Cassino Memorial

The Cassino Memorial commemorates more than 4,000 Commonwealth service members who lost their lives during the Second World War’s Italian campaign and whose final resting places are unknown.

Cassino, Frosinone, Italy

Share:

Second World War

Visitor Information

SP76, 03043 Cassino FR, Italy

The Cassino Memorial is open 24 hours a day.

Cassino War Cemetery

Originally selected for a war cemetery in January 1944, the site was impossible to use until the fighting in this region subsided, as it did when the Germans withdrew five months later. As the area saw some of the fiercest action among the battles of the Italian campaign, the Cassino War Cemetery is the second largest Second World War cemetery in Italy. More than 4,200 Commonwealth graves are located here, of which 200 are unknown and 855 are Canadian, including seven pilots, most of whom fell in the during the Allied attempts in the first half of 1944 to breach the Adolf Hitler Line and advance to Rome.

Cassino Memorial

The Cassino Memorial commemorates more than 4,000 Commonwealth war dead of the Sicilian and Italian campaigns who have no known grave. The names of 193 Canadians are inscribed on its 15-foot high slabs of green marble.

A place of honour and beauty

Cassino Memorial and Cassino War Cemetery lie in the Commune of Cassino, Province of Frosinone, 139 kilometres south east of Rome. It is situated in the valley of the River Liri immediately below the southern spurs of the central Apennines. Above it a distance of one kilometre is the dominating hill on which stands the Abbey of Monte Cassino, founded by St. Benedict in the year 529 on the site of an ancient temple of Apollo.

Date modified:

Monument commémoratif de Cassino

Le Monument commémoratif de Cassino rend hommage à plus de 4 000 militaires du Commonwealth qui ont pris part à la campagne d’Italie et dont les tombes sont inconnues.

Cassino, Frosinone, Italie

Partager :

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Information pour les visiteurs

SP76, 03043 Cassino FR, Italy

Le Monument commémoratif de Cassino est ouvert 24 heures par jour.

Cimetière de guerre de Cassino

Le site fut choisi à l’origine comme cimetière de guerre en janvier 1944, mais il était impossible de l’utiliser avant la fin des combats qui se déroulaient dans cette région, ce qui se produisit lorsque les Allemands se retirèrent cinq mois plus tard. Comme c’est à cet endroit qu’eurent lieu quelques uns des plus féroces combats de toute la campagne d’Italie, le cimetière de guerre de Cassino est le deuxième plus grand cimetière de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Italie. Il compte plus de 4 200 sépultures dont 200 ne sont pas identifiées et 855 sont celles de Canadiens, y compris sept pilotes, dont la plupart ont péri lors des tentatives effectuées par les Alliées au cours de la première moitié de 1944 pour percer la ligne Adolf Hitler et avancer vers Rome.

Monument commémoratif de Cassino

Composé de blocs de marbre vert de 15 pieds, le Monument commémoratif de Cassino rend hommage à plus de 4 000 membres du Commonwealth qui sont morts au cours des campagnes d’Italie et de Sicile, mais qui n’ont aucune sépulture connue. Les noms de 193 Canadiens sont gravés sur les blocs de marbre vert de 15 pieds.

Un lieu d’honneur et de beauté

Le Monument commémoratif de Cassino et le cimetière de guerre de Cassino se trouvent dans la commune de Cassino, dans la province de Frosinone, à 139 kilomètres au sud est de Rome. Il est situé dans la vallée de la rivière Liri immédiatement en dessous des éperons se trouvant au sud de l’Apennin central. Plus bas, à un kilomètre, se dresse la colline où est érigée l’abbaye du mont Cassin, fondée par St. Benedict en l’an 529 sur le site d’un ancien temple d’Apollon.

Date de modification :