Pourville Memorial

Two miles west of Dieppe lies the Village of Pourville. Its beach, code-named Green Beach during the Dieppe Raid, is isolated from the Dieppe beaches by tall cliffs that dominate on both sides. The attack on Pourville was one of the four simultaneous flank attacks to precede the main attack during the Dieppe Raid.

The Canadians were fortunate enough at Pourville to achieve some degree of surprise. The initial opposition was light as the South Saskatchewan Regiment and Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada assaulted the beaches. Resistance stiffened as they crossed the River Scie and pushed toward Dieppe proper. As a result of heavy fighting, the South Saskatchewan Regiment was stopped well short of the town. Meanwhile, the main force of the Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders pushed on toward their objective, an inland airfield, and advanced some three kilometres before they too were forced to halt. Both regiments then attempted to withdraw.

The two regiments lost heavily during the withdrawal. The enemy was able to bring fierce fire to bear upon the beach from dominant positions east of Pourville and from the high ground to the west. Allied landing craft came in through the resulting storm of fire with self-sacrificing gallantry and, supported by a courageous rearguard, the greater part of both units successfully evacuated, though many of the men were wounded. Unfortunately, the rearguard itself could not be brought off and, when ammunition ran out and further evacuation was impossible, the men were forced to surrender.

On October 2, 1942, Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil (Charles) Merritt was awarded the Victoria Cross for his leadership and courage at Pourville. Despite the bravery and dedication of Merritt and his men, the death toll on Green Beach was devastatingly high. In just a few short hours, 84 of the South Saskatchewan Regiment and 76 of the Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders lost their lives. Their sacrifice is commemorated on the Pourville Memorial.

Directions

Pourville is a small town roughly 6 kilometres west of the City of Dieppe on route D75. The Pourville monument is located in the centre of the town beside the local church on rue du 19 Aout 1942.

Date modified:

Mémorial de Pourville

Deux milles à l'ouest de Dieppe se trouve le village de Pourville. Sa plage, à laquelle les Alliés avaient donné le nom de code Green Beach lors du raid sur Dieppe, est isolée des plages de Dieppe par de hautes falaises qui la dominent des deux côtés. L'attaque de Pourville compte parmi les quatre débarquements de flanc simultanés qui précèdent l'attaque principale lors du raid sur Dieppe.

À Pourville, les Canadiens ont le bonheur de réussir un certain effet de surprise. En débarquant sur les plages, le South Saskatchewan Regiment et le Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada ne rencontrent qu'une légère résistance. Celle-ci devient de plus en plus forte alors qu'ils traversent la rivière Scie et se lancent en direction de Dieppe. De durs combats s'engagent alors; les hommes du South Saskatchewan sont arrêtés bien avant d'atteindre la ville. Entre-temps, la majorité des Camerons s'avance vers l'objectif, un aérodrome intérieur, et franchit environ trois kilomètres avant d'être obligé de s'arrêter elle aussi. Les deux régiments tentent alors de se retirer.

Les deux régiments subissent de lourdes pertes pendant la retraite. L'ennemi lance un feu nourri sur la plage à partir des positions dominantes à l'est et des hauteurs à l'ouest de Pourville. Les péniches de débarquement bravent l'enfer de feu pour venir au rendez-vous; grâce à l'appui d'une vaillante arrière-garde, le gros des deux unités réussit à rejoindre les péniches, bien que bon nombre des hommes soient blessés. Il sera malheureusement impossible de ramener l'arrière-garde. Quand les munitions font défaut et que toute autre évacuation est impossible, les hommes doivent se rendre.

Le 2 octobre 1942, le Lieutenant-colonel Cecil (Charles) Merritt se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria pour ses qualités de chef et son courage à Pourville. Malgré la bravoure et la volonté de Merritt et de ses hommes, le bilan des morts à Green Beach est effarant. En seulement quelques heures, 84 membres du South Saskatchewan Regiment et 76 des Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders ont perdu la vie. Leur sacrifice est commémoré au Mémorial de Pourville.

Indications routières

Pourville est une petite collectivité située à environ 6 km à l’ouest de la ville de Dieppe, sur la route D75. Le monument commémoratif de Pourville se trouve au centre du village, rue du 19 août 1942, près de l’église.

Date de modification :