Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Alexander Roberts Dunn was born in what was then York, now Toronto, Ontario, on September 15, 1833, the first son of John Henry Dunn, Receiver-General of Upper Canada. He first attended Upper Canada College, in Ontario. Following the death of his mother, and after his father moved the family to England, he attended Harrow School.

In March 1852, Dunn joined the British Army's 11th (Prince Albert's Own) Hussars as a junior officer. At the outbreak of the Crimean War in 1854, the 11th Hussars were sent to Russia, to join other elements of the British Army and an allied force made up elements from France, the Kingdom of Sardinia and the Ottoman Empire.

Dunn, now a lieutenant, was in action on October 25, 1854, the day of the Battle of Balaclava, and took part in the infamous "Charge of The Light Brigade".

“For having in the Light Cavalry charge on the 25th October, 1854, saved the life of Serjeant Bentley, 11th Hussars, by cutting down two or three Russian Lancers who were attacking him from the rear, and afterwards cutting down a Russian Hussar, who was attacking Private Levett, 11th Hussars.”

- Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, February 24, 1857.

Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Dunn is considered the first Canadian to have been awarded the Victoria Cross. In fact, not only was he Canada’s first recipient, he was also the only officer to earn a Victoria Cross for bravery during the “Charge of The Light Brigade,” and among the very first group of recipients to be awarded the newly created medal, generally believed to be made from Russian cannons captured during the Crimean War.

Dunn sold out his commission at the end of the Crimean War, returned to Toronto in 1856, and began managing his family’s estate north of the city. However, the Indian Mutiny began in 1857, and Dunn helped organize the 100th (Prince of Wales’ Royal Canadian) Regiment of Foot, a British unit raised in Canada, and served as major.

In 1864, Dunn transferred to the 33rd Regiment of Foot and was promoted to the rank of colonel, becoming the first Canadian to command a British regiment and the youngest colonel, at the time, in the British Army. In 1868, Dunn and his regiment were sent to the Horn of Africa to take part in the Expedition to Abyssinia, more commonly known as Ethiopia.

Alexander Robert Dunn was killed on January 25, 1868, during a hunting expedition near Senafe, in present day Eritrea, in unusual circumstances, before the military part of the war had even begun. His grave site went largely forgotten until the last days of the Second World War, when it was found by a British officer. Apparently, the Italians, who were allied with Germany during the war and therefore fighting against the Canadian and British armies, had cared for Dunn's grave during the war years.

Dunn's burial site has been cared for since 1982 by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, but need repairs, carried out in 2001 by a group of Canadian Forces engineers from CFB Gagetown.

For nearly half a century, his medals were on display in the main hall of his old school, Upper Canada College, until 1977, when the school replaced the Victoria Cross with a copy and moved the original to a safety deposit box. Dunn's sword and field-chair are on display at the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa.

Date modified:

Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Alexander Roberts Dunn est né dans la ville de York (aujourd’hui Toronto) en Ontario le 15 septembre 1833. Il était le premier fils de John Henry Dunn, receveur général du Haut-Canada. Il a d’abord fréquenté le Upper Canada College, en Ontario. Après le décès de sa mère, et après que son père eut installé la famille en Angleterre, il a poursuivi ses études à la Harrow School.

En mars 1852, Alexander Roberts Dunn est entré au 11e Régiment de Hussards de l’Armée britannique (le régiment du Prince Albert) en tant qu’officier subalterne. Au début de la guerre de Crimée, en 1854, on envoya le 11e Régiment de Hussards en Russie afin qu’il rejoigne d’autres éléments de l’Armée britannique et une force alliée composée de soldats de la France, du royaume de Sardaigne et de l’Empire ottoman.

Alexander Roberts Dunn, maintenant promu lieutenant, était en service le 25 octobre 1854, date de la bataille de Balaclava, et a pris part à la tristement célèbre « charge de la brigade légère ».

« Pour avoir, pendant la charge de la brigade légère du 25 octobre 1854, sauvé la vie du sergent Bentley, 11e Régiment de Hussards, en mettant hors de combat deux ou trois lanciers russes qui l’attaquaient par derrière, et pour avoir ensuite sabré un hussard russe qui attaquait le Soldat Levett, du 11e Régiment de Hussards. »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, le 24 février 1857.

Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Lieutenant Alexander Roberts Dunn

Alexander Roberts Dunn est considéré comme le premier Canadien décoré de la Croix de Victoria. En fait, il fut non seulement le premier décoré, mais aussi le seul officier à mériter une Croix de Victoria pour bravoure pendant la « charge de la brigade légère ». De plus, il fait partie du tout premier groupe de décorés de cette médaille nouvellement créée, et dont on dit qu’elle était fabriquée avec le métal des canons russes saisis pendant la guerre de Crimée.

À la fin de la guerre de Crimée, Alexander Roberts Dunn vendit sa commission. Il retourna à Toronto en 1856 et entreprit de gérer le domaine de sa famille au nord de la ville. Toutefois, la mutinerie en Inde débuta en 1857, et Alexander Roberts Dunn aida à organiser le 100e régiment de Fantassins (régiment canadien royal du Prince de Galles), unité britannique créée au Canada, et servit à titre de major.

En 1864, Alexander Roberts Dunn fut transféré au 33e Régiment de fantassins et promu colonel, devenant ainsi le premier Canadien à commander un régiment britannique et le plus jeune colonel de l’Armée britannique de l’époque. En 1868, on envoya Alexander Roberts Dunn et son régiment à la Corne de l’Afrique afin qu’ils se joignent à l’expédition vers l’Abyssinie, plus couramment connue sous le nom d’Éthiopie.

Alexander Roberts Dunn a été tué le 25 janvier 1868 pendant une expédition de chasse près de Senafe (aujourd’hui l’Érythrée), dans des circonstances mystérieuses, avant même que les manoeuvres militaires de la guerre ne débutent. Le lieu de sa sépulture sombra largement dans l’oubli jusqu’à ce qu’un soldat britannique le découvre aux derniers jours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Apparemment, les Italiens, alliés de l’Allemagne pendant la guerre, et donc ennemis des armées canadiennes et britanniques, avaient assuré l’entretien de la tombe d’Alexander Roberts Dunn pendant les années de guerre.

Depuis 1982, la Commonwealth War Graves Commission entretient la tombe du Lieutenant Dunn. En 2001, toutefois, comme la sépulture n’était pas en très bon état, un groupe d’ingénieurs des Forces canadiennes de la BFC Gagetown s’est chargé de sa restauration.

Pendant près d’un demi-siècle, les médailles d’Alexander Roberts Dunn ont été exposées dans le hall principal de son ancienne école, l’Upper Canada College. En 1977, les autorités de l’établissement scolaires ont remplacé la Croix de Victoria par une copie et ont transféré l’originale dans un coffret de sûreté. L’épée et la chaise de campagne d’Alexander Roberts Dunn sont exposées au Musée canadien de la guerre d’Ottawa.

Date de modification :