Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Dutch-Canadian Friendship Tulip Garden

Hidden photo gallery

Municipality/Province: Bancroft, ON

Memorial Number: 35032-030

Type: Garden

Address: Station Street & River Street

Location: Across from the Royal Canadian Legion

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.0594112   Long: -77.8568487

Submitted By: Victoria Edwards

Bancroft was one of 140 communities selected from more than 400 applications received by the Canadian Garden Council. Each of the 140 new 70th Anniversary Dutch-Canadian Friendship Tulip Gardens across the country consist of 700 red and white tulip bulbs (350 of each colour) donated by Vesey’s Bulbs in Prince Edward Island.

The garden was planted in the fall of 2015 by the Bancroft Horticultural Society. Tulip bulbs generally bloom between the end of April and the beginning of June depending on the type of tulip and where it’s planted.

The memorial is dedicated as a living monument in recognition of the 70th Anniversary of the original Dutch-Canadian Friendship Tulip Garden planted in Ottawa at the end of the Second World War in 1945. The memorial is in appreciation of the safe haven that members of Holland’s exiled royal family received during the Second World War, and in recognition of the role Canadian troops played in the liberation of the Netherlands.

The Bancroft Cenotaph is also at this location.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Street View

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Jardin de l’amitié entre les Pays-Bas et le Canada

Hidden photo gallery

Ville/Province : Bancroft, ON

Numéro du monument : 35032-030

Type : Jardin

Adresse : rue Station & rue River

Lieu : En face de la Légion royale canadienne

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.0594112   Long: -77.8568487

Soumis par : Victoria Edwards

Bancroft est l’une des 140 localités qui ont été choisies parmi plus de 400 candidatures par le Conseil de jardinage canadien. Chacun des 140 nouveaux jardins de tulipes créés au pays pour marquer le 70e anniversaire de l’amitié entre les Pays-Bas et le Canada renferme 700 bulbes de tulipes rouges et blanches (350 de chaque couleur) offerts par l’entreprise – Vesey’s de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Le jardin a été aménagé à l’automne 2015 par la Bancroft Horticultural Society. Les tulipes éclosent en général entre la fin avril et le début de juin, en fonction de leur variété et du lieu où elles sont plantées.

Le jardin commémoratif est un monument vivant marquant le 70e anniversaire de l’amitié entre les Pay-Bas et le Canada, scellée par la plantation d’un jardin de tulipes à Ottawa, à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en 1945. Il symbolise la reconnaissance des Pays-Bas envers le Canada qui a accueilli les membres de la famille royale des Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et envers les militaires canadiens qui ont joué un rôle important dans la libération des Pays-Bas.

Le cénotaphe de Bancroft est également situé à cet endroit.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :