Language selection

Colborne Second World War Cenotaph

Hidden photo gallery

  • surroundings
    (Click for more images)
  • front
  • front
  • front inscription
  • back

Municipality/Province: Colborne, ON

Memorial Number: 35055-032

Type: Slab; stone

Address: 1 King Street West

Location: Victoria Square Park

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 44.0050987   Long: -77.8886091

Contributor: Richard Turcotte

A cenotaph in memory of the local fallen of the Second World War was unveiled and dedicated on Sunday afternoon, October 24, 1948. The light grey granite stele was erected in Victoria Square Park by the Ladies’ Auxiliary of the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 187.

A parade, under the direction of Angus Duffy, Belleville, formed at Memorial Park and marched to Victoria Square Park in the following order: Colour Party, RCAF Band of Trenton; Colborne Legion members; Cobourg Legion members; 33rd Medium Regiment Band; Brighton Legion; Legion members from other branches, Ladies’ Auxiliary, Colborne High School cadets; Salvation Army Band; Boy Scouts and Cubs; and school children.

The master of ceremonies was A.D. Hall. Guests on the speaker’s platform were: Major the Rev. John W. Foote, Victoria Cross; Captain Charles S. Rutherford, Victoria Cross, Military Cross, Military Medal; Major R. Earle Drope, Military Medal, Member of Parliament; the Rev. Roy Rickard, MRE, Master Corporal; the Hon. W.A. Goodfellow, Minister of Welfare; the Rev. A.N. Reid; the Rev. J.W. Culley; Legion Zone Commander Roy Service; Colborne Legion Branch 187 President A.R. Harvey; Branch 187 Ladies’ Auxiliary President Ada Warner; and Miss Eliza J. Padginton, a faithful friend to servicemen of three wars.

Two months later the cenotaph was destroyed beyond repair by a car during the early hours of Wednesday, December 8. The monument was rebuilt. The Cenotaph Restoration Committee oversaw the cleaning and refurbishment of the monuments, installation of new concrete walkways rimmed with memorial paving stones purchased by families and friends of people they wished commemorated.

In the mid 1990’s, Korea was added to the back of the cenotaph by the local branch of the Royal Canadian Legion.

In 2014, the Cenotaph Restoration Committee oversaw the cleaning and refurbishment of both the First World War and Second World War Cenotaphs. A concrete pad was placed in a rectangular shape around both monuments and paving stones, furniture, planters, and lighting were added. The fountain separating the two cenotaphs was upgraded. The new walkways are rimmed with memorial paving stones purchased by families and friends of people they wish commemorated.

The project was funded by Veterans Affairs Canada, with donations from the public and the Township of Cramahe to cover the project's cost. The two Colborne war cenotaphs were rededicated on May 22, 2016.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[front/devant]

TO THE GLORY OF GOD
AND TO PERPETUALLY HONOUR OUR MEN
WHO MADE THE SUPREME SACRIFICE
1939 - 1945

CPL. BROOKS VICTOR E.
P/O. FARRELL DOUGLAS
W/O. GRANT W.K.
CAPT. McCUTCHEON HAROLD
PTE. McMURRAY CLARKE
F/O. PETERS ARTHUR H.
LAC. REED ARCHIBALD C.
LIEUT. SUCCEE ROSS

"THEY SERVED TILL DEATH! WHY NOT WE?"

ERECTED BY THE CITIZENS AND FRIENDS
OF THE COMMUNITY UNDER THE AUSPICES
OF THE LADIES AUXILIARY TO THE
COLBORNE BRANCH 187 CANADIAN LEGION

 

[back/arrière]
KOREA
1950 - 1953

Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument commémoratif de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale de Colbourne

Hidden photo gallery

  • alentours
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • devant
  • devant
  • inscription devant
  • arrière

Ville/Province : Colborne, ON

Numéro du monument : 35055-032

Type : Dalle; de pierre

Adresse : 1, rue King ouest

Lieu : Park Victoria Square

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 44.0050987   Long: -77.8886091

Collaborateur : Richard Turcotte

Un cénotaphe en hommage aux personnes de la région tombées au champ d’honneur pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale a été dévoilé et inauguré en après-midi le dimanche 24 octobre 1948. La stèle de granite gris pâle a été érigée dans le parc Victoria Square par l’auxiliaire féminin de la filiale no 187 de la Légion royale canadienne.

Un défilé, sous la direction d’Angus Duffy, de Belleville, s’est formé au Parc commémoratif et se termina au parc Victoria Square dans cet ordre : le garde du drapeau, la Musique de l’Aviation royale canadienne de Trenton, des membres de la Légion de Colborne, la Musique du 33e Régiment moyen, des membres de la Légion de Brighton, des membres d’autres filiales de la Légion, des membres de l’auxiliaire féminin, des cadets de l’école secondaire de Colborne, la Musique de l’Armée du Salut, des scouts, des louveteaux et des élèves.

A. D. Halle a été le maître des cérémonies. Les invités ayant pris place sur l’estrade étaient les suivants : le révérend John W. Foote, Croix de Victoria; le capitaine Charles S. Rutherford, Croix de Victoria, Croix militaire et Médaille militaire; le major R. Earle Drope, Médaille militaire et député; le révérend Roy Rickard, maîtrise en éducation religieuse et caporal-chef; l’honorable W. A. Goodfellow, ministre du Bien-être social; le révérend A. N. Reid; le révérend J. W. Culley; le commandant de zone de la Légion Roy Service; le président de la filiale no 187 de la Légion de Colborne A. R. Harvey; la présidente de l’auxiliaire féminin de la filiale no 187 de la Légion Ada Warner; et Mme Eliza J. Padginton, une amie fidèle de militaires de trois guerres.

Deux mois plus tard, le cénotaphe a été complètement détruit par une voiture au petit matin du mercredi 8 décembre. Irréparable, il a été reconstruit peu après.

Au milieu des années 1990, Corée a été ajoutée au dos du cénotaphe par la filiale locale de la Légion royale canadienne.

En 2014, le comité de restauration du cénotaphe a supervisé le nettoyage et la remise à neuf des cénotaphes commémoratifs de la Première Guerre mondiale et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Une plateforme de béton rectangulaire a été placée autour des monuments, et des pavés, des bancs, des bacs à fleurs et un éclairage ont été ajoutés. La fontaine séparant les deux cénotaphes a été remise à neuf. De nouvelles allées piétonnes sont bordées par des pavés commémoratifs achetés par les membres de la famille et les amis de personnes à qui ils souhaitent rendre hommage.

Le projet a été financé par Anciens Combattants Canada, avec des dons du public et du canton de Cramahe pour couvrir les coûts du projet s’élevant. Les deux cénotaphes de guerre de Colborne ont à nouveau été inaugurés le 22 mai 2016.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[front/devant]

TO THE GLORY OF GOD
AND TO PERPETUALLY HONOUR OUR MEN
WHO MADE THE SUPREME SACRIFICE
1939 - 1945

CPL. BROOKS VICTOR E.
P/O. FARRELL DOUGLAS
W/O. GRANT W.K.
CAPT. McCUTCHEON HAROLD
PTE. McMURRAY CLARKE
F/O. PETERS ARTHUR H.
LAC. REED ARCHIBALD C.
LIEUT. SUCCEE ROSS

"THEY SERVED TILL DEATH! WHY NOT WE?"

ERECTED BY THE CITIZENS AND FRIENDS
OF THE COMMUNITY UNDER THE AUSPICES
OF THE LADIES AUXILIARY TO THE
COLBORNE BRANCH 187 CANADIAN LEGION

 

[back/arrière]
KOREA
1950 - 1953

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :