Language selection

Sgt. Tommy Prince Memorial

Municipality/Province: Winnipeg, MB

Memorial Number: 46009-037

Type: Bronze bust and granite shaft

Address: Pequis and Lord Selkirk Drives

Location: Kildonan Park, near Prairie's Edge Restaurant

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 49.9443243   Long: -97.1051351

Contributor: Tamara Wally

The Sgt. Tommy Prince Memorial, unveiled by the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry and the Lord Selkirk Association of Rupert's Land on 11 November 1989, is dedicated to the memory of Sergeant Thomas (Tommy) George Prince, soldier with the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry and winner of the Military Medal. The life-sized bronze bust of Tommy in military uniform and a beret, sits on a tall limestone block. The bust was sculpted by Otakar Pavlik. A statue of his great-great-grandfather, Chief Peguis is just a few steps away.

Sgt. Tommy Prince, the most decorated Indigenous Canadian Second World War Veteran, began his overseas service as a Sapper with the Canadian 1st Corps Field Park, Royal Canadian Engineers. Returning to Canada after some two years overseas with the Engineers, Tommy Prince was transferred to the Canadian Parachute Battalion and commenced training with the 1st Canadian Special Service Battalion. After training, he returned to Europe with the Special Service Force that came to be known by the Germans as the “Devil’s Brigade.”

In early February 1944, during a reconnaissance patrol in Italy, Sgt Prince was able to penetrate deep into enemy positions and report for several days. His courage and disregard for personal safety won him the Military Medal. In France during September 1944, Sgt Prince located the gun sites and encampment area of an enemy reserve battalion. Under most difficult circumstances, he reported back with the information and guided his brigade to capture over a thousand German soldiers. For these acts, he earned the Silver Star, an American army decoration for gallantry in action. Sergeant Tommy Prince was decorated by King George VI at Buckingham Palace with both the Military Medal and the Silver Star with ribbon on behalf of President Roosevelt. Prince was one of only 59 Canadians who were awarded the Silver Star during the Second World War and only three Canadians of this group also possessed the Military Medal.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

TOMMY PRINCE
DESCENDANT OF CHIEF PEGIUS

THOMAS GEORGE PRINCE

MILITARY MEDAL - SILVER STAR
OCTOBER 1915 - NOVEMBER 1977

PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY
1ST CANADIAN PARACHUTE BATTALION
1ST SPECIAL SERVICE FORCE

ALEUTIANS - ITALY - FRANCE
GERMANY - KOREA

TAKE THESE MEN, THEN, AS YOUR EXAMPLE,
LIKE THEM
REMEMBER THAT PROSPERITY
CAN BE ONLY FOR THE FREE.
THAT FREEDOM IS THE PURE POSSESSION
OF THOSE ALONE
WHO HAVE THE COURAGE TO DEFEND IT.

PLACED IN THE MEMORY OF SERGEANT TOMMY PRINCE
BY
THE OFFICERS AND MEN
OF
PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY

SCULPTOR OTAKAR PAVLIK

ERECTED UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE LORD SELKIRK ASSOCIATION OF RUPERT'S LAND
NOVEMBER 11, 1989

Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument commémoratif du sergent Tommy Prince

Ville/Province : Winnipeg, MB

Numéro du monument : 46009-037

Type : Buste de bronze et socle de granit

Adresse : 2021, rue Main

Lieu : Parc Kildonan

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 49.9443243   Long: -97.1051351

Collaborateur : Tamara Wally

Le monument commémoratif du sergent Tommy Prince, dévoilé le 11 novembre 1989 par le Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry et la Lord Selkirk Association of Rupert's Land, est dédié à la mémoire du sergent Thomas (Tommy) George Prince, militaire du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry et décoré de la Médaille militaire. Le buste est l'oeuvre du sculpteur Otakar Pavlik. Le buste en bronze grandeur nature de Tommy en uniforme militaire et avec son béret, repose sur un haut bloc de calcaire. Otakar Pavlik a sculpté le buste. Une statue de son arrière-arrière-grand-père, le chef Peguis, se trouve à quelques pas de là.

Le sergent Tommy Prince, l’ancien combattant autochtone de la Seconde Guerre mondiale le plus décoré, a débuté son service outre-mer à titre de sapeur dans la 1re Compagnie du parc du génie de campagne, GRC. De retour au Canada après deux ans passés outre-mer avec le Génie, Tommy Prince a été muté au Bataillon de parachutistes canadien et a commencé son entraînement dans le 1er Bataillon canadien de service spécial. Après sa formation, il est retourné en Europe avec la Force du service spécial, qui fut connue des Allemands sous le nom de « Brigade du diable ».

En Italie, au début de février 1944, lors d’une patrouille de reconnaissance, le sergent Prince est parvenu à percer profondément les positions ennemies et à faire rapport pendant plusieurs jours. Son courage et son mépris de sa sécurité personnelle lui ont valu la Médaille militaire. Plus tard en septembre 1944, en France, le sergent a repéré l’emplacement des canons et du camp d’un bataillon de réserve ennemi. Dans des circonstances tout particulièrement difficiles, il est parvenu à transmettre les renseignements et a conduit la brigade à la capture de plus d’un millier de soldats allemands. Pour ces actes, on lui a décerné la Silver Star, une décoration militaire américaine remise pour bravoure au combat. Au palais de Buckingham, le roi Georges VI lui a remis la Médaille militaire et la Silver Star avec ruban au nom du président Roosevelt. Prince a été un des 59 Canadiens à recevoir la Silver Star pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et seuls trois Canadiens de ce groupe ont également reçu la Médaille militaire. 

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

TOMMY PRINCE
DESCENDANT OF CHIEF PEGIUS

THOMAS GEORGE PRINCE

MILITARY MEDAL - SILVER STAR
OCTOBER 1915 - NOVEMBER 1977

PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY
1ST CANADIAN PARACHUTE BATTALION
1ST SPECIAL SERVICE FORCE

ALEUTIANS - ITALY - FRANCE
GERMANY - KOREA

TAKE THESE MEN, THEN, AS YOUR EXAMPLE,
LIKE THEM
REMEMBER THAT PROSPERITY
CAN BE ONLY FOR THE FREE.
THAT FREEDOM IS THE PURE POSSESSION
OF THOSE ALONE
WHO HAVE THE COURAGE TO DEFEND IT.

PLACED IN THE MEMORY OF SERGEANT TOMMY PRINCE
BY
THE OFFICERS AND MEN
OF
PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY

SCULPTOR OTAKAR PAVLIK

ERECTED UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE LORD SELKIRK ASSOCIATION OF RUPERT'S LAND
NOVEMBER 11, 1989

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :