Alamein Memorial

Alamein Memorial

In Egypt, the memorial at El Alamein War Cemetery bears the names of 213 Canadian airmen. These men served all over the Middle East during the Second World War. Above the entrance to the cloisters, which protect the 11,868 names of those of the Commonwealth who died with no known grave, is the following inscription:

WITHIN THIS CLOISTER ARE INSCRIBED THE NAMES OF SOLDIERS AND AIRMEN OF THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AND EMPIRE WHO DIED FIGHTING ON LAND OR IN THE AIR WHERE TWO CONTINENTS MEET AND TO WHOM THE FORTUNE OF WAR DENIED A KNOWN AND HONOURED GRAVE.

Inscription on entrance

The name panels are of Portland stone and the cloisters are of limestone quarried nearby. This is desert country, but beds of roses front the memorial. Water from tanks along the nearby railroad and stored in underground reservoirs, ensures an oasis-like atmosphere. A short approach road, marked by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, leads to the Memorial site off the main desert highway.

Directions

Alamein is a village, bypassed by the main coast road, approximately 130 kilometres west of Alexandria on the road to Mersa Matruh. The first Commonwealth War Graves Commission road direction sign is located just beyond the Alamein police checkpoint and all visitors should turn off from the main road onto the parallel old coast road. The cemetery lies off the road, slightly beyond a ridge, and is indicated by road direction signs approximately 25 metres before the low metal gates and stone wing walls which are situated centrally at the road edge at the head of the access path into the cemetery. The Cross of Sacrifice feature may be seen from the road.

Date modified:

Mémorial Alamein

Mémorial Alamein

En Égypte, le monument du cimetière de guerre El Alamein rappelle, gravés dans la pierre, les noms de 213 aviateurs canadiens. Ces hommes combattirent partout au Moyen-Orient pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Au-dessus de l'entrée des cloîtres, qui protègent les noms des onze mille huit cent soixante-huit soldats du Commonwealth dont la sépulture est inconnue, figure une inscription en anglais dont voici la traduction :

« À L'INTÉRIEUR DE CE CLOÎTRE SONT INSCRITS LES NOMS DES SOLDATS ET DES AVIATEURS DU COMMONWEALTH ET DE L'EMPIRE BRITANNIQUE MORTS PENDANT DES COMBATS TERRESTRES OU AÉRIENS METTANT AUX PRISES DEUX CONTINENTS, ET QUE LES HASARDS DE LA GUERRE ONT PRIVÉS D'UNE SÉPULTURE CONVENABLE. »

Inscription

Les panneaux où figurent les noms sont faits de pierre de Portland, et les cloîtres sont faits de pierres calcaires extraites des carrières à proximité. Bien que ce monument commémoratif soit en plein désert, on y trouve, à l'entrée, des massifs de roses. En effet, des citernes remplies d'eau, dans le voisinage le long du chemin de fer, assurent l'approvisionnement de réservoirs souterrains qui font de ce lieu une véritable oasis. Sur la route principale du désert, un poteau indicateur de la Commonwealth War Graves Commission signale une petite route latérale qui débouche sur le monument.

Indications routières

Traversé par la principale route côtière, Alamein est un village situé à environ 130 km à l'ouest d'Alexandrie, sur la route menant à Mersa Matruh. Le premier panneau de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth se trouve juste après le poste de contrôle de la circulation d'Alamein. Tous les visiteurs doivent alors quitter la route principale pour prendre la vieille route côtière parallèle. (Suite...) Le cimetière se trouve près de la route, légèrement au-delà d'une crête, et est annoncé par un panneau situé à environ 25 mètres des portes métalliques et des murs de pierre qui se dressent au centre, au bout de la route. Là commence la voie d'accès menant à l'intérieur du cimetière. La croix du Sacrifice peut être aperçue de la route.

Date de modification :