Language selection

De Niverville Private

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35060-018

Type: Street; street sign

Address: De Niverville Private

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.337536   Long: -75.673093

Contributor: Richard Turcotte

Photo Credit: Richard Turcotte

De Niverville Private is dedicated to Air Vice Marshal Joseph Lionel Alphege Albert De Niverville, CB.

Albert De Niverville was born in August 1897 in Montreal. Educated in Ottawa, he joined the Royal Flying Corps in 1917 and flew until the end of the First World War. Following the war, he was a Pilot Officer in the Canadian Air Force Reserve, working with the Air Board until March 1924, at which time he was appointed to the newly-formed Permanent RCAF on April 1, 1924.

He served as a Flying instructor at Camp Borden until September 1927 and was then transferred to AFHG as Staff Officer Training until April, 1931. De Niverville returned to instructing at Station Vancouver where he instructed on sea planes and flying boats, transferring to Station Rockcliffe in 1932. He completed RAF Staff College in 1933 and returned to AFHQ from January, 1934 to February, 1936, followed by an appointment as Air Staff Officer for Military District No. 4 (Montreal) until February, 1939.

At the outbreak of the Second World War, he returned to AFHQ then became CO of No. 2 Service Flying Training School in August, 1941 before being appointed Air Officer Commanding No. 3 Training Command, from October, 1941, to November, 1943. He was later appointed Air Member for Training at Air Force Headquarters. Following the Second World War, he joined the Department of Transportation, retiring in November, 1964.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[front/devant]

privé De Niverville Pvt.

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Privé De Niverville

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35060-018

Type : Rue; plaque de rue

Adresse : Privé De Niverville

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.3376175   Long: -75.673969

Privé De Niverville est dédiée au vice-maréchal de l’Air Joseph Lionel Alphege Albert De Niverville, CB.

Albert De Niverville est né en août 1897 à Montréal. Il étudie à Ottawa, avant d’intégrer le Royal Flying Corps (RFC), en 1917, où il pilote des avions jusqu’à la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale. Après la guerre, il est sous-lieutenant d’aviation (journal officiel) au sein de la Réserve de l’Aviation royale canadienne, et travaille à la Commission de l’Air jusqu’en mars 1924, année au cours de laquelle il est nommé à la force permanente de l’ARC, nouvellement créée le 1er avril 1924.

Il sert comme instructeur de vol au Camp Borden jusqu’en septembre 1927, et est transféré au QGFA jusqu’en avril 1931 De Niverville retourne ensuite à la station Vancouver où il assure l’instruction à bord des hydravions et des aéronefs amphibies, avant d’être transféré à la station Rockcliffe, en 1932. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme du Collège d’état-major de l’ARC en 1933, il retourne au QGFA de janvier 1934 à février 1936, avant d’être nommé comme officier supérieur d’état-major de l’Air du District militaire n° 4 (Montréal) jusqu’en février 1939.

Au déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il retourne au QGFA et devient par la suite commandant de l’École de pilotage militaire no 2 en août 1941, avant d’être nommé officier d’aviation commandant du Commandement de l’instruction no 3, d’octobre 1941 à novembre 1943. Il est nommé plus tard membre du Conseil de l’air responsable de l’entraînement au QGFA. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il entre au ministère des Transports, avant de prendre sa retraite en novembre 1964.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[front/devant]

privé De Niverville Pvt.

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :