Catania War Cemetery

Catania War Cemetery

The 1st Canadian Infantry Division and the 1st Canadian Army Tank Brigade (both part of General Montgomery's Eighth Army) sailed from the U.K.. in June 1943 and landed in the south of Sicily July 10 near Pachino, while their allies from the U.K.. and the U.S. landed to the east and west. Opposition was light and so there were few casualties - the majority of them British gliders brought down by strong winds and anti-aircraft fire (60 of 140 gliders landed in the sea). Resistance, however, would increase the deeper the Allies penetrated into Sicily.

Included among the Eighth Army's objectives was the port of Catania, along with the airfields in the plain of Catania. Fearing the loss of these strategic positions, the German and Italian command had concentrated their defences in the northeast corner of the island. Some of the fiercest fighting of the campaign then occurred along the coast at the Primosole Bridge over the Simeto, which was on the route to Catania for the 13th British Corps. The British 1st Parachute Brigade seized the bridge mid-July, but two days later relief troops from the British 50th Infantry Division found themselves facing a challenging counterattack. With the British were slowed on this front, it became more important to pressure the enemy on the Canadian front. The next week, the Canadians captured Leonforte and pushed on towards Nissoria, Agira, and Regalbuto. In the end, the 50th Infantry Division entered Catania unopposed on August 5th.

In Sicily the Allies' air forces assisted the campaign by raiding airfields, as well as the train ferry across the Strait of Messina and radar installations. As a result, reinforcement was next to impossible for the enemy, and the Allied ground troops were not bothered by enemy air forces. And, for the subsequent campaign on mainland Italy, the Allies now had an airbase from which to provide continued support.

Directions

The Catania War Cemetery is one of three Commonwealth war cemeteries in Sicily, along with Syracuse War Cemetery and Agira Canadian War Cemetery. The site is situated just southwest of Catania - a town several kilometres southeast of Agira. Looking north from the cemetery's location on the coastal plain in the Contrada Bicocca, the venerable volcano Mount Etna can be clearly viewed. Many of the war dead here were originally buried in battlefield cemeteries spreading from Lentini to Messina. They lost their lives during the latter part of the eastern campaign in Sicily - including the heavy fighting near Catania as well as the battle for the Simeto River bridgehead. Canadians did not participate in this action; the route of their drive was to the west. As well, they were for the most part withdrawn after capturing Agira and so did not fight in the final days of operation "Husky" - the campaign in Sicily. The cemetery contains 2,142 graves, the majority of them British and 113 of them unknown. However, there are 12 Canadian graves, containing the remains of 22 airmen - all members of the U.K. - although most of them were attached to Royal Air Force squadrons. There is also one Polish grave.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre de Catania

Cimetière de guerre de Catania

La 1re Division d'infanterie canadienne et la 1re Brigade blindée de l'Armée canadienne (qui faisaient toutes deux partie de la 8e Armée du général Montgomery) avaient quitté le Royaume-Uni en juin 1943 et débarquèrent dans le sud de la Sicile le 10 juillet, près de Pachino, tandis que leurs Alliés du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis débarquèrent à l'est et à l'ouest. L'ennemi offrit une faible résistance de sorte que les pertes ne furent pas trop élevées - la majorité de ces pertes furent des planeurs britanniques qui échouèrent dans la mer à cause des vents violents et du feu anti-aérien (60 des 140 planeurs atterrirent dans la mer). La résistance s'accrut toutefois au fur et à mesure que les Alliés pénétrèrent plus profondément en Sicile.

Parmi les objectifs de la Huitième armée, il y avait le port et les aérodromes de la plaine de Catania. Comme ils craignaient de perdre leurs positions stratégiques, les commandements allemand et italien avaient concentré leurs défenses dans le secteur nord-est de l'île. Quelques-uns des combats les plus féroces de la campagne se déroulèrent alors le long du littoral, au pont de Primosole sur la Simeto, qui figurait sur le parcours du 13e Corps britannique vers Catania. La 1re Brigade de parachutistes britanniques s'empara du pont à la mi-juillet, mais deux jours plus tard, des troupes de renfort de la 50e Division d'infanterie britannique firent face à une forte contre-attaque. Comme les Britanniques étaient ralentis sur ce front, il devint important d'exercer des pressions sur l'ennemi sur le front canadien. La semaine suivante, les Canadiens s'emparèrent de Leonforte et avancèrent vers Nissoria, Agira, et Regalbuto. Le 5 août, la 50e Division d'infanterie entrait à Catania sans opposition.

En Sicile, les forces aériennes alliées soutinrent la campagne en effectuant des raids sur les aérodromes, de même que sur le ferry-boat qui traversait le détroit de Messina et les installations radars. L'ennemi ne pouvait donc compter sur des renforts, et les troupes terrestres alliées n'étaient pas importunées par les forces aériennes ennemies. Pendant le reste de la campagne en Italie, les Alliés disposèrent d'une base aérienne à partir de laquelle ils purent assurer un soutien continu.

Indications pour s’y rendre

Le cimetière de guerre de Catania est l'un des trois cimetières de guerre du Commonwealth en Sicile, avec le cimetière de guerre de Syracuse et le cimetière de guerre canadien d'Agira. Il se trouve tout juste au sud-ouest de Catania - une ville située à plusieurs kilomètres au sud-est d'Agira. Au nord du cimetière sur la plaine côtière dans la Contrada Bicocca, se dresse le vénérable volcan Etna. De nombreux soldats morts à la guerre furent d'abord enterrés dans des cimetières de champ de bataille qui vont de Lentini à Messina. Ils périrent au cours de la dernière partie de la campagne orientale en Sicile - notamment au cours des terribles combats qui furent livrés près de Catania et de la bataille pour la tête de pont de la Simeto. Les Canadiens ne participèrent pas à ce combat; leur objectif était à l'ouest. La plupart des Canadiens avaient en outre déjà été retirés après la prise d'Agira, et ne combattirent pas pendant les derniers jours de l'opération Husky - la campagne en Sicile. Le cimetière contient 2 142 sépultures, la majorité étant celles de Britanniques. Cent treize de ces sépultures ne sont pas identifiées. On y compte aussi 12 sépultures canadiennes contenant les restes de 22 aviateurs - tous membres du U.K. - bien que la majorité d'entre eux étaient affectés à des escadrons de la Royal Air Force. Il y a également une sépulture polonaise.

Date de modification :