Lesson Plan: P.S. Thank you!

Aim

To increase youth awareness of Canadian Armed Forces efforts in the Gulf War.

Objectives

Youth will:

  • learn about the ways Canadians helped the people of Kuwait during the Gulf War;
  • understand that our communities are places where we help one another;
  • learn about the importance of letter writing and other forms of communication in times of war and for sending messages of remembrance and thanks; and
  • make a personal connection to Gulf War Veterans or Canadian Armed Forces members.

Target audience

This activity is suitable for ages 5 to 11.

Sequence of events and anticipated time frame [30-45 minutes]

(This activity can be modified to fit available time.)

  • Discussion [10 minutes]
  • Read aloud [5 minutes]
  • Letter writing activity [15-30 minutes]

Materials

Discussion [10 minutes]

You may wish to read the Canadian Armed Forces and the Gulf War information sheet for your own background information.

Provide the children with a bit of an understanding about the Gulf War. Talk about how the Gulf War happened before they were even born!

On August 2, 1990, an army from the country of Iraq invaded the small neighbouring country of Kuwait. You may wish to show them where this is on a map and how far away it is from Canada.

The international community, with the approval of the United Nations (which is an international organization), responded by sending in armies from many countries (including Canada) to help get the Iraqi army out of Kuwait. The war they fought is called the Gulf War—named because both Kuwait and Iraq are on the Persian Gulf, which is a body of water in the oil-rich Middle East.

Back then, the country of Iraq wanted to take over Kuwait because they felt it should be part of their country, and wanted to get control of Kuwait’s oil supply. The President of Iraq, Saddam Hussein, sent in his troops to invade Kuwait on August 2, 1990. Kuwait fell quickly to the Iraqis.

Many countries around the world didn’t approve of this bold and aggressive act. Thousands of coalition troops, as part of a United Nations mandated force, began arriving in the Persian Gulf region ready to fight Iraq. More than 4,000 Canadian Armed Forces personnel would eventually serve in the tense Persian Gulf region.

Explain that the Canadian soldiers, sailors and airforce personnel went to the Persian Gulf to help stop a country that was bullying the people in Kuwait—similar to something you might see with schoolyard bullies.

The Coalition troops managed to push the Iraqis back into their own country and the war ended 25 years ago, on February 28, 1991.

Read aloud [5 minutes]

Read aloud the Treats from home story.

Have a follow up discussion. How would students feel if their family members or friends went that far away? Would it make them feel sad? Nervous? Proud? How would they feel if they were the ones receiving those special packages delivered by helicopter? Back then, there were few cell phones so this was their main connection to friends and family back home.

Letter writing activity [15 – 30 minutes]

Talk about that when people we know are hurt, such as family members or our friends at school, we tend to do what we can to help them. That is what the Canadian Armed Forces do. They respond with acts of kindness and provide help around the world in faraway places, like they did in the Persian Gulf in the early 1990s.

We as Canadians can show honour by recognizing, celebrating and saying thank you to those Canadians who bravely risked their lives to help bring peace to a faraway place.

The Canadian Armed Forces members were excited to receive letters when they were serving in the Persian Gulf region! Why not send these real life heroes a personal message of thanks today to tell them that you remember and thank them for what they did 25 years ago?

Provide the students with writing paper (PDF), or a Postcard for peace.

Instructions

  1. Distribute writing paper or Postcards for peace to students.
  2. Encourage students to write a message of appreciation, or have them write how they will remember the sacrifices and achievements of Gulf War Veterans. For example:
    • Thank you for your help in the Persian Gulf.
    • Thank you for your sacrifices.
    • I will remember you by wearing a poppy over my heart on Remembrance Day
  3. Collect letters/postcards and bundle them together in a single package. You could provide the name and address of your school or organization and the participating students' grade level(s). Please ensure that students' personal information is not included, such as last names and home addresses.
  4. If you know a Gulf War Veteran, you may want to arrange a personal delivery. You can also mail your letters/postcards (please note that postage is at sender’s expense) to the Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada:

    Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada
    15 Roosevelt Ave.
    St. John's NL
    A1A 4C5
Date modified:

Plan de leçon : P. S. Merci!

But

Accroître la sensibilisation des jeunes aux efforts déployés par les Forces armées canadiennes durant la guerre du Golfe.

Objectifs

Grâce à cette activité, les jeunes :

  • en sauront plus sur les façons dont les Canadiens ont aidé le peuple du Koweït durant la guerre du Golfe;
  • comprendront que nous vivons dans des collectivités où les gens s’entraident;
  • en sauront plus sur l’importance des lettres en temps de guerre, de même que sur l’importance d’envoyer des messages de commémoration et de remerciement;
  • établiront un lien avec des vétérans de la guerre du Golfe ou des Forces armées canadiennes.

Public cible

L’activité s’adresse aux jeunes de 5 à 11 ans.

Séquence et durée prévue de l’activité [30 minutes]

(L’activité peut être modifiée en fonction du temps disponible.)

  • Discussion [10 minutes]
  • Lecture à voix haute [5 minutes]
  • Activité de rédaction de lettres [15 minutes]

Matériel

Discussion [10 minutes]

Nous vous conseillons de lire le feuillet d’information sur les Forces armées canadiennes et la guerre du Golfe pour vous familiariser avec le sujet.

Expliquez brièvement aux enfants la guerre du Golfe. Dites-leur que la guerre du Golfe a eu lieu avant même qu’ils ne soient nés!

Le 2 août 1990, l’armée de l’Iraq a envahi un petit pays voisin nommé le Koweït. Vous pourriez leur indiquer sur une carte la distance entre ce pays et le Canada.

La communauté internationale, avec l’appui des Nations Unies (une organisation internationale), a réagi à la situation en envoyant des armées de nombreux pays (y compris le Canada) pour aider à chasser l’armée iraquienne du Koweït. Cette guerre était appelée la guerre du Golfe. Elle a été nommée ainsi puisque le Koweït et l’Iraq sont situés sur le golfe Persique, une étendue d’eau dans le Moyen-Orient, une région riche en pétrole.

À l’époque, l’Iraq voulait occuper le Koweït parce qu’il estimait qu’il devait faire partie de son pays et parce qu’il voulait contrôler le pétrole du Koweït. Le président de l’Iraq, Saddam Hussein, a ordonné à ses troupes d’envahir le Koweït le 2 août 1990. Le Koweït tomba rapidement sous le contrôle des Iraquiens.

De nombreux pays ont condamné cet acte insolent et agressif. Des milliers de militaires faisant partie d’une coalition mandatée par les Nations Unies sont allés dans la région du golfe Persique pour se battre contre l’Iraq. Plus de 4 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont servi dans la région du golfe Persique.

Expliquez aux élèves que des soldats, marins et aviateurs canadiens sont allés au golfe Persique pour arrêter un pays qui intimidait le peuple du Koweït – c’était un peu comme l’intimidation que l’on voit dans la cour d’école, mais à beaucoup plus grande échelle.

Les troupes de la coalition ont réussi à repousser les Iraquiens jusqu’à leur pays, et la guerre a pris fin il y a 25 ans, le 28 février 1991.

Lecture à voix haute [5 minutes]

Lisez à voix haute l’histoire Des colis de par chez nous.

Poursuivez la discussion avec les élèves. Comment se sentiraient-ils si les membres de leur famille ou leurs amis s’en allaient aussi loin? Tristes? Anxieux? Fiers? Comment se sentiraient-ils s’ils étaient ceux qui recevaient ces colis spéciaux livrés par hélicoptère? C’était un des seuls moyens de rester en contact avec ses amis et sa famille au Canada, car il y avait peu de téléphones cellulaires à l’époque.

Activité de rédaction de lettres [15 minutes]

Parlez du fait que lorsque les personnes que nous connaissons, comme des membres de notre famille ou nos amis à l’école, sont dans le besoin, nous avons tendance à faire notre possible pour les aider. C’est ce que font les Forces armées canadiennes. Elles font de bonnes actions et apportent aide et secours dans des régions éloignées situées aux quatre coins de la planète, comme elles l’ont fait dans le golfe Persique au début des années 1990.

En tant que Canadiens, nous pouvons remercier ceux et celles qui ont risqué leur vie afin d’apporter la paix dans un lieu lointain, et leur rendre hommage en soulignant et en célébrant leur bravoure.

Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes étaient très contents de recevoir des lettres pendant qu’ils servaient dans la région du golfe Persique! Pourquoi ne pas envoyer à ces véritables héros un mot de remerciement pour leur dire que vous pensez à eux et que vous les remerciez de ce qu’ils ont fait il y a 25 ans?

Distribuez aux élèves du papier à lettres (PDF) ou une Carte postale de la paix.

Instructions

  1. Distribuez du papier à lettres ou des Cartes postales de la paix aux élèves.
  2. Encouragez les élèves à rédiger des messages visant à remercier les vétérans de la guerre du Golfe ou à leur dire comment ils prévoient se souvenir de leurs sacrifices et réalisations. Par exemple :
    • Merci de votre aide lors de la guerre du Golfe.
    • Merci de vos sacrifices.
    • Je vais me souvenir de vous en portant un coquelicot sur le cœur le jour du Souvenir.
  3. Mettez toutes les lettres ou cartes postales dans une seule enveloppe. Vous pouvez fournir le nom et l'adresse de votre école ou organisme et le niveau scolaire des élèves. Veuillez toutefois ne pas donner d’informations personnelles comme les noms complets ou les adresses des élèves.
  4. Distribution des lettres ou des cartes postales : Si vous connaissez des vétérans de votre communauté qui ont participé à la guerre du Golfe, vous pourriez les contacter et remettre les messages personnellement. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos lettres ou cartes postales par la poste (veuillez noter que l’envoi par la poste est aux frais de l’expéditeur) à l’Association canadienne des vétérans de la guerre du Golfe :

    Persian Gulf Veterans of Canada/
    Association canadienne des vétérans de la guerre du Golfe
    15 Roosevelt Avenue
    St. John's NL
    A1A 4C5
Date de modification :