The Essex Scottish Regiment Dieppe Plaque

The Essex Scottish Regiment - Plaque

The Essex Scottish Regiment - Plaque

At dawn, on 19 August 1942, 553 members of The Essex Scottish Regiment landed at Red Beach in front of the Town of Dieppe, France as part of the 4th Canadian Division raid, Operation JUBILEE.  By 6:30 am the battle was effectively over for the Scottish and withdrawal was ordered at 11:00 am.  Only 53 returned to England, some wounded.  The original brass plaque commemorating the Dieppe Raid was placed at Red Beach in Dieppe, France in 1993 as a memorial to The Essex Scottish who participated in the 1942 Dieppe Raid and also the Allied Advance in 1944-45.  The plaque was moved in 2006 near the entrance to the Dieppe Canadian War Cemetery when a new black granite memorial was dedicated at Red Beach.

The wording on this plaque is identical to the Dieppe Memorials at Red Beach, Dieppe, France and Dieppe Gardens, Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

Inscription

DEDICATED BY THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT CANADA TO THE MEMORY OF OUR COMRADES WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN WORLD WAR II DURING THE RAID ON DIEPPE AUGUST 19, 1942 AND DURING THE ALLIED AVANCE THROUGH FRANCE, BELGIUM, HOLLAND AND GERMANY 1944-45 ON TO THE ROAD TO VICTORY

DÉDIÉ PAR LE REGIMENT ESSEX SCOTTISH CANADA A LA MEMOIRE DE NOS CAMARADES QUI ONT PERDU LA VIE PENDAT LA DEUXIEME GUERRE MONDIALE AU COURS DU RAID LE 19 AOUT 1942 ET PENDANT L’AVANCE DES ALLIES A TRAVERS LA FRANCE, LA BELGIQUE, LA HOLLANDE ET L’ALLEMANDE (1944-45) EN VOIE DE REMPORTER LA VICTORIE.

Directions

The plaque is located at 1-389 Chemin des Jonquilles, Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie (also known locally as Les Vertus).  It is adjacent to the entrance to Dieppe Canadian War Cemetery.

GPS Coordinates: Latitude 49.895993 Longitude 1.068237

Date modified:

Plaque du régiment Essex Scottish à Dieppe

"Plaque du régiment Essex Scottish à Dieppe

À l’aube du 19 août 1942, 553 membres du régiment Essex Scottish ont débarqué à la Plage rouge devant le village de Dieppe, en France, dans le cadre de l’Opération JUBILEE de la 4e Division du Canada. Dès 6 h 30, la bataille était en fait terminée pour le régiment Essex Scottish et le retrait des troupes a été ordonné à 11 h. Du régiment, seulement 53 militaires sont retournés en Angleterre, certains d’entre eux blessés. La plaque de bronze originale commémorative du raid sur Dieppe avait été installée en 1993 à la Plage rouge à Dieppe, en France, en hommage aux membres de l’Essex Scottish qui ont participé au raid sur Dieppe en 1942 et aussi à l’avance des Alliés en 1944-1945. La plaque a été réinstallée en 2006 près de l’entrée du cimetière militaire canadien à Dieppe lorsqu’un nouveau mémorial de granite noir a été érigé à la Plage rouge.

Le libellé de la plaque est identique à ceux des monuments commémoratifs de Dieppe à la Plage rouge à Dieppe, en France, de Dieppe Gardens (un parc), à Windsor (Ontario), au Canada.

Inscription

DEDICATED BY THE ESSEX SCOTTISH REGIMENT CANADA TO THE MEMORY OF OUR COMRADES WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN WORLD WAR II DURING THE RAID ON DIEPPE AUGUST 19, 1942 AND DURING THE ALLIED AVANCE THROUGH FRANCE, BELGIUM, HOLLAND AND GERMANY 1944-45 ON TO THE ROAD TO VICTORY.

DÉDIÉ PAR LE RÉGIMENT ESSEX SCOTTISH CANADA À LA MÉMOIRE DE NOS CAMARADES QUI ONT PERDU LA VIE PENDANT LA DEUXIÈME GUERRE MONDIALE AU COURS DU RAID LE 19 AOÛT 1942 ET PENDANT L’AVANCE DES ALLIÉS À TRAVERS LA FRANCE, LA BELGIQUE, LA HOLLANDE ET L’ALLEMANGNE (1944-45) EN VOIE DE REMPORTER LA VICTOIRE.

Directions

La plaque est installée au 1-389, chemin des Jonquilles, Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie (aussi connus localement sous le nom Les Vertus). Elle est adjacente à l’entrée du cimetière militaire canadien de Dieppe.

Coordonnées GPS : Latitude 49.895993 Longitude 1.068237

Date de modification :