Gandy the Dog in the Atlantic Provinces

Gandy the dog in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Day 1: St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

HMCS Sackville. Photo: DND

Here we are at the Remembrance Ceremony, in front of the famous caribou in Bowring Park—my favourite monument! It’s to remember Newfoundlanders who served in the First World War, like those who fought in Beaumont-Hamel, France, on July 1, 1916.

Day 4: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Wow! There are so many remembrance symbols in Halifax! Cemeteries, monuments ... even a boat! HMCS Sackville is awesome! This ship, called a corvette, was used in the Second World War. It is now a floating museum. Don’t get seasick!

Day 6: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Monument in Prince Edward Island. Photo: DND

It was sooo hot today, that we decided to go to the beach in the National Park! We were surprised to find a monument there. It’s for Canadians who died in war. It says: “THEY WILL NEVER KNOW THE BEAUTY OF THIS PLACE...” That makes us sad, but thanks to them, we are free to enjoy a fun day like this.

Day 8: Dieppe, New Brunswick

We crossed the Confederation Bridge this morning! We stopped for lunch beside this mural. It has 907 stones from the beach of Dieppe, France—one stone for each Canadian who died there in 1942 during the Second World War. To honour those Canadians, the town of Léger’s Corner changed its name to Dieppe. This monument rocks!

Mural in Dieppe, New Brunswick. Photo: VAC

Simone the Cat's Story
Date modified:

Gandi le chien dans les provinces de l’Atlantique

Gandi le chien à Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Jour 1: St. John’s, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Nous voici à la cérémonie du Souvenir, devant le célèbre caribou situé au parc Bowring. C’est mon monument préféré! Ce monument honore la mémoire des Terre-Neuviens qui ont servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, comme ceux qui ont combattu à Beaumont-Hamel, en France, le 1er juillet 1916.

NCSM Sackville. Photo : MDN

Jour 4: Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Wow! On trouve tant de symboles du Souvenir à Halifax! Des cimetières, des monuments... et même un bateau! Le NCSM Sackville est fabuleux. Ce type de bateau, que l’on nomme corvette, était utilisé lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il a été transformé en musée flottant. Attention au mal de mer!

Jour 6: Cavendish, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Monument à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Photo : MDN

Il faisait tellement chaud aujourd’hui que nous sommes allés à la plage du parc national! À notre grande surprise, nous avons trouvé un monument ici. Il a été construit en l’honneur de ceux qui sont morts à la guerre. On peut y lire : « Ils ne connaîtront jamais plus la beauté de cette terre... ». Voilà qui nous rend tristes, mais grâce à eux, nous sommes libres de profiter d’une journée si agréable.

Jour 8: Dieppe, Nouveau-Brunswick

Ce matin, nous avons traversé le Pont de la Confédération! Nous nous sommes arrêtés pour dîner près d’une murale. Elle est composée de 907 pierres provenant de la plage de Dieppe, en France. Il y a une pierre pour chaque Canadien qui est mort là-bas en 1942, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. C’est en l’honneur de ces Canadiens que le nom de la ville de Léger’s Corner a été changé pour Dieppe. Cette murale vaut le détour!

Murale à Dieppe, Nouveau-Brunswick. Photo : Anciens Combattant Canada

L'histoire de Simone
Date de modification :