Beach Head War Cemetery

Beach Head War Cemetery

The Anzio landings were conducted early in the morning of January 22 by a combined British-American force under 6th U.S. Corps (Fifth Army) command. The enemy was evidently caught off-guard, for the port was found basically intact and resistance was, at least initially, light. There were only three German engineer companies and one panzer grenadier battalion defending 40 miles of coast here. The area selected for the bridgehead was occupied by the 1st British Division and the 3rd U.S. Division by nightfall the next day. However, their progress was held up by enemy reinforcements as the Germans determined to hold the Gustav Line and contain this new bridgehead which had been established behind it. They were successful for four months.

Canadians were represented at Anzio by the 1st Canadian Special Service Battalion* in the First Special Service Force, a combined U.S.- Canadian unit. The Force landed at the beachhead February 1 and immediately took charge of over one-quarter (the southern end) of Anzio's 30-mile-front. On February 16, the Germans attacked the port, effectively inserting a wedge in the Allied front, and then aimed for the beachhead. The 18th was a dire day for the Force, but thanks to pressure from allies to the south and their own determination, the tide began to turn on the 19th, and on the 20th the enemy gave up this assault. (An Allied attack on Cassino was occurring at roughly the same time.) The Germans tried again February 29, but failed at a cost of 111 soldiers taken prisoner against only five wounded members of the Force. From March 1st on, the bridgehead was secure. The Force, meanwhile, conducted raids against enemy positions.

The Allies eventually broke out from the beachhead, beginning May 23, with the Force attacking northeast. Two days later Cisterna was captured and then the Anzio group finally linked up with U.S. troops advancing from Terracina. In the latter days of May, the fighting took a heavy toll on the Canadians. The Force repelled fierce armoured attacks on the 28th and 30th. But in the end, the Fifth Army was reunited and ready to advance to Rome.

From March 27 - May 6, forty two tunnelers from the Royal Canadian Engineers, helped construct an underground command post for Fifth Army Headquarters; in addition, an U.K. squadron provided cover for the bridgehead for 16 weeks, destroying 19 enemy fighters and damaging countless others. Estimated that 562 Canadians died as a result of this campaign.

Directions

The Beach Head War Cemetery is located just north of Anzio, a small seaside resort in the province of Rome about 60 kilometres south of the capital. It was originally a casualty clearing station which lay close to a site for burials that came directly from the battlefield following the Anzio landings in January 1944. These burials along with concentrations of burials from surrounding temporary cemeteries were brought together after the Allied armies moved forward. In all, the cemetery contains 2,313 graves, 291 of them unknown and most of them from the U.K., followed by Canada. The majority of these war dead fell between January-June 1944. There are 69 Canadian graves, including one unknown and four members of the U.K.. Most (62) of the Canadian soldiers were members of the First Special Service Force. There is also one First World War grave here (not Canadian).

The United States maintains two cemeteries in Italy, one in nearby Nettuno (the other is in Florence).

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre de Beach Head

Cimetière de guerre de Beach Head

Les débarquements à Anzio furent dirigés au petit matin du 22 janvier par une force britannico-américaine sous le commandement du 6e Corps américain (Cinquième armée). L'ennemi fut visiblement pris par surprise parce que le port était pratiquement intact et au début, du moins, il offrit une faible résistance. Il n'y avait que trois compagnies de génie allemandes et un bataillon de grenadiers Panzer qui défendaient 40 milles sur la côte. Le lendemain, à la tombée de la nuit, le secteur choisi pour établir la tête de pont était occupé par la 1re Division britannique et la 3e Division américaine. La progression fut toutefois freinée par les renforts ennemis, car les Allemands étaient résolus à maintenir la ligne Gustav et à contenir cette nouvelle tête de pont qui avait été établie derrière eux. Ils y parvinrent pendant quatre mois.

À Anzio, les Canadiens furent représentés par le 1er Bataillon du service spécial canadien1 du 1er Détachement du service spécial, une unité canado-américaine. Le Détachement avait débarqué à la tête de pont, le 1er février, et avait immédiatement pris en main plus du quart (la partie sud) du front de 30 milles d'Anzio. Le 16 février, les Allemands attaquèrent le port, firent une brèche dans le front allié et s'élancèrent ensuite vers la tête de pont. Le 18 fut une horrible journée pour les hommes du Détachement, mais grâce à la pression exercée par les Alliés, au sud, et à leur propre détermination, le vent se mit à tourner le 19, et le 20, l'ennemi abandonna l'attaque. (À peu près au même moment, les Alliés attaquèrent Cassino.) Les Allemands essayèrent de nouveau le 29 février, mais échouèrent. Cent onze soldats allemands furent faits prisonniers en regard de cinq blessés du côté des membres du Détachement. À partir du 1er mars, la tête de pont fut protégée. Entre-temps, le Détachement entreprit des raids aériens sur les positions ennemies.

À partir du 23 mai, les Alliés quittèrent la tête de pont et le Détachement attaqua au nord-est. Deux jours plus tard, Cisterna était capturée, puis le groupe d'Anzio rejoignit les troupes américaines qui arrivaient de Terracina. Au cours des derniers jours de mai, la bataille infligea de lourdes pertes aux Canadiens. Le 28 et le 30 mai, les hommes du Détachement repoussèrent les violentes attaques blindées. Mais à la fin, les hommes de la Cinquième armée furent réunis et prêts à avancer vers Rome.

1et du 27 mars au 6 mai, par 42 du Corps du génie royal canadien, qui aidèrent à construire un poste de commandement sousterrain pour le Quarrier général de la Cinquième Armée; de plus, un escadron du U.K. assura la protection de la tête de pont pendant 16 semaines, détruisit 19 chasseurs ennemis et en endommagea de nombreux autres.

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Le cimetière de guerre de Beach Head se trouve tout juste au nord d'Anzio, une petite station balnéaire de la province de Rome, à environ 60 kilomètres au sud de la capitale. Ce fut d'abord un poste d'évacuation sanitaire situé à proximité d'un site d'inhumation pour les soldats tombés au combat après les débarquements d'Anzio, en janvier 1944. Les dépouilles et celles qui se trouvaient dans les cimetières avoisinants furent enterrées dans le même site après que les armées alliées eurent entrepris d'avancer. Le cimetière contient 2 313 sépultures; 291 ne sont pas identifiées. Il s'agit principalement de soldats du Royaume-Uni, et ensuite de soldats canadiens. La majorité de ces soldats tombèrent au combat entre janvier et juin 1944. On compte 69 sépultures de soldats canadiens, une sépulture non identifiée et quatre sépultures de membres du U.K.. La plupart (62) des soldats canadiens faisaient partie du 1er Détachement du service spécial. On y trouve aussi la sépulture d'un soldat de la Première Guerre mondiale (il ne s'agit pas d'un Canadien).

Il y a deux cimetières américains en Italie; l'un se trouve près de Nettuno, l'autre, à Florence.

Date de modification :