Robert Edward Cruickshank

Robert Cruickshank was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on June 17, 1888. His family moved to England when Cruishank was very young. After leaving school, he worked as a salesman and joined the Territorial Army in 1908.

When the First World War broke out, Cruickshank volunteered for the Royal Flying Corps but transferred to the London Scottish Regiment. He was wounded in the Battle of the Somme in France before being sent to serve in the Middle East.

On May 1, 1918, Private Cruickshank’s platoon came under heavy fire east of the Jordan River in Palestine and sought cover in a ‘wadi’ (valley or dry river). With the men desperately needing assistance, he volunteered to deliver a message to company headquarters.

"The platoon to which Private Cruickshank belonged came under very heavy rifle and machine-gun fire at short range and was led down a steep bank into a wadi, most of the men being hit before they reached the bottom. Immediately after reaching the bottom of the wadi the officer in command was shot dead, and the sergeant who then took over command sent a runner back to Company Headquarters asking for support, but was mortally wounded almost immediately after; the corporal having in the meantime been killed, the only remaining N.C.O. (a lance-corporal), believing the first messenger to have been killed, called for a volunteer to take a second message back.

Private Cruickshank immediately responded and rushed up the slope, but was hit and rolled back into the wadi bottom. He again rose and rushed up the slope, but, being again wounded, rolled back into the wadi. After his wounds had been dressed he rushed a third time up the slope and again fell badly wounded. Being now unable to stand he rolled himself back amid a hail of bullets. His wounds were now of such a nature as to preclude him making any further attempt and he lay all day in a dangerous position, being sniped at and again wounded where he lay. He displayed the utmost valour and endurance, and was cheerful and uncomplaining throughout.”

- Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, June 21, 1916

Robert Edward Cruickshank

Robert Edward Cruickshank

Cruickshank survived and returned to England where he was hailed as a hero, receiving his Victoria Cross at Buckingham Palace on October 24, 1918. After the war, he returned to his career in sales and became very active in the British Legion. When the Second World War erupted, Cruickshank volunteered to serve in the Home Guard and reached the rank of Major.

Cruickshank died on August, 30 1961 and his ashes were interred at Glen Parva Parish Church, England.

Date modified:

Robert Edward Cruickshank

Robert Cruickshank est né à Winnipeg, Manitoba, le 17 juin 1888. Sa famille a déménagé en Angleterre alors que Robert n’était qu’un jeune enfant. Après ses études, il a travaillé comme vendeur puis il s’est joint à l’Armée territoriale en 1908.

Lorsque la Première Guerre mondiale éclata, Robert Cruickshank se porta volontaire auprès du Royal Flying Corps mais fut transféré au London Scottish Regiment. Il a été blessé durant la bataille de la Somme en France et, plus tard, il a été envoyé au Moyen-Orient.

Le 1er mai 1918, le peloton du soldat Cruickshank a été attaqué à l’est du Jourdain en Palestine et a cherché un abri dans un « wadi » (une vallée ou un cours d’eau à sec). Les hommes avaient désespérément besoin d’aide, Robert Cruickshank s’est porté volontaire pour aller porter un message au poste de commandement.

« Le peloton auquel le soldat Cruickshank est attaché s’est retrouvé sous des tirs nourris de carabines et de mitrailleuses à courte portée et il s’est retrouvé au fond d’un talus très escarpé dans un wadi; la plupart des hommes avaient été atteints avant d’arriver en bas. Immédiatement à son arrivée dans le fond du wadi, l’officier en charge a été tué, le sergent a alors pris le commandement et il a envoyé un messager au poste de commandement demandant du renfort, mais lui aussi fut mortellement atteint presque immédiatement; le caporal avait été tué entre temps, le seul sous-officier restant (un caporal suppléant), croyant que le premier messager avait été tué, demanda pour un volontaire pour apporter un deuxième message.

Le soldat Cruickshank a répondu immédiatement et il monta rapidement la pente, mais a été atteint d’une balle et il roula jusqu’au bas du wadi. Il se releva et monta rapidement de nouveau la pente, mais encore une fois il a été atteint d’une balle et roula au bas du wadi. Une fois ses blessures pansées, il monta pour une troisième fois la pente et, de nouveau, il tomba gravement blessé. N’étant pas capable de se relever, il se roula sous une pluie de tirs. Ses blessures étaient de nature à l’empêcher d’essayer à nouveau et il resta étendu toute la journée dans une position dangereuse où il a été atteint plusieurs fois de projectiles. Il démontra une vaillance et une endurance extrêmes , il demeura jovial et ne se plaigna jamais durant tout ce temps. »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, 21 juin 1918

Robert Edward Cruickshank

Robert Edward Cruickshank

Robert Cruickshank a survécu et il est retourné en Angleterre où il fut accueilli en héros. Le 24 octobre 1918, il a reçu la Croix de Victoria au palais de Buckingham. Après la guerre, il est retourné à son métier de vendeur et il a participé activement à la Légion britannique. Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale éclata, Robert Cruickshank se porta volontaire pour la défense du territoire (Home Guard) et il y a atteint le grade de major.

Robert Cruickshank est décédé le 30 août 1961 et ses cendres ont été enterrées à l’église paroissiale de Glen Parva, Angleterre.

Date de modification :