorial Day on July 1st each year. This date was chosen as a reminder of the hundreds of young soldiers from the Royal Newfoundland Regiment who died on July 1, 1916 (100 years ago!) at a place called Beaumont-Hamel, in the country of France during the First World War. It was a very sad day for the nation of Newfoundland, and almost everyone knew someone who had died.

They were very sad to lose their loved ones, but wearing the little tiny forget-me-not flowers made them feel a little bit better, and helped them to remember.

The forget-me-not is a good symbol to remember the Newfoundland soldiers. The blue symbolizes the loyalty of those young soldiers to their country of Newfoundland as they fought very bravely. The flower, (which can survive in harsh climates and grow in the toughest terrain), symbolizes the strength and courage of those young Newfoundland men on the battlefield.

forget-me-not flowers

Bud Davidge, a songwriter from Newfoundland, wrote a song called “The Little Blue-Forget-Me Not” to help keep the tradition of Memorial Day and the famous flower alive in Newfoundland and Labrador’s history.

A verse in the song goes:

Forget-me-not, wee flower of beauty,
Your royal symbol proudly stands,
Blue as the loyal men that wore them,
Far from their homes in Newfoundland.

Let us not forget the Newfoundlanders who died one hundred years ago at Beaumont-Hamel.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Myosotis – En souvenir des Terre-Neuviens à Beaumont-Hamel

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Un soldat de Terre-Neuve tenant des myosotis

Les fleurs minuscules du myosotis, qui s’appellent en anglais des « forget-me-not » (ce qui veut dire « ne m’oublie pas »), revêtent une signification particulière pour la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, où elles sont souvent portées comme symbole de commémoration le 1er juillet, de la même manière que bon nombre d’entre nous portons le coquelicot le 11 novembre à l’occasion du jour du Souvenir.

Plusieurs d’entre vous savent probablement que le 1er juillet, c’est la fête du Canada dans notre pays, ce qui donne lieu à des célébrations et des feux d’artifice! Mais à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, cette journée revêt une autre signification–une signification qui ne donne pas lieu à des célébrations.

Avant de se joindre au Canada en 1949, il y a de nombreuses années, les Terre-Neuviens commémoraient traditionnellement chaque année Memorial Day le 1er juillet. Cette date avait été choisie en souvenir des centaines de jeunes soldats du Royal Newfoundland Regiment qui sont morts le 1er juillet 1916 (il y a 100 ans!) à un endroit appelé Beaumont-Hamel, en France, durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Ce fût un jour extrêmement triste pour Terre-Neuve, où presque tout le monde connaissait quelqu’un qui était mort au combat.

Ils étaient très attristés par la perte de leurs êtres chers, mais le fait de porter les petites fleurs du myosotis les aida à se sentir un peu mieux et à se souvenir.

Le myosotis est un bon symbole pour se souvenir des soldats terre-neuviens. Le bleu symbolise la loyauté de ces jeunes soldats envers Terre-Neuve, leur nation, pour laquelle ils ont très courageusement combattu. La fleur, qui peut survivre dans un climat rigoureux et qui peut pousser sur les terrains les plus ardus, symbolise la force et le courage de ces jeunes Terre-Neuviens sur le champ de bataille.

Le myosotis

Bud Davidge, un auteur-compositeur de Terre-Neuve, a écrit une chanson appelée « The Little Blue-Forget-Me Not », pour perpétuer la tradition de Memorial Day et de la célèbre fleur dans l’histoire de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Voici un couplet de la chanson en anglais (et une traduction) :

Forget-me-not, wee flower of beauty, (Myosotis, petite fleur si jolie)
Your royal symbol proudly stands, (Ton symbole royal nous rappelle)
Blue as the loyal men that wore them, (Bleue comme les hommes loyaux qui la portaient)
Far from their homes in Newfoundland. (Loin de leurs familles à Terre-Neuve)

N’oublions jamais les Terre-Neuviens qui sont morts il y a cent ans à Beaumont-Hamel.

Date de modification :