Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency was born on February 5, 1867, in Montreal, Québec, the eldest son of Raymond Harvey de Montmorency, 3rd Viscount Frankfort de Montmorency, and his wife, Rachel, the daughter of Field Marshal Sir John Michel. a major-general in the British Army. De Montmorency - the father - served in the Crimean War (1854-5), the Indian Mutiny (1857-8), and the Anglo-Abyssinian War of 1868, attaining the rank of major-general.

Very little is known about de Montmorency’s years in Canada. He was educated at Malborough College in Wiltshire, England, then attended the Royal Military College, from which he graduated in 1887 before joining the Lincolnshire Regiment in September of the same year. He was promoted to lieutenant with the 21st Lancers in November 1889, then appointed adjutant in of the 21st Lancers in 1893.

While still a lieutenant, de Montmorency served during the Sudan Campaign (1881-1899), and was in action during the Battle of Omdurman (also known as the Battle of Khartoum of 1898, to avoid confusion with the Battle or Siege of Khartoum of 1884-85), on September 2, 1898.

Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

"At the Battle of Khartum on the 2nd September, 1898, Lieutenant de Montmorency, after the charge of the 21st Lancers, returned to assist Second Lieutenant R. G. Grenfell, who was lying surrounded by a large body of Dervishes. Lieutenant de Montmorency drove the Dervishes off, and, finding Lieutenant Grenfell dead, put the body on his horse which broke away. Captain Kenna and Corporal Swarbrick then came to his assistance, and enabled him to rejoin the Regiment, which had begun to open a heavy fire on the enemy."

- Victoria Cross citation, The London Gazette, November 15, 1898.

Aside from the Victoria Cross, de Montmorency was further awarded the Khedive’s Sudan Medal, with clasp. He was also mentioned in despatches. In August 1898, de Montmorency was promoted to Captain. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the famed British author and creator of Sherlock Holmes, called de Montmorency "one of the most promising of the younger officers of the British Army."

Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency was killed in action on February 23, 1900, during the Battle of Stormberg, in Dordrecht, Cape Colony, South Africa, during the Boer War of 1899 to 1902 (a.k.a. the South African War). He is buried in Molteno Cemetery in Dordrecht, Eastern Cape Province, South Africa.

21st Lancers cap badge

21st Lancers cap badge

Date modified:

Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency est né le 5 février 1867, à Montréal, au Québec. Il était le fils aîné de Raymond Harvey de Montmorency, 3e vicomte Frankfort de Montmorency, et de Rachel, son épouse, fille du Feld-maréchal Sir John Michel, major-général au sein de l’Armée britannique. De Montmorency – père – a servi pendant la guerre de Crimée (1854-1855), la Rébellion de l’Inde (1857-1858) et la guerre anglo-éthiopienne de 1868, gravissant les échelons jusqu’au grade de major-général.

Très peu est connu au sujet des années que Montmorency a passées au Canada. Il a fait ses études au Malborough College, dans le Wiltshire, en Angleterre, puis a étudié au Collège militaire royal, où il a obtenu son diplôme en 1887, avant de se joindre au Lincolnshire Regiment en septembre de la même année. Il a été promu au grade de lieutenant au sein du régiment Lincolnshire Regiment en novembre 1889, avant d’être nommé capitaine-adjudant au sein de ce même régiment en 1893.

Alors qu’il était encore lieutenant, de Montmorency a servi durant la campagne du Soudan (1881-1899) et a combattu pendant la bataille d’Omdurman (également connue sous le nom de bataille de Khartoum de 1898, pour éviter de la confondre avec la bataille ou Siège de Khartoum de 1884-1885), le 2 septembre 1898.

Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

Lieutenant Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency

« Le 2 septembre 1898, lors de la bataille de Khartoum, le Lieutenant de Montmorency, après une charge du régiment Lincolnshire Regiment, est retourné auprès du Sous-lieutenant R. G. Grenfell, qui était étendu sur le sol, entouré par un grand nombre de derviches. Le Lieutenant de Montmorency, après avoir repoussé les derviches et constaté que le sous-lieutenant avait perdu la vie, il a hissé son corps sur sa monture qui s’est emballée. Le Capitaine Kenna et le Caporal Swarbrick sont alors venus à son aide, ce qui lui a permis de regagner son régiment, qui avait commencé à lancer des tirs nourris sur l’ennemi. »

- Citation pour la Croix de Victoria, parue dans The London Gazette, le 15 novembre 1898.

En plus d’avoir reçu la Croix de Victoria, de Montmorency a plus tard obtenu la Médaille du Soudan, avec barrette, décernée par le khédive. Il a également été mentionné dans des dépêches. En août 1898, de Montmorency a été promu au grade de capitaine. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, le célèbre auteur britannique et créateur de Sherlock Holmes, a appelé de Montmorency « un des jeunes officiers les plus prometteurs de l’Armée britannique ».

Raymond Harvey Lodge Joseph de Montmorency a été tué au combat le 23 février 1900, au cours de la bataille de Stormberg, à Dordrecht, dans la colonie du Cap, en Afrique du Sud, pendant la Guerre des Boers de 1899 à 1902 (appelée aussi Guerre d’Afrique du Sud). Il est enterré au cimetière de Molteno, à Dordrecht, dans la province Est du Cap, en Afrique du Sud.

Insigne de casquette du 21e Lancers

Insigne de casquette du 21e Lancers

Date de modification :