Language selection

Tomb Of The Unknown Warrior

 Composite image of the outside of Westminster Abbey, and the Tomb of the Unknown Warrior surrounded by flowers

Inside the west entrance of Westminster Abbey in London, a hallowed grave in the Chapel of the Holy contains the remains of an Unknown Warrior. The remains represent the great number of men and women who gave their lives in the First World War while serving in the forces of the British Commonwealth. Whether the remains are those of a sailor, a soldier, or an airman and whether he fought in the forces of Great Britain, or one of the Dominions, or of a British Colony, nobody knows. The tomb is a symbol of the gallantry and sacrifice of all the Commonwealth war dead.

The inspiration to have a nameless warrior buried in Westminster Abbey came to a British Army Chaplain, the Reverend David Railton, M.C. In the garden of his billet near Armentières stood a simple wooden cross bearing the pencilled inscription, "An Unknown British Soldier". After the war Reverend Railton's idea was accepted. In November 1920, six unidentified bodies were taken from the plains of Flanders and the rolling terrain of Artois and Picardy (areas not only terribly familiar to soldiers from Canada and the other parts of the Commonwealth, but which also included battlefields on which the Royal Naval Division had fought). In a temporary hut-chapel at St. Pol, in Northern France, a blindfolded senior officer selected one of the identical coffins, which was then brought to Boulogne and placed aboard a British destroyer, while a French destroyer stood by in tribute. In the passage across the Channel, six other destroyers of the Royal Navy escorted the ship carrying the Unknown Warrior.

The funeral took place on Armistice Day, November 11, 1920. Behind the gun carriage bearing the coffin walked King George V and his three sons. The honorary pallbearers included the highest-ranking officers of the Royal Navy, the British Army, and the Royal Air Force. On the way to the Abbey the solemn procession paused at Whitehall, where His Majesty unveiled the Cenotaph to "The Glorious Dead". Following this impressive ceremony the body of the Unknown Warrior was borne to Westminster Abbey and there committed to its final resting-place and covered with soil brought from the battlefields in one hundred sandbags.

At the foot of the tomb are engraved words suggested by David Railton:

THEY BURIED HIM AMONG KINGS BECAUSE HE HAD DONE GOOD TOWARD GOD AND TOWARD HIS HOUSE

This tomb is the scene, each year, of a remembrance service attended by the highest in the land, as well as by the citizens of the Commonwealth who come in thousands to file past the silent grave.

Directions

Inside the west entrance of Westminster Abbey, between St. Margaret and Victoria Streets, in London, a hallowed grave in the Chapel of the Holy contains the remains of an Unknown Warrior.

Date modified:

Tombe du Soldat Inconnu

Images de l'extérieur de Westminster Abbey et de la Tombe du Soldat inconnu entourée de fleurs.

La chapelle de la Sainte-Croix, à l'entrée ouest de l'abbaye de Westminster à Londres, abrite une tombe vénérée où reposent les restes d'un soldat inconnu. II représente les milliers d'hommes et de femmes qui donnèrent leur vie au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, pendant qu'ils servaient dans les forces armées du Commonwealth. S'agit-il des restes d'un marin, d'un soldat ou d'un aviateur? A-t-il combattu avec la Grande-Bretagne, avec l'un des Dominions ou avec une colonie britannique? Nul ne le sait. Cette tombe symbolise la vaillance et le sacrifice de tous ceux qui sont tombés au champ d'honneur pour la cause de la liberté.

C'est un aumônier de l'armée britannique, le révérend David Railton, qui proposa d'enterrer un soldat inconnu dans l'abbaye de Westminster. Dans le jardin de son cantonnement, près d'Armentières, il avait remarqué une humble croix de bois portant cette inscription au crayon: « Un soldat britannique inconnu ». La suggestion du révérend Railton fut acceptée après la guerre. En novembre 1920, six corps inconnus furent retirés de la plaine des Flandres et des terres ondulées de l'Artois et de la Picardie (régions non seulement terriblement bien connues des soldats canadiens et de ceux d'autres parties du Commonwealth, mais où se trouvent également les champs de bataille sur lesquels la division navale royale a combattu). Dans une chapelle ardente temporaire érigée à Saint-Pol, dans le nord de la France, un officier supérieur se fit bander les yeux et désigna ainsi l'un des cercueils, tous identiques, qui fut par la suite transporté à Boulogne, puis mis à bord d'un destroyer britannique pendant qu'un destroyer français lui rendait les honneurs. Six autres destroyers de la Royal Navy accompagnèrent la dépouille du soldat inconnu durant la traversée de la Manche.

Les funérailles eurent lieu le jour anniversaire de l'Armistice, le 11 novembre 1920. Le roi George V et ses trois fils marchaient derrière la prolonge d'artillerie qui portait le cercueil. Les porteurs honoraires comprenaient les chefs de la Royal Navy, de l'Armée britannique et de la Royal Air Force. En route vers l'abbaye, le cortège funèbre s'arrêta à Whitehall où le roi dévoila un cénotaphe dédié aux « Glorieux morts ». La dépouille du soldat inconnu fut ensuite déposée à l'abbaye de Westminster dans un caveau et recouverte de terre provenant des champs de bataille qu'on avait transportée dans cent sacs de sable.

Au pied de la tombe, sont gravés en anglais les mots mêmes que David Railton avait proposés dont voici une traduction :

« IL FUT ENTERRÉ PARMI LES ROIS PARCE QU'IL AVAIT HONORÉ DIEU ET CONTRIBUÉ À L'ÉDIFICATION DE SON ROYAUME. »

C'est ici qu'a lieu chaque année un service commémoratif qui rassemble les sommités de la Grande-Bretagne, ainsi que de nombreux citoyens du Commonwealth. Recueillis et silencieux, ils défilent par milliers devant ce symbole immortel d'un sacrifice collectif sans précédent dans l'histoire.

Indications routières

La chapelle de la Sainte-Croix, à l'entrée ouest de l'abbaye de Westminster entre les rues St. Margaret et Victoria, à Londres, abrite une tombe vénérée où reposent les restes d'un soldat inconnu.

Date de modification :