Agira Canadian War Cemetery

Agira Canadian War Cemetery

The 1st Canadian Infantry Division and the 1st Canadian Army Tank Brigade (both part of General Montgomery's Eighth Army) sailed from the UK in June 1943 and landed in the south of Sicily July 10, along with their allies from the UK and the US. Agira was one of a number of Sicilian towns taken by the Canadians as they advanced northward across the mountains and over the island's hot, barren terrain toward the Strait of Messina. The town fell on July 28 -- three days after the resignation of Mussolini -- and following five days of hard fighting in what proved to be the Canadians' biggest battle of the Sicilian campaign. In his book, The Canadians in Italy 1943-1945 (Volume II of "The Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War", Ottawa, Queen's Printer, 1956, pp. 133-134), LCol GWL Nicholson describes the entrance of the Canadians:

...about noon an officer of the 1st Canadian Field Regiment, whose eagerness to select a good vantage point for his task of observing fire for the Patricias had carried him right into Agira, found no sign of enemy activity, but streets crowded with people who gave him an enthusiastic welcome. The bombardment was cancelled, and at 2:30 two PPCLI companies entered the town. They received an ovation from the populace on the outskirts; but as they climbed the steep streets into the heart of Agira they met a different kind of welcome from enemy pockets of resistance. It required two hours of fairly stiff house-to-house fighting and the employment of a third rifle company, as well as assistance from a squadron of tanks to clear the town.

Sicily fell completely to the Allies August 17, after 38 days' fighting. On August 6, following the capture of Adrano, the Canadians, who had marched farther in the campaign than any other formation in the Eighth Army, were withdrawn to rest, and so they did not participate in the last 10 days of battle. But during their month in the field they had gained valuable experience and self-confidence. They had also suffered battle casualties. After the Sicilian campaign the decision was made to concentrate into one cemetery the graves of all Canadians who gave their lives in the island fighting, and in September of 1943 Canadian officers chose the site at Agira. It contains the graves of 490 Canadians (13 members of the RCAF and 477 of the army), six of whom are unidentified. It should be remembered, a number of war dead have graves which are unknown (including 58 Canadians who drowned when convoys were attacked en route to Sicily). Their names are commemorated on the Cassino Memorial in mainland Italy. In all, it is estimated that 562 Canadians died as a result of this campaign.

Directions

The Agira Canadian War Cemetery is located on a small hill in the Commune of Agira and the Province of Enna, in the heart of Sicily, approximately 70 kilometres from Catania. After the Sicilian campaign the decision was made to concentrate into one cemetery the graves of all Canadians who gave their lives in the island fighting, and in September of 1943 Canadian officers chose the site at Agira. It contains the graves of 490 Canadians (13 members of the RCAF and 477 of the army), six of whom are unidentified. It should be remembered, a number of war dead have graves which are unknown (including 58 Canadians who drowned when convoys were attacked en route to Sicily). Their names are commemorated on the Cassino Memorial in mainland Italy. In all, it is estimated that 562 Canadians died as a result of this campaign.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre canadien d'Agira

Cimetière de guerre canadien d'Agira

Agira fut l'une des nombreuses villes siciliennes prises par les Canadiens qui avançaient vers le nord en franchissant les montagnes et le terrain chaud et aride vers le détroit de Messine. La ville tomba le 28 juillet -- trois jours après la résignation de Mussolini -- après cinq jours de terribles combats au cours de ce qui fut la plus importante bataille canadienne de la campagne de Sicile. Dans son livre Les Canadiens en Italie 1943-1945 (Volume II de l'« Histoire officielle de participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale », Ottawa, Imprimeur de la Reine, 1956, pp. 138), le lcol GWL Nicholson décrit l'entrée des Canadiens:

...vers midi, un officier du 1er régiment de campagne canadien, dont le désir de trouver un bon endroit pour observer le tir de soutien du Patricia l'avait amené en plein dans Agira, ne découvrait aucun signe d'activité ennemie, mais des rues remplies de gens qui leur faisaient une réception enthousiaste. On annula le bombardement et, à 2 h 30, deux compagnies du PPCLI entraient dans la ville. La population leur fit une ovation dans les banlieues; cependant, comme elles grimpaient les rues montantes du coeur de la ville d'Agira, elles rencontrèrent une sorte différente de bienvenue de la part de postes de résistance ennemis. Il fallut deux heures d'assez rude combat de maison en maison, l'emploi d'une troisième compagnie de fusiliers et l'aide d'un escadron de chars pour nettoyer la ville.

La Sicile tomba complètement aux mains des Alliés, le 17 août, après 38 jours de combat. Le 6 août, après la capture d'Adrano, les hommes de la 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne, qui avaient progressé plus que toute autre formation de la VIIIe Armée, furent envoyés au repos de sorte qu'ils ne participèrent pas au 10 derniers jours de la campagne. Les hommes de la 1re Brigade blindée de l'Armée canadienne livrèrent bataille jusqu'au 10 août. Ce mois de combat avaient toutefois considérablement aguerris les Canadiens, mais les avaient également fort éprouvés. Après la campagne en Sicile, on décida d'inhumer dans un même cimetière la plupart des Canadiens qui avaient donné leur vie au combat. En septembre 1943, des officiers canadiens choisirent le site d'Agira. Les dépouilles de 490 Canadiens (13 membres du CARC et 477 de l'Armée), dont six non identifiés y sont enterrés. Il convient de noter qu'un certain nombre de soldats n'ont aucune sépulture connue (dont 58 Canadiens qui se noyèrent lorsque des convois furent attaqués tandis qu'ils se dirigeaient vers la Sicile). Leurs noms sont commémorés sur le Monument commémoratif de Cassino en Italie. En tout, on estime que 562 Canadiens sont morts au cours de cette campagne.

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Le cimetière de guerre canadien d'Agira occupe le sommet d'une petite colline dans la commune d'Agira de la province d'Enna, au coeur de la Sicile, à environ 70 kilomètres de Catania. Après la campagne en Sicile, on décida d'inhumer dans un même cimetière tous les Canadiens qui avaient donné leur vie au combat. En septembre 1943, des officiers canadiens choisirent le site d'Agira. Les dépouilles de 490 Canadiens (13 membres du CARC et 477 de l'Armée), dont six non identifiés y sont enterrés. Il convient de noter qu'un certain nombre de soldats morts à la guerre n'ont aucune sépulture connue (dont 58 Canadiens qui se noyèrent lorsque des convois furent attaqués tandis qu'ils se dirigeaient vers la Sicile). Leurs noms sont commémorés sur le Monument commémoratif de Cassino en Italie. En tout, on estime que 562 Canadiens sont morts au cours de cette campagne.

Date de modification :