The Essex Scottish Regiment Dieppe Memorial

The Essex Scottish Regiment - 19th August 1942

The Essex Scottish Regiment - 19th August 1942

At dawn, on 19 August 1942, 553 members of The Essex Scottish Regiment landed at Red Beach in front of the Town of Dieppe, France as part of the 4th Canadian Division raid, Operation JUBILEE.  By 6:30 am the battle was effectively over for the Scottish and withdrawal was ordered at 11:00 am.  Only 53 returned to England, some wounded.  The Dieppe Memorial was dedicated on 19 August 2006 as a permanent memorial to The Essex Scottish who participated in the 1942 Dieppe Raid and also in the Allied Advance in 1944-45.  The black granite memorial was designed by then University of Windsor student, Rory O'Connor with a unique feature that allows the sun to shine through the maple leaf hole at exactly 1:00 pm Dieppe time to illuminate a silver maple leaf imbedded in the base.

This memorial is identical to The Essex Scottish Regiment Dieppe Raid Memorial in Dieppe Gardens, Windsor, Ontario dedicated on 19 August 2010.

Inscription

Front

THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT
19TH AUGUST 1942

Back

RED BEACH

DEDICATED BY THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT CANADA TO THE MEMORY OF OUR COMRADES WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN WORLD WAR II DURING THE RAID ON DIEPPE AUGUST 19, 1942 AND DURING THE ALLIED AVANCE THROUGH FRANCE, BELGIUM, HOLLAND AND GERMANY 1944-45 ON TO THE ROAD TO VICTORY

DÉDIÉ PAR LE REGIMENT ESSEX SCOTTISH CANADA A LA MEMOIRE DE NOS CAMARADES QUI ONT PERDU LA VIE PENDAT LA DEUXIEME GUERRE MONDIALE AU COURS DU RAID LE 19 AOUT 1942 ET PENDANT L’AVANCE DES ALLIES A TRAVERS LA FRANCE, LA BELGIQUE, LA HOLLANDE ET L’ALLEMANDE (1944-45) EN VOIE DE REMPORTER LA VICTORIE.

Directions

The monument is located at Red Beach on the Esplanade west of Dieppe Harbour.  The address is 6 Boulevard Marechal Foch, Dieppe, France 76200. 

GPS Coordinates: Latitude 49.9305934 (approximate) Longitude 1.0795199 (approximate)

Date modified:

Le Mémorial de Dieppe du Essex Scottish Regiment

Le Mémorial de Dieppe du Essex Scottish Regiment - 19 août 1942

Le Mémorial de Dieppe du Essex Scottish Regiment - 19 août 1942

À l’aube du 19 août 1942, 553 membres du régiment Essex Scottish ont débarqué à la Plage rouge devant le village de Dieppe, en France, dans le cadre de l’Opération JUBILEE de la 4e Division du Canada. Dès 6 h 30, la bataille était en fait terminée pour le régiment Essex Scottish et le retrait des troupes a été ordonné à 11 h. Du régiment, seulement 53 militaires sont retournés en Angleterre, certains d’entre eux blessés. Le Mémorial à Dieppe a été inauguré le 19 août 2006 comme monument commémoratif permanent du régiment Essex Scottish qui a participé au raid sur Dieppe en 1942 et aussi à l’avance des Alliés en 1944-1945. Le mémorial en granite noir a été conçu par Rory O'Connor, un étudiant de l’Université de Windsor, avec la caractéristique spéciale qui permet aux rayons du soleil de passer par l’ouverture ayant la forme d’une feuille d’érable à exactement 13 h, heure de Dieppe, pour illuminer une feuille d’érable argentée incrustée dans sa base.

Ce monument est identique au Mémorial du raid de Dieppe érigé au Dieppe Gardens (un parc), à Windsor en Ontario et dévoilé le 19 août 2010.

Inscription

Façade

THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT
19TH AUGUST 1942

Dos

RED BEACH

DEDICATED BY THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT CANADA TO THE MEMORY OF OUR COMRADES WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN WORLD WAR II DURING THE RAID ON DIEPPE AUGUST 19, 1942 AND DURING THE ALLIED AVANCE THROUGH FRANCE, BELGIUM, HOLLAND AND GERMANY 1944-45 ON TO THE ROAD TO VICTORY

DÉDIÉ PAR LE REGIMENT ESSEX SCOTTISH CANADA À LA MÉMOIRE DE NOS CAMARADES QUI ONT PERDU LA VIE PENDANT LA DEUXIÈME GUERRE MONDIALE AU COURS DU RAID LE 19 AOÛT 1942 ET PENDANT L’AVANCE DES ALLIÉS À TRAVERS LA FRANCE, LA BELGIQUE, LA HOLLANDE ET L’ALLEMANGNE (1944-45) EN VOIE DE REMPORTER LA VICTOIRE.

Directions

Le monument est érigé à la Plage rouge, sur l’esplanade ouest du port de Dieppe. Il est situé au 6, boulevard Marechal Foch, Dieppe, France 76200. 

Coordonnées GPS : Latitude 49.9305934 (approximative) Longitude 1.0795199 (approximative)

Date de modification :