Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Sarnia-Lambton Afghanistan Monument

Municipality/Province: Sarnia Lambton, ON

Memorial Number: 35071-046

Type: LAV III Monument

Address: 151 Wellington Street

Location: Veterans Park

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 42.9698   Long: -82.40675

Submitted By: Tom Slater

Photo Credit: Tom Slater

In August 2015, the Sarnia First Hussars Association began the process of procuring a monument to honour those lost in combat during the Afghanistan Mission. The LAV’s were used extensively in Afghanistan by the Canadian Armed Forces for assault, mobility and protection – they were the “workhorse” of the Canadian Forces’ effort in Kandahar Province. The Sarnia First Hussar’s were able to obtain LAV III, hull number 77, and the vehicle’s 30 mm cannon was replaced with a fixed metal piece, and the engine, electronics and other equipment were removed.

The Sarnia First Hussars Association, along with the Royal Canadian Legion, Sarnia Branch 62, and the City of Sarnia, set up the 1st Hussars Association Afghanistan Monument Committee to raise funds for the project, under the direction of Honorary Colonel Barry A. Hogan. Led by the First Hussars Association, funds were received from the Kiwanis of the Seaway, Sarnia Legion Branch 62, the Sarnia Saints Rugby Club, the Royal Canadian Regiment, the Labourer’s International Union of North America, Local 1089, and from private citizens for the $65,000 project.

On October 30, 2016, a dedication ceremony took place unveiling the Sarnia-Lambton Afghanistan Monument in the southeast corner of Veterans Park in the presence of military personnel, dignitaries and six Silver Cross families – including those of two Sarnia/Lambton Afghanistan fallen. Military personnel included members of the 4th battalion of the Royal Canadian Regiment, the 1st Hussars, the 31st brigade and the Royal Highland Fusiliers, including Lt-Col. Mark Poland – brother of Brent Poland. Three bronze plaques are part of the memorial: one plaque is dedicated to Private William Cushley and Corporal Brent Poland, both of Sarnia/Lambton who died in action while serving in Afghanistan; a second plaque is dedicated to the 40,000 men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces deployed to Afghanistan, and the 159 who lost their lives, between 2001 and 2014; and the third plaque is dedicated to the 86 members of the First Hussars deployed in Afghanistan.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

There are three plaques on the LAV III Monument;

PLAQUE #1:

DEDICATED TO THOSE

40,000 men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces who fought

in the Cause of Peace and Freedom and in the memory of those 159

who gave the ultimate sacrifice.

“Never to be forgotten”

Ils ont combattu pour la cause de la paix et de la liberte

2001         AFGHANISTAN         2014

PLAQUE #2:

IN MEMORY OF

Pte. CUSHLEY, William Jonathan James

1st Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

Hometown: Port Lambton, Ontario

Age 21 years

Killed in Action: September 3rd, 2006

Cpl. POLAND, Brent Donald

2nd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

Hometown: Camlachie, Ontario

Age 37 years

Killed in Action: April 8th, 2007

PLAQUE #3:

Honouring the members of the 1st Hussars

who served in the Afghanistan Mission

from 2003 to 2014

Hodie Non Cras

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Monument de Sarnia Lambton en hommage aux soldats déployés en Afghanistan

Ville/Province : Sarnia Lambton, ON

Numéro du monument : 35071-046

Type : LAV III Monument

Adresse : 151, rue Wellington

Lieu : Parc des vétérans

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 42.9698   Long: -82.40675

En août 2015, l’Association des 1st Hussars de Sarnia a engagé le processus pour acquérir un monument afin de rendre hommage à ceux et celles qui ont perdu la vie au combat durant la mission en Afghanistan. Les Forces armées canadiennes ont beaucoup utilisé le VBL pour lancer des assauts, se déplacer et se protéger en Afghanistan – c’était la « bête de somme » des Forces canadiennes dans le cadre de leur intervention dans la province de Kandahar. Les 1st Hussars de Sarnia ont obtenu un VBL III, numéro de coque 77, dont le canon de 30 mm a été remplacé par une pièce de métal fixe et dont le moteur, composantes électroniques et autres pièces d’équipement ont été enlevés.    

L’Association des 1st Hussars de Sarnia, ainsi que la filiale 62 de la Légion royale canadienne de Sarnia et la Ville de Sarnia ont créé le Comité responsable d’ériger un monument à la mémoire des soldats morts en Afghanistan de l’Association des 1st Hussars en vue d’amasser des fonds pour le projet, sous la direction du colonel honoraire Barry A. Hogan. Dirigée par l’Association des 1st Hussars, le Club Kiwanis de Seaway, la filiale 62 de la Légion royale canadienne de Sarnia, le Club de rugby les Saints de Sarnia, le Royal Canadian Regiment, la section locale 1089 de l’Union internationale des journaliers d’Amérique du Nord, et des citoyens ont fourni les fonds pour financer le projet de 65 000 $.

Le 30 octobre 2016, une cérémonie d’inauguration a été organisée pour le dévoilement du monument de Sarnia‑Lambton érigé en hommage aux soldats déployés en Afghanistan. La cérémonie se déroulait dans la portion sud‑est du Parc des anciens combattants en présence de personnel militaire, de dignitaires et de six familles honorées de la Croix d’argent – y compris les familles de deux soldats de Sarnia‑Lambton morts en Afghanistan. Le personnel militaire était composé de membres du 4e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment, des 1st Hussars, de la 31Brigade et des Royal Highland Fusiliers, dont le lieutenant-colonel Mark Poland – frère de Brent Poland. Trois plaques de bronze ont été intégrées au monument commémoratif : une plaque dédiée au soldat William Cushley et au caporal Brent Poland, tous deux originaires de Sarnia‑Lambton et morts au combat en Afghanistan; une seconde plaque dédiée aux 40 000 hommes et femmes des Forces armées canadiennes déployés en Afghanistan et aux 159 qui y ont perdu la vie, entre 2001 et 2014, et une troisième plaque dédiée aux 86 membres des 1st Hussars déployés en Afghanistan.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

There are three plaques on the LAV III Monument;

PLAQUE #1:

DEDICATED TO THOSE

40,000 men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces who fought

in the Cause of Peace and Freedom and in the memory of those 159

who gave the ultimate sacrifice.

“Never to be forgotten”

Ils ont combattu pour la cause de la paix et de la liberte

2001         AFGHANISTAN         2014

PLAQUE #2:

IN MEMORY OF

Pte. CUSHLEY, William Jonathan James

1st Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

Hometown: Port Lambton, Ontario

Age 21 years

Killed in Action: September 3rd, 2006

Cpl. POLAND, Brent Donald

2nd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

Hometown: Camlachie, Ontario

Age 37 years

Killed in Action: April 8th, 2007

PLAQUE #3:

Honouring the members of the 1st Hussars

who served in the Afghanistan Mission

from 2003 to 2014

Hodie Non Cras

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :