Lesson Plan: Dear friend in the Gulf War

Aim

To encourage youth to write thank you letters to Canadian Veterans who served in the Gulf War.

Objectives

Youth will:

  • learn more about the Gulf War and Canadians efforts overseas;
  • gain an appreciation about the importance of letter writing in times of war and the impact of remembrance and thank you messages; and
  • offer personal thanks to Canadian Gulf War Veterans.

Target audience

This activity is suitable for ages 12 to 18.

Sequence of events and anticipated time frame [60 minutes]

(This activity can be modified to fit available time.)

  • Discussion [10 minutes]
  • Read aloud [15 minutes]
  • Follow-up [15 minutes]
  • Letter writing activity [20 minutes]

Materials

Discussion [10 minutes]

Provide students with a Canadian Armed Forces and the Gulf War historical sheet to read as background information and lead a discussion.

Explain to your students that the Gulf War of the early 1990s is an important chapter in Canada’s military history, and that 2016 marks the 25th Anniversary of the end of the conflict. More than 4,000 Canadian Armed Forces personnel travelled far from home to serve in the tense Persian Gulf region in 1990-91, as part of the international coalition of countries that came together to force the invading forces of Iraq out of neighbouring Kuwait. In the aftermath of the conflict, Canadians continued to serve in peacekeeping and embargo-enforcement efforts in the region.

Explain that during the past 100 years, when Canadians have gone abroad to serve for our country, the correspondence and letters that were sent home helped servicemen and servicewomen vent their emotions and sustain ties with families and friends on the home front. Letters from home to the battlefield have done a similar duty; it was a big boost for the morale!

The Gulf War in the 1990’s was no different; letters were exchanged too. Packages full of letters and small gifts were sent to Canadian Armed Forces member serving in the Gulf War and were even delivered by helicopter to personnel serving on ships!

James Doherty, now a Veteran of the Gulf War, explained that during the war, Canadians serving overseas would spend hours in their free time pouring over bags of letters. He and fellow Canadian military personnel received thousands of letters from Canadian well-wishers.

In fact, James Doherty received one letter that still resonates and inspires him to this day. He carried the letter he received from a young Canadian boy in his pocket the whole time he was deployed and shared that story in a letter to his parents. When he returned home from the Gulf War, he even saved the letter in his photo album.

Read aloud [15 minutes]

Have students read the Dear Mom and Dad and Dear friend handouts.

Follow-up discussion [15 minutes]

Have a follow-up discussion. How would students feel if their family members or friends went that far away to serve in a military conflict? How would they feel if they were the ones receiving those special packages delivered by helicopter? Back then, cellphones were not common, so sending letters and small parcels was the main connection to friends and family back home.

Imagine keeping a letter for over 20 years. Did students ever think that writing a simple message to someone, just like Duane’s letter, could have such a profound impact? Simple words and gestures can mean so much to someone who is missing his or her home and loved ones.

Discuss how letters can offer different perspectives on war. For example, James Doherty’s letter home described different emotions he felt, what he learned about the people he met and the Persian Gulf landscape.

Letter writing activity [20 minutes]

We as Canadians can show honour by recognizing, celebrating and saying thank you to those Canadians who bravely risked their lives to help bring peace to a faraway place.

The Canadian Armed Forces members were excited to receive letters when they were serving in the Persian Gulf region, as students learned through James' message (Dear Mom and Dad letter). Why not send these real-life heroes a personal message of gratitude to tell them that you remember and thank them for what they did 25 years ago?

Instructions

  1. Have students write a thank you letter to a Veteran of the Gulf War on a draft sheet of paper. If you know a Veteran of the Gulf War in your community, the letters could be addressed to the person (Dear…). If you don’t know Veterans who served in the Gulf War, simply start with: Dear Canadian Veteran of the Gulf War.
  2. Encourage students to write a message of appreciation, like simple words to show that they respect the Veterans’ service and sacrifices. If your class feels inspired, poems of gratitude could be written. At the end of their letter, students could also add how they will remember the sacrifices and achievements of the Gulf War Veterans. For example: “I will remember the Veterans of the Gulf War by wearing a poppy on Remembrance Day.” When the draft message is done, distribute writing paper to students.
  3. Collect the letters, review them and bundle letters in a single package. You may provide the name and address of your school or organization and the participating students' grade level(s). Be mindful of not providing personal information about individual students.
  4. Distribute the letters: If you know Veterans in your community who took part in the Gulf War, you might want to contact them and arrange a personal delivery, or invite them at the school. If a personal distribution can’t be arranged and you know the Veterans’ email addresses, you could scan the letters and send them electronically. If you mail the letters, please note that mailing is at the sender’s expense.

If your class wrote letters to an “unknown” Gulf War Veteran, you can mail them to the Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada at:

Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada
15 Roosevelt Avenue
St. John's NL
A1A 4C5

A local Royal Canadian Legion might also be considered as an intermediary to put your class in touch with Gulf War Veterans. Please contact the Legion in your area to inquire.

A variation of this letter writing activity is to send an electronic card to a Gulf War Veteran. To do this, you must know the email address of the Veteran.

Alternatively, if you want to send electronic messages of gratitude to servicemen and servicewomen, and don’t have the recipient’s email, you might consider sending a message to currently serving Canadian Forces members, a program run by the Department of National Defense. Today’s CAF members are tomorrow’s Veterans… Messages from your class might just be the morale booster a currently serving member needs to carry on with a mission.

Date modified:

Plan de leçon : Cher ami/chère amie ayant servi dans la guerre du Golfe

But

Encourager les jeunes à écrire des lettres de remerciement aux vétérans canadiens qui ont servi dans la guerre du Golfe.

Objectifs

Les jeunes devraient :

  • en apprendre davantage sur la guerre du Golfe et les efforts des Canadiens à l’étranger;
  • mieux connaître l’importance de rédiger des lettres en temps de guerre et de se rendre compte de l’incidence de ces messages de commémoration et de remerciement; et
  • remercier personnellement les vétérans canadiens de la guerre du Golfe.

Public cible

L’activité s’adresse aux jeunes de 12 à 18 ans.

Séquence et durée prévue de l’activité [60 minutes]

(L’activité peut être modifiée en fonction du temps disponible.)

  • Discussion [10 minutes]
  • Lecture à voix haute [15 minutes]
  • Suivi [15 minutes]
  • Activité de rédaction de lettres [20 minutes]

Matériel

Discussion [10 minutes]

Remettez aux élèves le feuillet historique sur les Forces armées canadiennes et la guerre du Golfe, demandez-leur de le lire pour obtenir des renseignements généraux et entamez la discussion.

Expliquez à vos élèves que la guerre du Golfe au début des années 1990 est un chapitre important de l’histoire militaire canadienne, et que l’année 2016 marque le 25e anniversaire de la fin du conflit. Plus de 4 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes se sont rendus à l’étranger pour servir dans la région tendue du golfe Persique en 1990-1991, dans le cadre de la coalition internationale de pays qui se sont regroupés pour faire sortir du Koweït les forces d’invasion de l’Iraq, un pays voisin. À la suite du conflit, les Canadiens ont continué de servir pour soutenir les efforts de maintien de la paix dans la région et pour faire respecter l’embargo.

Expliquez aux élèves que depuis 100 ans, lorsque les hommes et femmes militaires canadiens sont déployés à l’étranger pour servir notre pays, la correspondance et les lettres qu’ils envoient à la maison les aident à exprimer leurs émotions et à garder un lien avec la famille et les amis sur le front intérieur. À leur tour, les lettres envoyées de la maison aux militaires sur le champ de bataille ont un effet semblable; elles servent grandement à remonter le moral des troupes!

La guerre du Golfe n’a pas fait exception; des lettres étaient aussi échangées. Des colis plein de lettres et de petits cadeaux étaient envoyés aux militaires des Forces armées canadiennes en service dans la guerre du Golfe. Des lettres étaient même livrées par hélicoptère au personnel qui servait sur les navires!

James Doherty, maintenant un vétéran de la guerre du Golfe, a expliqué que durant la guerre, les Canadiens en service à l’étranger pouvaient, dans leur temps libre, passer des heures à lire les nombreuses lettres qu’ils recevaient. Lui-même et ses collègues militaires ont reçu des milliers de lettres de la part de sympathisants canadiens.

De fait, James Doherty a reçu une lettre qui résonne encore en lui aujourd’hui et continue de l’inspirer. Pendant toute la durée de son déploiement, il a porté dans sa poche la lettre qu’il a reçue d’un jeune garçon canadien, et il a partagé cette histoire dans une lettre adressée à ses parents. À son retour de la guerre du Golfe, il a même placé la lettre dans son album souvenir.

Lecture à voix haute [5 minutes]

Demandez aux élèves de lire à voix haute les lettres Chère maman, cher papa et Lettre à un cher ami. Veuillez noter que ces lettres sont des traductions des lettres originales en anglais.

Suivi [15 minutes]

Animez une discussion de suivi. Demandez aux élèves comment ils se sentiraient si un membre de leur famille ou un ami devait se rendre à l’étranger pour servir dans un conflit militaire? Comment se sentiraient-ils si c’était eux qui recevaient ces colis spéciaux livrés par hélicoptère? À cette époque, les téléphones cellulaires n’étaient pas chose courante, et donc la principale façon de rester en contact avec les amis et la famille au pays était d’envoyer des lettres et des petits colis.

Imaginez garder une lettre pendant plus de 20 ans... Demandez aux élèves s’ils avaient pensé qu’un seul message envoyé à quelqu’un, comme la lettre de Duane, pourrait avoir des répercussions si profondes. Des mots et des gestes simples peuvent tellement aider une personne qui s’ennuie de son foyer et de ses êtres chers.

Discutez de la façon dont les lettres peuvent offrir différents points de vue sur la guerre. Par exemple, la lettre envoyée à la maison par James Doherty décrivait les différentes émotions qu’il ressentait, ce qu’il avait appris sur les gens qu’il avait rencontrés, ainsi que le paysage du golfe Persique.

Activité de rédaction de lettres [20 minutes]

Des Canadiens ont risqué leur vie afin d’apporter la paix dans un lieu lointain. Nous pouvons les remercier et leur rendre hommage en soulignant leur bravoure.

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes étaient très contents de recevoir des lettres pendant qu’ils servaient dans la région du golfe Persique, comme l’ont appris les élèves dans le message de James (lettre Chère maman, cher papa). Pourquoi ne pas envoyer à ces véritables héros un mot de remerciement pour leur dire que vous pensez à eux et que vous les remerciez de ce qu’ils ont fait il y a 25 ans?

Instructions

  1. Demandez aux élèves d’écrire une lettre de remerciement à un vétéran de la guerre du Golfe sur une feuille brouillon. Si vous connaissez un vétéran de la guerre du Golfe dans votre collectivité, les lettres pourraient être adressées à cette personne (Cher/chère…). Si vous ne connaissez pas de vétérans qui ont servi dans la guerre du Golfe, utilisez simplement la salutation suivante : Cher vétéran canadien de la guerre du Golfe.
  2. Encouragez les élèves à rédiger des messages en des mots simples pour remercier les vétérans de la guerre du Golfe ou pour leur rendre hommage en souvenir de leurs sacrifices et réalisations. Si les élèves dans votre classe se sentent inspirés, ils pourraient même composer un poème de gratitude. À la fin de leur lettre, les élèves pourraient aussi indiquer comment ils commémoreront les sacrifices et les réalisations des vétérans de la guerre du Golfe. Par exemple : « Je rendrai hommage aux vétérans de la guerre du Golfe en portant un coquelicot le jour du Souvenir. » Lorsque les élèves ont terminé leur brouillon, distribuez-leur le papier à lettres.
  3. Recueillez toutes les lettres, examinez-les, puis mettez-les dans une seule enveloppe. Vous pouvez fournir le nom et l'adresse de votre école ou organisme et le niveau scolaire des élèves participants. Veillez à ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels sur des étudiants en particulier.
  4. Distribuez les lettres : Si vous connaissez des vétérans dans votre collectivité qui ont pris part à la guerre du Golfe, vous pourriez communiquer avec eux pour organiser une livraison personnelle des lettres ou les inviter à venir à l’école. Si vous ne pouvez organiser une livraison personnelle avec eux et connaissez leur adresse électronique, vous pouvez numériser les lettres et les envoyer par voie électronique. Si vous envoyez les lettres par la poste, veuillez prendre note que l’envoi est aux frais de l’expéditeur.

Si vos élèves ont écrit à un vétéran « inconnu » de la guerre du Golfe, vous pouvez envoyer les lettres par la poste à l’organisme Vétérans canadiens de la guerre du golfe Persique, à l’adresse ci-dessous.

Vétérans canadiens de la guerre du golfe Persique/
Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada
15, avenue Roosevelt
St. John's NL
A1A 4C5

Vous pourriez aussi communiquer avec une filiale locale de la Légion royale canadienne pour vous mettre en contact avec des vétérans de la guerre du Golfe. Communiquez avec la filiale de votre région pour plus d’information.

Une variante de cette activité de rédaction de lettres consiste en l’envoi d’une carte électronique à un vétéran de la guerre du Golfe. Pour ce faire, vous devez connaître l’adresse électronique du vétéran.

Autrement, si vous voulez envoyer des messages électroniques de gratitude aux hommes et femmes militaires, mais n’avez pas les adresses électroniques des destinataires, vous pourriez adresser vos messages à nos militaires des Forces armées canadiennes en service, qui est un programme dirigé par le ministère de la Défense nationale. Les militaires des FAC d’aujourd’hui sont les vétérans de demain… Un message envoyé par un de vos élèves pourrait être exactement ce dont a besoin un membre en service pour remonter son moral et mener à bien sa mission.

Date de modification :