Sergeant Bill, a Tough Old Goat!

Goat

Sergeant Bill in uniform with soldier friend.
(Photo: Broadview Museum)

A goat named Bill was pulling a cart in a small town in Saskatchewan when a train, carrying soldiers on their way to fight in the First World War, stopped. The girl who owned Bill let the soldiers take him along as a good luck charm. Mascots were not supposed to go to the front lines, but the soldiers had become very attached to the goat so they hid him in a big crate and took him with them.

Sergeant Bill, as the goat was called, was a big help. He saw action beside his human friends in many battles, including one where he pushed three soldiers into a trench just seconds before a shell exploded where they had been standing.

Despite being wounded several times, Sergeant Bill survived the war. Once the fighting was over, he was even part of a big parade in Germany, proudly wearing a fancy blue coat with his sergeant stripes. He then returned to his hometown where he was reunited with his owner.

Pest Brigade

mouse holding piece of cheese

Not all animals are helpful. During the First World War, more than 90% of the soldiers in the trenches had lice. The pesky little insects made the men itch badly and they could spread a disease called trench fever.

Mice and rats were also a big problem in the trenches and on warships, too. They chewed on supplies and equipment, ate the food, and spread diseases.

Canadian soldiers who have served in far-off lands, like Korea, Somalia and Afghanistan, had other pests to worry about, as well. They had to keep their eyes open for dangerous spiders, scorpions and snakes that could sneak into their tents, sleeping bags and empty boots.

Forgotten Heroes
Date modified:

Sergent Bill, un bouc coriace!

un bouc

Sergent Bill et un ami soldat, en uniforme.
(Photo : Musée Broadview)

Un train transportant des soldats en route pour le front durant la Première Guerre mondiale s'est arrêté dans un petit village de la Saskatchewan. Les troupes ont aperçu un bouc nommé Bill, qui tirait un chariot. La fille à qui appartenait le bouc a laissé les soldats emporter Bill, comme porte-bonheur. Les mascottes n'étaient pas censées aller au front, mais les soldats, qui s'y étaient attachés, l'ont caché dans une grande caisse pour le voyage.

Le bouc, qu'on appelait Sergent Bill, leur était très utile. Il a participé aux combats dans plusieurs batailles avec ses amis soldats. Pendant une bataille en particulier, il a poussé trois soldats dans une tranchée quelques secondes avant qu'un obus n'explose là où ils se tenaient.

Même s'il a été blessé plusieurs fois, Sergent Bill a survécu à la guerre. Il a même participé à un grand défilé en Allemagne après la fin des combats. Il portait son manteau bleu et ses galons de sergent. Il est rentré dans son village natal et a été remis à sa propriétaire.

La brigade de la vermine

souris tenant un morceau de fromage

Tous les animaux ne sont pas utiles. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, plus de 90 % des soldats dans les tranchées avaient des poux. Les soldats n'en finissaient plus de se gratter et ces petits insectes nuisibles pouvaient répandre la fièvre des tranchées.

Les souris et les rats étaient également des problèmes importants dans les tranchées et les navires de guerre. Ils mâchouillaient les fournitures et l'équipement, ils mangeaient la nourriture et propageaient des maladies.

Les soldats canadiens qui ont servi dans des pays lointains, comme la Corée, la Somalie et l'Afghanistan, avaient d'autres organismes nuisibles pour leur compliquer les choses. En effet, ils devaient faire attention aux araignées, aux scorpions et aux serpents qui pouvaient s'infiltrer dans leurs tentes, leurs sacs de couchage et leurs bottes vides.

Monument aux héros oubliés
Date de modification :