Remembrance Clubhouse Family Tree

Canadians all have different family backgrounds. Here are our brave ancestors. Do you know yours?

Bonfire Jr. the Horse

During the First World War, my relative Bonfire was the best friend of a Canadian doctor and poet named John McCrae. Bonfire carried the doctor to the battlefield. Sadly, Dr. McCrae died in 1918. Bonfire proudly took part in his military funeral procession.

Simone the Cat

My relative Simon served on a British warship in 1949. The ship was attacked in China and stranded for three months. Many sailors were hurt. Simon was hurt too but kept catching rats, which saved precious food. He also comforted the wounded men. Simon was presented with the Dickin Medal for his bravery. What a cool cat!

Gandy the Dog

During the Second World War, my relative Sergeant Gander was a mascot in Hong Kong. One night, a grenade was thrown at some Canadian soldiers. Gander knew it was dangerous. He took it and ran away. Sadly, the grenade exploded and Gander died. He received the Dickin Medal.

Squeaker the Carrier Pigeon

My relative Beachcomber was a carrier pigeon during the Second World War. He delivered important messages for Canadian soldiers. The messages were rolled up and put in a container attached to his leg. He received the Dickin Medal for his courage. He was no chicken!

Win the Bear

My relative was a bear cub. She was adopted as a mascot by a soldier from Winnipeg during the First World War. He named her Winnie! But it was too dangerous on the battlefield for her, so she went to the London Zoo. While there, she inspired an author to write a story . . . Winnie the Pooh!

Ellie the Elephant

My relative Bandoola served during the Second World War in Burma, Asia. He and other elephants moved logs to build bridges. They also carried people across rivers and towed army trucks stuck in the mud. I will always remember Bandoola!

Loveable Mascots
Date modified:

Arbre généalogique du Club du Souvenir

Les Canadiens ont tous des antécédents familiaux différents. Voici nos braves ancêtres. Connais-tu les tiens?

Bonfire Jr.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, mon ancêtre Bonfire était le meilleur ami d’un médecin et poète canadien nommé John McCrae. Bonfire transportait le médecin jusqu’au champ de bataille. Tristement, le Dr McCrae est décédé en 1918. Bonfire a fièrement participé au cortège funèbre militaire du Dr McCrae.

Simone

Mon ancêtre Simon a servi sur un navire de guerre britannique en 1949. Le navire avait été attaqué en Chine et est demeuré échoué pendant trois mois. De nombreux marins ont été blessés. Simon a été blessé lui aussi, mais il a continué à attraper des rats, ce qui aidait à économiser les provisions de nourriture. Il apportait aussi un réconfort aux blessés. Simon a reçu la médaille Dickin pour sa bravoure. Quel super-héros!

Gandi

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mon ancêtre, le sergent Gander, était un chien mascotte à Hong Kong. Un soir, une grenade a été lancée en direction de soldats canadiens. Gander savait que c’était dangereux. Il l’a prise et s’est enfui en courant. Tristement, la grenade a explosé et Gander est mort. On lui a décerné la médaille Dickin.

Siffleur

Mon ancêtre Beachcomber était un pigeon voyageur durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il livrait des messages importants pour les soldats canadiens. Les messages étaient roulés puis insérés dans un petit tube fixé à sa patte. Il a été décoré de la médaille Dickin pour son courage. Il n’était pas une poule mouillée!

Win

Mon ancêtre était une ourse. Elle avait été adoptée comme mascotte par un soldat de Winnipeg, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il l’avait nommée Winnie! Mais comme c’était trop dangereux pour elle sur le champ de bataille, elle est allée au zoo de Londres. Pendant qu’elle était là-bas, elle a inspiré un auteur à écrire... Winnie l’ourson!

Ellie

Mon ancêtre Bandoola a servi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Birmanie, en Asie. Lui et d’autres éléphants déplaçaient des billots pour construire des ponts. Ils transportaient aussi des gens pour traverser les rivières et tiraient des camions militaires pris dans la boue. Je me souviendrai toujours de Bandoola!

Mascottes sympathiques
Date de modification :