Tales of Animals in War Poster

Tales of Animals in War Poster

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

This poster for Tales of Animals in War features interesting and thought-provoking animal facts that you can read and discuss! Each character on the poster has a relative who served in war. Read their stories in the "Tales of Animals in War" newspaper to learn more about the information found in these fact files!

Pigeons

pigeon

During the wars, pigeons carried messages attached to their legs and went on planes and ships in case of an emergency to carry SOS messages back to base. They even wore tiny cameras sometimes to take pictures of enemy locations! More than 100,000 pigeons served in the First World War, and 200,000 served in the Second World War.

Elephants

elephant

Elephants were trained to repeat tasks like carrying and placing thick logs along a road or bridge. Their strength made them very useful in war construction projects, like in Burma (now Myanmar) where they were used to build roads and transport humans in the Second World War.

Cats

cat

Cats were often kept on ships during wars as mascots because they are hunters and kept down the rat population onboard. They adapted well to sea life and were easy to take care of, and they were good to cuddle when the seamen were sick, fearful or lonely.

Dogs

dog

Dogs were trained to serve in war as messengers by carrying secret notes and encoded documents in their collars. They also served as watch dogs; search-and-rescue dogs; "Para-dogs" (trained to parachute out of planes behind enemy lines); de-mining dogs (sniffing out land mines and other bombs); and man's best friend (providing love and comfort to their human companions).

Bears

bear

Bears were often regimental mascots because they shared love and affection with the men and women and they were believed to bring good luck to the soldiers. Winnie-the-bear (who inspired the character Winnie the Pooh) was a mascot in the First World War. Juno the Bear (named after D-Day, June 6, 1944, when Canadians came ashore on Juno Beach in France) is the official mascot of the Canadian Army.

Horses

horse

Horses served in war by carrying soldiers on their backs in battle, and by pulling weapons, cannons, supply sleds, ambulances and more. They were also loving mascots and companions to their human caregivers. They continue to serve in places like Afghanistan, where they carry water and food in the mountains where trucks and helicopters cannot go.

Date modified:

Affiche Histoires d'animaux à la guerre

L'affiche des Histoires d'animaux à la guerre

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
PDF Version

L'affiche des Histoires d'animaux à la guerre offre beaucoup d'intérêt et provoque la réflexion. Vous pouvez lire les fiches de renseignements sur les animaux et lancer une discussion! Chaque personnage de l'affiche a un parent qui a servi durant la guerre. Vous pouvez lire le journal « Histoires d'animaux à la guerre » pour compléter l'information fournie dans ces fiches.

Les pigeons

pigeon

En temps de guerre, les pigeons transportaient des messages attachés à leurs pattes, ramenaient des messages de détresse à la base à partir d'avions et de navires. Parfois même, ils étaient munis d'un petit appareil pour photographier les positions ennemies. Plus de 100 000 pigeons ont servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale et plus de 200 000 au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Les éléphants

éléphant

Les éléphants étaient dressés pour effectuer des tâches répétitives, comme le transport et le déchargement d'énormes rondins de bois le long des routes ou des ponts. Leur force les rendait très utiles pour les travaux de construction en temps de guerre; au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ils ont aidé à construire des routes et à transporter des humains en Birmanie (aujourd'hui, Myanmar).

Les chats

chat

En période de guerre, les marins avaient souvent des chats comme mascottes. Excellents chasseurs, ils aidaient à réduire de beaucoup le nombre de rats à bord des navires. Les chats s'adaptent bien à la vie en mer. Ils ont besoin de peu de soins et adorent se faire caresser, au grand réconfort des marins malades, secoués par la peur ou se sentant seuls.

Les chiens

chien

En temps de guerre, les chiens transportaient des documents secrets et codés attachés à leurs colliers. Ils étaient chiens de garde, chiens de recherche et de sauvetage, chiens parachutistes (pour sauter derrière les lignes ennemies), chiens démineurs (pour sentir les mines terrestres et autres bombes) et aussi le meilleur ami de l'homme (en offrant amour et réconfort à leurs compagnons humains).

Les ours

l'our

La mascotte d'un régiment était souvent un ours, car l'ours sait recevoir l'amour et l'affection des humains tout en leur rendant la pareille. De plus, l'ours était censé porter chance aux soldats. L'ourse Winnie (qui a inspiré les célèbres aventures de Winnie l'Ourson) a servi de mascotte au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. L'ours Juno (du nom de la plage en France où les soldats canadiens ont débarqué le 6 juin 1944) est la mascotte officielle de l'Armée canadienne.

Les chevaux

cheval

Au cours des guerres, les chevaux transportaient les soldats aux champs de bataille, déplaçaient des canons, tiraient des traîneaux de provisions, servaient d'ambulances et bien plus encore. Ils étaient des mascottes adorées et tenaient compagnie à leurs cavaliers. Aujourd'hui encore, on se sert de chevaux dans des endroits comme en Afghanistan, où ils transportent de l'eau et de la nourriture dans les montagnes, là où il est impossible de se rendre en camion ou en hélicoptère.

Date de modification :