Mountain View Cemetery

Municipality/Province: Vancouver, BC

Memorial Number: 59029-003

Type: Cross

Address: 5455 Fraser Street; between 31st and 43rd Avenues

Location: Mountain View Cemetery

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 49.235472   Long: -123.092639

Contributor: Julie Clements

Photo Credit: Julie Clements

Mountain View Cemetery is the oldest cemetery in the Vancouver Metropolitan area. It began operation in 1887, with the acquisition of a parcel of land now known as the "Old Cemetery". It is bounded on the east by Fraser Street, on the south by 37th Avenue, on the north by 33rd Avenue, and on the west by a row of tall trees which today stand well within the present boundaries of the site.

In 1901, land north of this was purchased from the Horne Family, and became known as the "Horne 1" Addition. Land to the south, comprising the Jones Farm, was added in 1910 and is designated as the "Jones 1" and "Jones 2" Additions. The "Horne 2" Addition, adjoining "Horne 1" on the west, was acquired in 1922.

In 1919, a tract bound by 41st Avenue and 43rd Avenue was added. Known as the "1919" Addition, it accommodates many of the victims of the 1917-1919 flue epidemic, as well as the victims of a 1920s B.C. Coast shipwreck ( The Sophia).

The last addition was added on the western boundary in 1941 and is known as the "Abray Park" Addition, taking its name from a squatter who occupied an orchard and grazed cows in the area until the land was included in the cemetery.

The total acreage is now 105 acres and approximately 130,000 bodies have been interred here. Multiple burial is permitted and in many cases, husband and wife are interred in the same grave. In the past, persons unable to pay, followed the same practice of two bodies to a grave. More recently, burials of indigents are single burials.

In the Old Cemetery, the City set aside a block of graves in the Jones Addition for burial of deceased ex-service personnel. Most of the graves in this block are those of the young men who returned to Canada following service in France and subsequently died of their wounds. Other blocks of graves were reserved in later years for servicemen in Horne 2 and also in Abray Park.

Perpetual maintenance of the graves is a relatively recent innovation. In the past, there was no requirement that the family purchasing a grave, had to provide care for it. Consequently, even as late as the 1950s, large tracts were cared for only by scything of the grass. At that time, the cemetery supported a thriving population of pheasants, raccoons, snakes and other small forms of wildlife.

As the cemetery became crowded, most of the trees which once provided a park-like atmosphere, were removed. Pathways were used for new graves and restrictions were placed on the types of monuments erected in order to facilitate easy care. Vandalism is prevalent and many of the loveliest old monuments have been broken and later removed.

In the early years of development, special agreements were entered into with a number of fraternal organizations for burial of their deceased members and their families. Under these agreements, blocks of graves were set aside in the Jones Addition for the Masonic Order (Ancient Free and Accepted Masons), the Oddfellows, the Ancient Order of Forresters, and the Knights of Pythias These graves are easily identifiable by the engraved insignia of the various organizations.

In the Old Cemetery, in years gone by, it became the custom for families from the Chinese Community to choose grave sites next to those of other Chinese families and so a large block of graves grew up in this manner. The Community acquired a block of sixteen grave sites and built a Chinese Buddhist Shrine.

Until the time of the Peoples Revolution in the Republic of China, it was the custom to disinter a body after ten years and ship the bones home to be reburied in China. However, the Communists refused to accept such shipments, and the practice was discontinued around 1950. This means however, that there is no longer any cemetery record of the hundreds of burials which took place prior to this time because the grave markers were discarded when the bodies were disinterred.

Similarly, a block of Japanese graves developed next to the Chinese and a Shrine-style monument also erected. Again by custom, a group of Russian graves developed in Horne 2 and are easily identified by the distinctive three-barred cross of the Russian Orthodox Church and the Russian script of the epitaphs. Next to the Russian, a large block of Italian graves grew up and nearby, a few Greek graves appeared.

Epitaphs are very few in number and inscriptions on the graves are usually solemn and brief. "Rest in Peace" or the more pretentious "Requiescat Pace" are common, as is "IHS" (In His Service).

Directions

The Cemetery is located on the west side of Fraser Street from 31st to 41st Avenues. It is bounded on the east by Fraser Street, on the south by 37th Avenue, on the north by 33rd Avenue, and on the west by a row of tall trees which today stand well within the present boudaries of the site.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[front/devant]

TO THE
MEMORY
OF THOSE WHO
DIED FOR KING
AND COUNTRY
IN THE
GREAT WAR
1914-1919

[back/arrière]
THEIR NAME
LIVETH
FOR
EVERMORE

Date modified:

Le cimetière Mountain View

Hidden photo gallery

Ville/Province : Vancouver, BC

Numéro du monument : 59029-003

Type : Croix

Adresse : Rue Fraser, 5455; entre la 31e et la 43e Avenue

Lieu : Cimetière Mountain View

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 49.235472   Long: -123.092639

Collaborateur : Julie Clements

Le Cimetière Mountain View est le plus ancien cimetière de la région métropolitaine de Vancouver. Sa création remonte à 1887, avec l'achat d'un parcelle de terre maintenant connue sous le nom de « Vieux cimetière ». Il s'inscrit dans un quadrilatère délimité à l'est par la rue Fraser, au sud par la 37e Avenue, au nord par la 33e Avenue et à l'ouest par une rangée d'arbres matures qui se marient bien aujourd'hui avec les limites actuelles du site.

En 1901, on a acheté de la famille Horne le terrain se trouvant au nord de cet emplacement. Il s'agissait de la section « Horne 1 ». Le terrain situé au sud et qui englobait la ferme des Jones a été obtenu en 1910 et a été baptisé le « Jones 1 » et le « Jones 2 ». Quant à la section « Horne 2 », contigüe au « Horne 1 » à l'ouest, elle a été obtenue en 1922.

En 1919, un lopin de terre limité par la 41e Avenue et la 43e Avenue est venu se greffer aux autres terrains. Il s'agissait de la section « 1919 ». Bon nombre des victimes de l'épidémie de grippe de 1917-1919 y ont été inhumées de même que les victimes du naufrage du navire The Sophia survenu en 1920 sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique.

En 1941, on ajoute au cimetière son dernier élément, le « Parc Abray », à la limite ouest. Ce parc a été baptisé ainsi pour évoquer les squatters qui occupaient un verger et qui faisaient paître leurs vaches dans la région jusqu'au moment de l'annexion du terrain au cimetière.

Le cimetière couvre maintenant une superficie totale de 105 acres. Quelque 130 000 corps y sont inhumés. Les sépultures multiples y sont permises et il arrive bien souvent que les conjoints partagent la même tombe. Autrefois, il en allait ainsi pour les personnes sans le sou mais depuis peu, les personnes indigentes ont droit à une sépulture unique.

Dans le Vieux cimetière, la ville réserve une série de tombes, dans la section Jones, à l'intention des anciens combattants décédés. Il s'agit pour la plupart de jeunes gens qui sont rentrés au Canada à la fin de leur service en France et qui ont succombé à leurs blessures. D'autres tombes ont été ultérieurement réservées aux militaires dans la section Horne 2 ainsi que dans le Parc Abray.

On procède depuis assez peu de temps à l'entretien régulier du cimetière. Autrefois, les familles qui achetaient une tombe n'étaient en effet pas tenues de s'en occuper. C'est ainsi que même à la fin des années 1950, on se contentait bien souvent de faucher l'herbe. À cette époque, les faisans, les ratons laveurs, les serpents et d'autres petites animaux sauvages peuplaient le cimetière.

Avec l'augmentation du nombre de sépultures, on a dû couper la plupart des arbres qui conférait au cimetière une allure de parc, et les allées ont cédé la place à des tombes. On a imposé des restrictions quant aux types de monuments dans le but de faciliter l'entretien. Les actes de vandalisme sont courants et bon nombre des anciens monuments comptant parmi les plus beaux ont été brisés, et plus tard enlevés.

Dans les premiers temps, des ententes spéciales avaient été conclues avec certaines organisations d'aide mutuelle afin que leurs membres et leur famille puissent être inhumés au Mountain View. En vertu de ces ententes, certaines sections du cimetière avaient été réservées dans la section Jones pour l'Ordre maçonnique (anciens francs-maçons reconnus), les Oddfellows, les Ancient Order of Forresters et les Knights of Pythias. Ces tombes sont facilement identifiables à l'emblème des différentes organisations qui y est gravé.

Dans le Vieux cimetière, il y a de cela plusieurs années, les familles chinoises avaient l'habitude de choisir des emplacements qui se trouvaient à proximité de ceux d'autres familles chinoises. C'est ainsi qu'un grand nombre de tombes ont été regroupées. La communauté chinoise a ainsi fait l'acquisition de seize emplacements et a érigé un temple bouddhiste.

Jusqu'à la fin de la révolution populaire en Chine, la tradition voulait qu'on exhume un corps enterré depuis dix ans et qu'on envoie les os afin qu'ils soient mis en terre en Chine. Les Communistes ont toutefois refusé d'accepter ces envois, et la pratique a cessé aux environs des années 1950. C'est ainsi que plus aucun registre ne fait état des centaines d'inhumations qui ont eu lieu avant cette époque, les pierres tombales ayant été enlevées au moment de l'exhumation des corps.

Les Japonais ont eux aussi regroupé leurs disparus dans une section du cimetière, à côté de celle des Chinois, où ils ont érigé un monument à l'allure d'un temple. Toujours au nom de la tradition, les Russes ont eux aussi une section, dans le Horne 2. La croix à trois barres, emblème distinctif de l'église orthodoxe russe, ainsi que le texte rédigé en russe sur les épitaphes permettent d'identifier facilement ces tombes. À côté de la section russe s'étend une vaste section réservée aux Italiens et, à proximité, on peut voir quelques tombes de membres de la communauté grecque.

Les épitaphes sont peu nombreuses et les inscriptions sur les tombes sont en générales solennelles et concises. On peut généralement y lire « Repose en paix » ou, la plus pompeuse, « Requiescat Pace » ainsi que « IHS » (In His Service).

Indications routières

Le cimetière se trouve du côté ouest de la rue Fraser, entre la 31e Avenue et la 41e Avenue. Il s'inscrit dans un quadrilatère délimité à l'est par la rue Fraser, au sud par la 37e Avenue, au nord par la 33e Avenue et à l'ouest par une rangée d'arbres matures qui se marient bien aujourd'hui avec les limites actuelles du site.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[front/devant]

TO THE
MEMORY
OF THOSE WHO
DIED FOR KING
AND COUNTRY
IN THE
GREAT WAR
1914-1919

[back/arrière]
THEIR NAME
LIVETH
FOR
EVERMORE

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :