Halifax Memorial

  • Halifax (Sailors’) Memorial Cross of Sacrifice bedecked with poppies after Remembrance Day ceremony.
    (Click for more images)
  • Photo held by the Naval Museum of Halifax, Canadian Forces Base Halifax.  Canadian Forces photograph negative number SW81-770-2, by Master Corporal Clarke.
  • front
  • aerial view

Municipality/Province: Halifax, NS

Memorial Number: 12004-008

Type: Granite cross and base

Location: Point Pleasant Park

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 44.61909   Long: -63.56549

Photo Credit: Canadian Forces/Forces canadiennes

The Halifax Memorial was built by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission and the Government of Canada. It commemorates 3,267 Canadian and Newfoundland sailors and soldiers who lost their lives in the First and Second World Wars, and who were formerly commemorated by a memorial standing on Citadel Hill, Halifax.

When it became apparent that the old memorial had deteriorated to the extent that it was unworthy of its purpose of commemorating Canadian war dead, it was demolished. The panels upon which the names of the war dead were inscribed were consigned to the sea with appropriate ceremony of 7 November 1966.

The new memorial consist of a great granite Cross of Sacrifice twelve metres high, similar in design to those in the Commission war cemeteries around the world. The cross is mounted on a large granite podium bearing panels of bronze upon which are inscribed the names of those whose graves are at sea.

Following the First World War, Canada and New Zealand requested that the commemoration of their dead, lost at sea, should be in their respective countries. The original Halifax Memorial was built in 1924 and upon it were inscribed the names of 415 sailors, all but 41 of the Canadian war dead “missing, presumed lost” at sea.  The 41 were lost in the Pacific Ocean and their names are inscribed on the Victoria Memorial, Ross Bay Cemetery, Victoria, British Columbia.

After the Second World War the names of 2,852 Canadian sailors and soldiers lost at sea in that war were added to the Halifax Memorial. A special section was also included for the sailors of the Newfoundland Merchant Navy who between 3 September 1939 and 31 December 1947 went to sea never to return.  The ‘missing’ sailors and soldiers of the First World War are commemorated on the Beaumont-Hamel memorial in France.

Canadians and Newfoundlanders who served in the Royal Navy and who were lost at sea are commemorated with their Commonwealth comrades on the great memorials at Chatham, Portsmouth, Plymouth, Lowestoft, Liverpool and Lee-on-Solent in England.

Her Majesty’s Canadian Ships and visiting warships when entering or leaving Halifax Harbour and passing the Halifax Memorial between Colours (0800 hours daily) and sunset ‛pipe the still’ to render honours.

(Adapted from the Order of Ceremony at the Unveiling of the Halifax Memorial, 12 November 1967.)

Directions

This Memorial in Nova Scotia's capital, is erected in Point Pleasant Park. The Park is located on the southern tip of the Halifax peninsula with Halifax harbour to the left. From South Street take Tower Road to Point Pleasant Drive.

 

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

1914        1939
1918        1945

IN THE HONOUR OF THE MEN
AND WOMEN OF THE NAVY, ARMY
AND MERCHANT NAVY OF CANADA
WHOSE NAMES ARE INSCRIBED HERE
THEIR GRAVES ARE UNKNOWN
BUT THEIR MEMORY SHALL ENDURE

Date modified:

Monument commémoratif d'Halifax

Hidden photo gallery

  • La Croix du Sacrifice du monument commémoratif (des marins) de Halifax ornée de coquelicots après la cérémonie du jour du Souvenir.
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • Photo du Musée naval d’Halifax, Base des Forces canadiennes Halifax. Numéro de négatif octroyé par les Forces canadiennes SW81 770-2, par le caporal-chef Clarke.
  • devant
  • vue des airs

Ville/Province : Halifax, NS

Numéro du monument : 12004-008

Type : Croix et base en granite

Lieu : Parc Point Pleasant

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 44.61909   Long: -63.56549

Le monument commémoratif de Halifax a été érigé par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth et le gouvernement du Canada. Il rend hommage aux 3 267 marins et soldats canadiens et terre‑neuviens qui ont perdu la vie au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et dont le sacrifice était auparavant commémoré par un monument érigé sur la Citadelle d’Halifax.  

L’ancien monument commémoratif fut démoli lorsqu’il est devenu évident que son état s’était détérioré à un point tel qu’il devenait indigne de le conserver pour rendre hommage aux Canadiens morts à la guerre. Les panneaux sur lesquels étaient inscrits les noms des Canadiens et Canadiennes morts à la guerre furent confiés à la mer à l’occasion d’une cérémonie spéciale organisée le 7 novembre 1966.

Le nouveau monument est composé d’une grande Croix du Sacrifice en granit de douze mètres de haut, conçue selon le modèle utilisé pour les cimetières de guerre de la Commission partout dans le monde. La croix est montée sur une grande plateforme de granit portant des panneaux de bronze sur lesquels sont gravés les noms des Canadiens et Canadiennes dont les sépultures avaient été confiées à la mer.

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, le Canada et la Nouvelle‑Zélande ont demandé à ce que la mémoire de leurs compatriotes morts et disparus en mer soit commémorée dans leurs pays respectifs. Sur le premier monument commémoratif de Halifax construit en 1924 étaient gravés les noms de 415 marins, tous morts à la guerre, « disparus et présumés perdus » en mer, à l’exception de 41 d’entre eux. Ces derniers avaient perdu la vie dans l’océan Pacifique et leurs noms ont été gravés sur le monument commémoratif de Victoria situé dans le cimetière de Ross Bay, à Victoria, en Colombie‑Britannique. 

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les noms de 2 852 marins et soldats canadiens disparus en mer durant cette guerre ont été ajoutés au monument commémoratif de Halifax. Une section spéciale a également été ajoutée pour les marins de la marine marchande de Terre‑Neuve qui ne revinrent jamais de leurs expéditions en mer effectuées entre le 3 septembre 1939 et le 31 décembre 1947. Les noms des marins et soldats portés « disparus » lors de la Première Guerre mondiale sont commémorés sur le Mémorial de Beaumont‑Hamel, en France.    

Les noms des Canadiens et Terre‑Neuviens ayant servi dans la Marine royale et disparus en mer sont commémorés avec ceux de leurs camarades du Commonwealth sur de grands monuments commémoratifs érigés à Chatham, Portsmouth, Plymouth, Lowestoft, Liverpool et Lee‑on‑Solent, en Angleterre.

Les Navires canadiens de Sa Majesté et les bâtiments de guerre de passage lorsqu’ils entrent au port d’Halifax ou en sortent et passent devant le monument commémoratif de Halifax rendent les honneurs en hissant les couleurs (8 h chaque jour) ou par l’usage du sifflet de manœuvre au coucher du soleil.

(Adapté du programme des cérémonies organisé lors de l’inauguration du monument commémoratif de Halifax, le 12 novembre 1967.)

Directions

Ce monument commémoratif est érigé au parc de Point Pleasant, dans la capitale de la Nouvelle‑Écosse. Le parc est situé à l’extrémité sud de la péninsule d’Halifax, dont le port se trouve sur la gauche. De la rue South, prenez le chemin Tower jusqu’à la promenade Point Pleasant.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

1914        1939
1918        1945

IN THE HONOUR OF THE MEN
AND WOMEN OF THE NAVY, ARMY
AND MERCHANT NAVY OF CANADA
WHOSE NAMES ARE INSCRIBED HERE
THEIR GRAVES ARE UNKNOWN
BUT THEIR MEMORY SHALL ENDURE

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :