Cesena War Cemetery

Cesena War Cemetery

On October 19, 1944, nearly one month after the Allies entered Rimini, the Allies found the town of Cesena likewise abandoned by the Germans. The enemy had wanted to withdraw two days earlier to prevent their being encircled by the Allies, but the German High Command insisted the town be held. The 200th Pazer Grenadier Regiment, unable to resist the Allied pressure, withdrew nonetheless, and established themselves behind the Savio River. On the 19th, the 1st Canadian Dvision advanced toward the town, meeting light resistance. Patrols from the Carleton and York Regiment entered Cesena's east side, while British infantrymen marched in from the south. By now, almost the entire German front line was behind the Savio.

That autumn, steady pressure against the enemy was the order of the day and the Allies continued their advance through lands converted into swamps by rain, flooding and destroyed dykes. By mid-October the Canadians had reached the Savio, but they had progressed only 15 miles north of Rimini. On the 24th, after four days of fighting to establish a bridgehead while under fire and with the water continually rising, they were firmly placed on the other side of the river and the Germans were again withdrawing. It was during the German counterattacks against the 1st Canadian Division on October 21-22 that Private Ernest Alvia (Smokey) Smith earned the Victoria Cross.

The end of October saw the Canadians, who had been almost constantly engaged in the campaign since August, withdrawn into reserve, except for the Governor General's Horse Guards, the Royal Canadian Dragoons, the Westminister Regiment, the mortars of the Princess Louise Fuliliers and some artillery and engineering units. These were attached to "Porterforce", a group fo British and Canadian armoured and atillery units commanded by L.Col. A.M. Hoursbrugh-Porter of the U.K.. They would not return to their parent units until the end of November. With the Eighth Army they continued what has been called the "advance across the rivers" to Ravenna. One bridgeless, swollen river, stream and canal after another presented itself as an obstacle on the way from Rimini to Ravenna. The Italian Committee of Liberation from Ravenna supported the Porterforce group, supplying information about positions, and they participated in the drive to Ravenna. In this advance, Porterforce secured the Eighth Army's right flank and captured 171 prisoners, at a cost of 30 Canadian casualities.

On November 9, the town of Forli fell to the Eighth Army's 4th Division and at the same time the entire front pushed north, driving the Germans back to Ravenna. As December began, the 1st Canadian Corps was back in action. While the 1st Infantry Division was struggling to cross the Lamone River, the 5th Armoured Division had advanced across the Montone River, forcing a further retreat by the enemy. The Italian partisans did their part in this campaign, raiding enemy patrols and isolated posts, and on December 2 they attacked German communications and rear installations around Ravenna. On the morning of the 3rd, the Lanark and Renfrew Scottish Regiment and the Westminister Regiment (motor) cleared the village of San Pancrazio. The Lanarks entered Godo that night. The main roads were now cleared and useful, quickening the pace of progress. The Westministers cleared Piangipane in the afternoon of December 4. The same day, the Germans were withdrawing again as the 4th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards outflanked Ravenna in an ecircling movement. A destroyed bridge prevented the tanks from reaching the city so Canadian infantry marched in, linking up with the 27th Lancers of Porterforce. The city was an especially welcome sight for an army now in need of new winter accommodiations.

Directions

The Cesena War Cemetery is located in the commune of Cesena and the province of Forli, on the provincial road to Cervia. It is a half-hour drive from Ravenna. The property was selected as a cemetery site in November 1944. One of the smaller war cemeteries, it contains 775 graves, of which 307 are Canadian, representing nearly every unit of the Canadian Corps. Most of those who are buried here fell in the nearby battlefields during the Allied advance from Rimini to Forli and beyond, between late September and early December of 1944.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre de Cesena

Cimetière de guerre de Cesena

Le 19 octobre 1944, soit près d'un mois après l'entrée des alliés à Rimini, ceux-ci trouvèrent la ville de Cesena abandonnée également par les Allemands. L'ennemi avait souhaité se retirer deux jours plus tôt afin d'éviter d'être encerclé par les alliés, mais le haut commandement allemand insistait pour que l'on tienne la ville. Le 200e Régiment Panzer Grenadier, incapable de résister à l'avance alliée, se replie toutefois et s'installe de l'autre côté du Savio. Le 19, la 1re Division canadienne, qui avance vers la ville, ne rencontre qu'une faible résistance. Des patrouilles du Carleton and York Regiment entrent dans Cesena par l'est, tandis que les fantassins britanniques l'investissent par le sud. À ce moment-là, la ligne de front allemande au complet ou presque se trouve de l'autre côté du Savio.

Au cours de l'automne, on s'emploie à refouler l'ennemi et les alliés maintiennent leur avance à travers les champs transformés en marécages par la pluie, les inondations et la rupture des digues. Vers la mi-octobre, les Canadiens atteignent le Savio, mais leur progression ne les a mené qu'à 15 milles au nord de Rimini. Le 24, après quatre jours de combats pour leur permettre d'établir une tête de pont, malgré les feux nourris et la menace continuelle d'inondations, ils s'établissent solidement de l'autre côté de la rivière. Les Allemands se retirent une fois de plus. La bravoure du soldat Ernest Alvia (Smokey) Smith lors des contre-attaques de l'armée allemande contre la 1re Division canadienne les 21 et 22 octobre lui vaut la Croix de Victoria.

À la fin d'octobre, les troupes canadiennes qui participent presque sans interruption aux opérations militaires depuis août, sont mises en réserve, à l'exception des Governor General's Horse Guards, des Royal Canadian Dragoons, du Westminster Regiment, des mortiers du Princess Louise Fusiliers et de certaines formations d'artillerie et de génie. Ces derniers sont rattachés à la Porterforce, groupe de régiments blindés et de régiments d'artillerie britanniques et canadiens commandé par le lieutenant-colonel A.M. Horsbrugh-Porter du Royaume-Uni. Ils ne retourneront à leur unité d'appartenance qu'à la fin de novembre. Avec la 8e Armée, ils poursuivent ce qu'on a appelé la «bataille des rivières», jusqu'à Ravenne. Maints cours d'eau et rivières en crue et sans pont s'érigent comme autant d'obstacles depuis Rimini jusqu'à Ravenne.

Le comité italien de libération de Ravenne soutient la Porterforce, lui fournissant des renseignements sur les positions et participe à la poussée sur Ravennne. Au cours de cette avance, la Porterforce assure la sécurité du flanc droit de la 8e Armée et fait 171 prisonniers, au prix de 30 vies humaines chez les Canadiens.

Le 9 novembre, la ville de Forli tombe aux mains de la 4e Division de la 8e Armée. Au même moment, la ligne de front est projetée vers le nord et les Allemands sont de nouveau refoulés sur Ravenne. Début décembre, le 1er Corps d'armée canadien entre de nouveau en action. Alors que la 1re Division d'infanterie lutte pour traverser la rivière Lamone, la 5e Division blindée a déjà franchi la rivière Montone, forçant ainsi l'ennemi à battre de nouveau en retraite. Les partisans italiens ont joué un rôle clé dans cette campagne, en effectuant des raids sur les patrouilles ennemies et des postes isolés. Le 2 décembre, ils attaquent les installations à l'arrière et les services de communication allemands près de Ravenne. Le 3 au matin, le Lanark and Renfrew Scottish Regiment et le Westminister Regiment (motorisé) libèrent le village de San Pancrazio. Le Lanark entre à Godo cette nuit-là. Les routes principales sont maintenant libres et praticables, ce qui permet d'accélérer le rythme de progression. Le Westminster Regiment libère Piangipane l'après-midi du 4 décembre. Le même jour, les Allemands battent de nouveau en retraite alors que le 4th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards encercle Ravenne. La destruction d'un pont empêche alors les chars d'assaut d'atteindre la ville. L'infanterie canadienne fait son entrée et se joint au 27e Lancers de la Porterforce. L'armée était fort heureuse d'entrer dans la ville qui allait pouvoir lui procurer l'hébergement pour l'hiver.

Indications pour s’y rendre

Le cimetière de guerre de Cesena est situé dans la commune de Cesena, dans la province de Forli, en bordure de la route de province menant à Cervia, à une demi-heure de voiture de Ravenne. La propriété est désignée cimetière en novembre 1944. Ce cimetière de guerre, qui compte parmi les plus petits, renferme 775 tombes, dont 307 de Canadiens. Presque toutes les unités du Corps canadien y sont représentées. La plupart des soldats ensevelis ici sont morts sur les champs de bataille tout près pendant la poussée des alliés de Rimini à Forli et au-delà, entre la fin de septembre et le début de décembre 1944.

Date de modification :