The Man with Two Hats

Hidden photo gallery

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35059-173

Type: Statue

Address: Queen Elizabeth Drive

Location: On the north shore of Dows Lake in Ottawa’s Commissioners Park.

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.397778   Long: -75.705278

Photo Credit: Richard Turcotte

Unveiled on 11 May 2002, this monument pays tribute to the crucial role played by Canadian soldiers in the liberation of the Netherlands during the Second World War.

The Ottawa Man with Two Hats monument is a replica of the statue found in the Dutch city of Apeldoorn named De man met de twee hoeden. The twin statues exemplify the strong ties between the Netherlands and Canada. The friendship that bonds the two countries grew during the Second World War, when Canadian soldiers played an important role in the Liberation of the Netherlands.

The bronze monument, a gift to Canada from the Netherlands, was created by Dutch artist Henk Visch. The 4.6 meter structure was unveiled by Her Royal Highness Princess Margriet of the Netherlands in Ottawa in May 2002. The Princess had also dedicated the original Apeldoorn statue two years earlier in May 2000, during the 55th Anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands, in front of a large group of Canadian Veterans.

 

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[plaque]

NETHERLANDS - CANADA
LIBERATION MONUMENT

THE MAN WITH TWO HATS

During the Second World War, Canadian soldiers played a crucial role in the liberation of the Netherlands. With the donation of this monument- an expression of joy and a celebration of freedom- the Netherlands pays a lasting tribute to Canada.

A statue identical to this one stands in Apeldoorn in the Netherlands. The twin monuments symbolically link Canada and the Netherlands; though separated by an ocean, the two countries will forever be close friends. Her Royal Highness Princess Magriet of the Netherlands unveiled the monument in Ottawa on May 11, 2002, and the other one in Apeldoorn on May 2, 2000.

Artist: Henk Visch

 

MONUMENT EN L’HONNEUR DE LA LIBERATION
DES PAYS-BAS PAR LE CANADA.

L’HOMME AUX DEUX CHAPEAUX

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les soldats canadiens ont joué un rôle crucial dans la libération des Pays-Bas. Par le don de ce monument, les Pays-Bas ont voulu rendre un profond hommage au Canada.

Une statue identique à celle-ci a été érigée à Apeldoorn aux Pays-Bas, les deux œuvres reliant symboliquement le Canada et les Pays-Bas. Bien que séparés par un océan, ces pays resteront à jamais unis dans l’amitié. Son Altesse Royale la princesse Margriet des Pays-Bas a inauguré le monument d’Ottawa, le 11 mai 2002, et celui d’Apeldoorn, le 2 mai 2000.

Artiste : Henk Visch

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

L’homme aux deux chapeaux

Hidden photo gallery

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35059-173

Type : Statue

Adresse : Promenade Reine Élizabeth

Lieu : Sur le côté nord du lac Dow, au parc des Commissaires d’Ottawa.

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.397778   Long: -75.705278

Photo fournie par : Richard Turcotte

Dévoilé le 11 mai 2002, ce monument rend hommage au rôle crucial joué par les soldats canadiens dans la libération de la Hollande pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le monument « L’homme aux deux chapeaux » situé à Ottawa est une réplique de la statue trouvée dans la ville hollandaise d’Apeldoorn nommée « De man met de twee hoeden ». Les statues jumelles personnifient les liens étroits qui existent entre la Hollande et le Canada. L’amitié qui lie les deux pays s’est intensifiée durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, lorsque les soldats canadiens ont joué un rôle crucial dans la libération de la Hollande.

Le monument de bronze, un cadeau de la Hollande au Canada, a été créé par l’artiste hollandais Henk Visch. En mai 2002, Son Altesse Royale la princesse Margriet des Pays‑Bas a procédé au dévoilement de la structure de 4,6 mètres à Ottawa. La princesse avait également inauguré la statue originale d’Apeldoorn deux ans plus tôt, en mai 2000, dans le cadre du 55e anniversaire de la libération des Pays‑Bas, devant une importante délégation de vétérans canadiens.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[plaque]

NETHERLANDS - CANADA
LIBERATION MONUMENT

THE MAN WITH TWO HATS

During the Second World War, Canadian soldiers played a crucial role in the liberation of the Netherlands. With the donation of this monument- an expression of joy and a celebration of freedom- the Netherlands pays a lasting tribute to Canada.

A statue identical to this one stands in Apeldoorn in the Netherlands. The twin monuments symbolically link Canada and the Netherlands; though separated by an ocean, the two countries will forever be close friends. Her Royal Highness Princess Magriet of the Netherlands unveiled the monument in Ottawa on May 11, 2002, and the other one in Apeldoorn on May 2, 2000.

Artist: Henk Visch

 

MONUMENT EN L’HONNEUR DE LA LIBERATION
DES PAYS-BAS PAR LE CANADA.

L’HOMME AUX DEUX CHAPEAUX

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les soldats canadiens ont joué un rôle crucial dans la libération des Pays-Bas. Par le don de ce monument, les Pays-Bas ont voulu rendre un profond hommage au Canada.

Une statue identique à celle-ci a été érigée à Apeldoorn aux Pays-Bas, les deux œuvres reliant symboliquement le Canada et les Pays-Bas. Bien que séparés par un océan, ces pays resteront à jamais unis dans l’amitié. Son Altesse Royale la princesse Margriet des Pays-Bas a inauguré le monument d’Ottawa, le 11 mai 2002, et celui d’Apeldoorn, le 2 mai 2000.

Artiste : Henk Visch

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :