Hughes the Donkey Helps

Hughes the donkey and Canadian soldier in Afghanistan in 2008.
(Photo: James McCarten - Canadian Press 4610561)

People might think that animals would not be much help to soldiers in today’s high-technology world, but sometimes the old ways are still the best!

More than 40,000 Canadians have served in Afghanistan since 2001, working to bring peace and help the people there recover after years of troubles. It is a very hard place for our soldiers to work. Much of the country is very mountainous, sometimes making it challenging to transport things even with four-wheel-drive trucks!

Hughes the donkey was bought there by Canadian Armed Forces engineers to help carry their equipment while on patrol. They often have to move big loads through harsh terrain, so the help of the small-but-mighty Hughes has been much appreciated. Plus just seeing the cute little donkey put a smile on the soldiers’ faces. Life is dangerous for the men and women serving in Afghanistan and more than 155 of them have lost their lives over the years, but animals like Hughes have helped make their load just a little lighter.

Did You Know? Reading by the Bug Light!

glow-worm

During the First World War, using bright lights at night on the front lines was very dangerous. To avoid being spotted by the enemy, some soldiers used glow-worms to read maps and important messages after dark! These insects naturally give off a very soft blue-green light.

A Dog’s Best Friend
Date modified:

Hughes, l’âne vaillant

Soldat canadien en Afghanistan avec l’âne dénommé Hughes. 2008.
(Photo : James McCarten - Presse canadienne 4610561)

Les gens pourraient croire que les animaux ne peuvent pas aider les soldats dans le monde hautement technologique d’aujourd’hui, mais les anciennes techniques sont parfois les plus efficaces!

Plus de 40 000 Canadiens ont servi en Afghanistan depuis 2001 afin d’apporter la paix et d’aider les gens de là-bas à se remettre sur pied après des années sombres. Ce n’est pas un endroit facile pour les soldats. Le pays est en grande partie formé de montagnes, ce qui fait qu’il est parfois très difficile de transporter des objets, même avec des camions à quatre roues motrices!

Les ingénieurs des Forces armées canadiennes ont acheté l’âne Hughes pour les aider à transporter leur équipement lors des patrouilles. Ils doivent souvent transporter de lourdes charges dans ce terrain accidenté, et l’aide de Hughes, petit mais robuste, leur est très utile. Par ailleurs, seul le fait de voir le mignon petit âne fait sourire les soldats. La vie en Afghanistan est dangereuse pour les hommes et les femmes qui servent là-bas et plus de 155 d’entre eux ont perdu la vie au fil des ans, mais les animaux comme Hughes contribuent en allégeant un peu leur fardeau.

Le savais-tu? À la lueur des vers luisants!

ver luisant

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’utilisation de lumières vives sur les lignes de front était très dangereuse. Afin d’éviter de se faire repérer par l’ennemi, certains soldats utilisaient des vers luisants pour lire les cartes et les messages importants après la tombée du jour! Ces insectes dégagent une faible lueur bleu-vert.

Un chien et son meilleur ami
Date de modification :