The caribou: here, there, everywhere

Royal Newfoundland Regiment hockey team in 1917.
Photo: The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, SANL 1.26.01.074

Being from the “Rock”, as Newfoundland is known, I take a great interest in our province’s military history. My ancestor Gander served in the Second World War and received a Dickin Medal for bravery. I’m pretty proud of him.

To remember the sacrifices made during the First World War, the people of Newfoundland erected caribou statues at Beaumont-Hamel and five other sites in France, Belgium and Newfoundland. It is a special caribou trail of remembrance.

The caribou is an important symbol to the people of Newfoundland and Labrador. They are native animals there and can be found on the cap badge of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment as they symbolize the strength of its soldiers.

During the First World War, you could also find the caribou emblem on hockey sweaters and special pins that were sold at home to raise money to help the soldiers overseas. Caribous could also be seen engraved on the headstones of Newfoundlanders who died and on bronze memorial plaques. This tradition continues today as a recent project saw the Royal Newfoundland Regiment caribou added to more than three dozen street signs in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador’s capital city.

Animals as symbols of remembrance are a great choice. Bow wow! It makes me want to wag my tail!

Gandy the dog
Date modified:

Le caribou : il est partout!

Équipe de hockey du Royal Newfoundland Regiment en 1917.
Photo : The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, SANL 1.26.01.074

Je suis originaire du « Rocher », comme on surnomme Terre- Neuve, et je m’intéresse beaucoup à l’histoire militaire de la province. Mon ancêtre Gander a servi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et il a reçu la médaille Dickin pour ses actes de bravoure. J’en suis très fier.

Pour souligner les sacrifices faits durant la Première Guerre mondiale, les Terre-Neuviens ont érigé des statues de caribou à Beaumont-Hamel et à cinq autres endroits en France, en Belgique et à Terre-Neuve. C’est un parcours du Souvenir spécial.

Le caribou est un symbole important pour les gens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Cet animal y est commun et on peut voir un caribou sur l’insigne de la casquette des membres du Royal Newfoundland Regiment, car cela symbolise la force de ses soldats.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, un emblème de caribou se trouvait sur des chandails de hockey ainsi que sur des épinglettes spéciales qui étaient vendues au pays pour amasser de l’argent afin d’aider les soldats qui étaient au loin. Un caribou a aussi été gravé sur les pierres tombales des Terre-Neuviens qui sont morts au combat et sur des plaques commémoratives en bronze. Cette tradition se poursuit aujourd’hui : un projet récent consiste à placer le caribou du régiment terre-neuvien sur des dizaines de plaques de rue à St. John’s, capitale de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Les animaux sont un choix idéal à utiliser comme symboles du Souvenir. Je ne peux m’empêcher de remuer la queue en signe d’approbation!

Gandi le chien
Date de modification :