Language selection

Crowe Avenue

Municipality/Province: London, ON

Memorial Number: 35042-062

Type: Street

Address: 701 Oxford Street East

Location: Wolseley Barracks

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 43.00024   Long: -81.23351

Contributor: Richard Turcotte

Crowe Avenue is named in honour of Lieutenant-Colonel Ralph Marston Crowe who commanded the Royal Canadian Regiment during the landing in Sicily and its initial push inland.

Ralph Marston Crowe was born in Guelph in 1911. He grew up in a military family, his father a Lieutenant-Colonel in the Canadian Army, and his three brothers also members of the military. Ralph attended the Royal Military College in Kingston, graduating in 1931. He served with the British Army in India from 1936 to 1938 as part of an officer exchange program, and was promoted to captain shortly afterwards.

When the Second World War broke out in September 1939, Crowe was sent overseas to join the staff of the Canadian Military Headquarters in England. Promoted to major in 1940 and Lieutenant-Colonel in March 1943, he was appointed Commanding Officer of the Royal Canadian Regiment.

Crowe landed with his Regiment at Pachino on 10 July 1943 as part of OPERATION HUSKY. After taking their initial objective, Crowe led the Regiment further inland toward Nissoria where they encountered mined roads and crack German troops who took full advantage of the mountainous terrain and inflicted heavy casualties on the Canadians.

A week after landing in Sicily, the Canadians pushed the Germans out of several strategic hilltop towns and villages. But the enemy dug in to make a determined stand at the town of Agira. The struggle for Agira would be the Canadians' toughest fight in the Sicilian Campaign.

On July 24, Crowe led his men along a railway line. They were making good headway, until they came under heavy fire from German positions on the mountain slopes. In the confusion of battle, the RCR's advance unit became separated from the main body and contact with it was lost.

Realizing that those men could be wiped out or captured, Crowe decided to personally lead a rescue party. Crowe's column had advanced about 100m toward the crest of a hill when German machine guns opened up from two sides, catching the Canadians in a crossfire. Crowe was at the head of the column and was cut down in a hail of bullets. Lieutenant-Colonel Ralph Marston Crowe was buried at the Agira Canadian War Cemetery.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

Crowe Ave.

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Avenue Crowe

Ville/Province : London, ON

Numéro du monument : 35042-062

Type : Signe

Adresse : 701, rue Oxford Est

Lieu : Sur le terrain du musée du régiment royal canadien

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 43.0001664   Long: -81.2343014

L’avenue Crowe est nommée en l’honneur du lieutenant-colonel Ralph Marston Crowe qui a commandé le Royal Canadien Regiment durant le débarquement en Sicile et les premières avancées à l’intérieur des terres.     

Ralph Marston Crowe est né à Guelph, en 1911. Il grandit au sein d’une famille de militaires, avec un père lieutenant?colonel dans l’Armée canadienne et trois frères également militaires. Ralph Crowe fait ses études au Collège militaire royal de Kingston, et décroche son diplôme en 1931. Il sert dans l’armée britannique en Inde de 1936 à 1938 dans le cadre d’un programme d’échange d’officiers, et est promu au rang de capitaine peu de temps après.

Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale éclate en septembre 1939, Crowe est envoyé outre-mer pour rejoindre le personnel du quartier-général de l’Armée canadienne en Angleterre. Promu au rang de major en 1940, puis à celui de lieutenant-colonel en mars 1943, il est nommé commandant du Royal Canadian Regiment.

Crowe débarque à Pachino avec son régiment le 10 juillet 1943 dans le cadre de l’Opération Husky. Après s’être emparés de leur premier objectif, Crowe et son régiment avancent dans les terres en direction de Nissoria où ils se trouvent confrontés à des routes minées et à des troupes d’élite allemandes qui exploitent pleinement le terrain montagneux et infligent de lourdes pertes aux Canadiens. 

Une semaine après le débarquement en Sicile, les Canadiens repoussent les Allemands à l’extérieur de plusieurs villes et villages dont l’emplacement au sommet de collines constituait un avantage stratégique. Toutefois, l’ennemi se retranche résolument dans la ville d’Agira. La bataille pour Agira sera la plus difficile que les Canadiens auront à mener durant la campagne sicilienne. 

Le 24 juillet, Crowe conduit ses hommes le long d’une voie ferrée. Ils avancent à grands pas, jusqu’à ce qu’ils tombent sous le feu nourri de positions allemandes situées sur les flancs des montagnes. Dans la confusion de la bataille, l’unité avancée du RCR est séparée du corps principal et le contact est perdu. 

Réalisant que ces hommes peuvent être tués ou capturés, Crowe décide de mener personnellement une équipe pour leur porter secours. Sa colonne avait avancé d’environ 100 m vers la crête, lorsque les mitrailleurs allemands ont ouvert le feu sur deux côtés, plaçant ainsi les Canadiens sous un feu croisé. À la tête de la colonne, Crowe tombe sous la rafale. Le lieutenant-colonel Ralph Marston Crowe est enterré au cimetière de guerre canadien d’Agira.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

Crowe Ave.

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :