Francis Pegahmagabow Monument

Hidden photo gallery

  • Monument (Front)
    (Click for more images)
  • Monuemnt (from the side)
  • Plaque
  • Information Plaque
  • Monument
  • Statue

Municipality/Province: Parry Sound, ON

Memorial Number: 35065-046

Type: sculpture

Address: 2 Bay Street

Location: Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.339054   Long: -80.039258

A bronze likeness of Company Sergeant-Major (CSM) Francis Pegahmagabow was unveiled June 21, 2016 on National Aboriginal Day in Parry Sound, Ontario, just a short drive from Sgt Pegahmagabow’s birthplace at Wasauksing First Nation. The event featured a strong military presence, including Lieutenant General Marquis Hainse, Commander of the Canadian Army, and a 50-soldier guard of honour.

The monument was created by Tyler Fauvelle, a sculptor based in Sudbury, Ontario. The statue, which stands approximately three metres or 10 feet tall, depicts CSM Pegahmagabow in his wartime uniform with an eagle above and a caribou at his side.

CSM Pegahmagabow is revered for being the most decorated Aboriginal Canadian to fight in the First World War. He is one of only 38 Canadian troops to have earned the Military Medal (MM) with two bars, each representing an act of valour.

He earned the first in 1917 at the Battle of Passchendaele, the successful assault on a ridge in Belgium held by the Germans that cost 16,000 Allied lives. He earned the second in 1918, during what would prove to be the final hundred days of the war, by charging into heavy enemy fire to retrieve ammunition for his comrades.

Following his wartime service, CSM Pegahmagabow returned home in 1919 and continued to lead by example as a member of the non-permanent active militia (now the Canadian Armed Forces Army Reserve) and through political activity in his community, where he served as chief and councillor before his death in 1952.

The Ontario Native Education Counselling Association  (ONECA), a registered charity supporting Aboriginal education, commissioned the monument and raised half of the $169,000 needed to realize it. The remaining half was provided by the Department of Canadian Heritage. Dr. Brian McInnes, who is a great-grandson of CSM Pegahmagabow and a professor of education at the University of Minnesota, recently completed a book, Sounding Thunder: The Stories of Francis Pegahmagabow, that celebrates CSM Pegahmagabow’s life and accomplishments.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[plaque]

Francis Pegahmagabow - Hero of the Great War
June 21, 2016
Sculptor:  Tyler Fauvelle

[plaque]

Chief Francis Pegahmagabow
c. 1889 - 1952

Francis Pegahmagabow, a superior scout and sniper during the First World War, served overseas with the Canadian Expeditionary Force. In Canada's history, no other Indigenous soldier has ever received as many battle awards.  Born in Shawanaga First Nation (Caribou Clan), he settled at Wasauksing First Nation after the war. Twice elected Chief, he became a passionate advocate for Indigenous  rights.

Le Chef Francis Pegahmagabow, héros de la Première Guerre mondiale, est le soldat autochtone canadien ayant reçu le plus grand nombre de décorations en reconnaissance de ses actes de bravoure. Né au sein de la Première Nation de Shawanaga (le clan de caribou), il s'établit parmi la Première Nation Wasauksing aprés la guerre. Deux fois éle chef de bande, il devient ardent défenseur des droits autochtones.

Brave in war, brave in peace
June 21, 2016

Gaa-gimaawid Francis Pegahmagabow
c. 1889 - 1952

Francis Pegahmagabow-ban, gaa-ntaa-ndawaabnjiged miinwaa gaa-giimoodzid netaa-waakwiid gaa-gchi-miigaading Canadian Expeditionary Force wedi gaaming. Gaawiin wiya nishnaabewid gii-te-miin'gozid biiwaabikoonsan gaa-zhiseg Canada. Gii-ondaadzi maa Shawanaga (Adik doodeman), gii-bi-dnizi maa Wasauksing gaa-shkwaa-miigaading. Gii-naabnjigaazo niizhing ji-gimaawid, aapji go weweni gii-bzigwiitood Nishnaabewaadziwin.

Gaa-zoong'dehed miigaading, gaa-zoong'dehed bzaan-teg.
Miin-giizis 21, 2006

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Monument commémoratif de Francis Pegahmagabow

Hidden photo gallery

  • Monument (vu de face)
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • Monument (vu du côté)
  • Plaque
  • Plaque informative
  • Monument
  • Statue

Ville/Province : Parry Sound, ON

Numéro du monument : 35065-046

Type : sculpture

Adresse : 2, rue Bay

Lieu : Centre des Arts Charles W. Stockey

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.339054   Long: -80.039258

Une statue de bronze représentant le sergent-major de compagnie (SMC) Francis Pegahmagabow est dévoilée le 21 juin 2016, Journée nationale des Autochtones, à Parry Sound, en Ontario, pas très loin de son lieu de naissance dans la Première Nation de Wasauksing. Lors de cet événement, il y a une forte présence militaire dont le lieutenant‑général Marquis Hainse, le commandant de l’Armée canadienne et une garde d’honneur de 50 soldats.

Le monument fut créé par Tyler Fauvelle, un sculpteur établi à Sudbury (Ontario). S’élevant à environ trois mètres de hauteur (soit 10 pieds), la statue représente le SMC Pegahmagabow, vêtu de son uniforme du temps de guerre, avec un aigle au-dessus de lui et un caribou à ses côtés.

Le SMC Pegahmagabow est honoré parce qu’il est le soldat autochtone le plus décoré de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il est un des 38 soldats canadiens à avoir reçu la Médaille militaire (MM) à deux barrettes, chacune représentant un acte de bravoure.

Il s’est vu décerner sa première barrette en 1917 après la bataille de Passchendaele, l’attaque couronnée de succès d’une crête en Belgique tenue par les Allemands et qui a coûté la vie de 16 000 alliés. Il a reçu la deuxième barrette en 1918, après ce qui allait s’avérer les cent derniers jours de la guerre, pour être parti à l’assaut sous le feu nourri de l’ennemi, afin de récupérer des munitions pour ses camarades.

Après son service en temps de guerre, le SMC Pegahmagabow rentre au bercail en 1919, où il continue de prêcher par l’exemple en tant que membre de la milice active non permanente (désormais la Réserve de l’Armée des Forces armées canadiennes) et par sa participation à des activités politiques dans sa communauté, où il sert en tant que chef et conseiller jusqu’à son décès en 1952.

L’Ontario Native Education Counselling Association (ONECA), un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui appuie l’éducation des Autochtones, a commandé le monument et recueilli la moitié des 169 000 $ nécessaires à sa réalisation. L’autre moitié a été fournie par Patrimoine canadien. Brian McInnes, Ph. D., qui est un arrière‑petit‑fils du SMC Pegahmagabow et professeur en éducation à l’Université du Minnesota, a récemment terminé la rédaction d’un livre intitulé Sounding Thunder: The Stories of Francis Pegahmagabow, qui raconte l’histoire du SMC Pegahmagabow et commémore ses accomplissements.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[plaque]

Francis Pegahmagabow - Hero of the Great War
June 21, 2016
Sculptor:  Tyler Fauvelle

[plaque]

Chief Francis Pegahmagabow
c. 1889 - 1952

Francis Pegahmagabow, a superior scout and sniper during the First World War, served overseas with the Canadian Expeditionary Force. In Canada's history, no other Indigenous soldier has ever received as many battle awards.  Born in Shawanaga First Nation (Caribou Clan), he settled at Wasauksing First Nation after the war. Twice elected Chief, he became a passionate advocate for Indigenous  rights.

Le Chef Francis Pegahmagabow, héros de la Première Guerre mondiale, est le soldat autochtone canadien ayant reçu le plus grand nombre de décorations en reconnaissance de ses actes de bravoure. Né au sein de la Première Nation de Shawanaga (le clan de caribou), il s'établit parmi la Première Nation Wasauksing aprés la guerre. Deux fois éle chef de bande, il devient ardent défenseur des droits autochtones.

Brave in war, brave in peace
June 21, 2016

Gaa-gimaawid Francis Pegahmagabow
c. 1889 - 1952

Francis Pegahmagabow-ban, gaa-ntaa-ndawaabnjiged miinwaa gaa-giimoodzid netaa-waakwiid gaa-gchi-miigaading Canadian Expeditionary Force wedi gaaming. Gaawiin wiya nishnaabewid gii-te-miin'gozid biiwaabikoonsan gaa-zhiseg Canada. Gii-ondaadzi maa Shawanaga (Adik doodeman), gii-bi-dnizi maa Wasauksing gaa-shkwaa-miigaading. Gii-naabnjigaazo niizhing ji-gimaawid, aapji go weweni gii-bzigwiitood Nishnaabewaadziwin.

Gaa-zoong'dehed miigaading, gaa-zoong'dehed bzaan-teg.
Miin-giizis 21, 2006

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :