Coriano Ridge War Cemetery

Coriano Ridge War Cemetery

To prevent the capture of Rimini, the Germans reinforced the surrounding region, particularly at Coriano Ridge, a feature that dominated the coastline and the approaches by land. The entire Canadian Corps had set out against the Adriatic sector with the ultimate aim of liberating Rimini in late August 1944. On the 25th, they crossed the Metauro River, one of half-a-dozen rivers in the path of the advance. On September 3rd, the Canadians set their sights on the ridge. The Royal Canadian Dragoons cleared Riccione using their armoured cars. At the same time, the 5th Division headed inland and took the village of Misano. The latter group was now to take Coriano Ridge, but the rains began and, combined with German resistance, held them up.

On September 12 the 1st British and 5th Canadian Armoured Divisions of the Eighth Army resumed the advance on the ridge. The entire corps artillery pounded the enemy front. The next day, after heavy fighting - including house-to-house battles - the Canadians possessed the ridge. The Perth Regiment penetrated by 2 a.m., and the engineers and tanks soon followed. The Canadians continued to progress in a week of heavy fighting described as the equal of Cassino, and ultimately captured the strategic position of San Fortunato Ridge. This cleared the path to Rimini. On the 21st, the 3rd Greek Mountain Brigade entered the town to find the Germans had withdrawn. They also saw firsthand how badly Rimini, which had served as a key junction along the railway line to the industrial north, had been damaged during the war. More than 1,000 of its citizens had been killed during Allied air raids.

In the month of September, the Eighth Army had advanced approximately 48 kilometres. The cost was high. According to the official history, The Canadian Army in the Second World War (Volume II, The Canadians in Italy, by LCol G.W.L. Nicholson, Queen's Printer, Ottawa, 1956), battle casualties for the 1st Division in the period August 25-September 22 totalled 2,511, including 626 fatalities. Over 1,000 were evacuated due to illness. The 5th Armoured Division had 1,385 casualties, including 390 killed, before it was withdrawn September 19.

Directions

The Coriano Ridge War Cemetery is located in the commune of Coriano in the province of Forli, southwest of Rimini and on the western slope of Coriano Ridge. The village of Coriano is 1.5 kilometres away, on the crest of the ridge. The cemetery contains 1,940 graves, primarily from the U.K., Canada and New Zealand. As well, there is one "Soviet" grave. 427 Canadians (including five U.K. members) are buried here, most of whom gave their lives in the advance to Rimini.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre de la crête de Coriano

Cimetière de guerre de la crête de Coriano

Dans le but d'empêcher la capture de Rimini, les Allemands avaient renforcé la région avoisinante, plus particulièrement la crête de Coriano, une élévation qui dominait la ligne côtière et les approches. Le Corps canadien en entier se retrouva dans le secteur de l'Adriatique avec l'objectif ultime de libérer Rimini à la fin du mois d'août 1944. Le 25, ils traversent le fleuve Metauro, l'une des six rivières à franchir. Le 3 septembre, les Canadiens aperçoivent la crête. Les Royal Canadian Dragoons nettoient Riccione au moyen de leurs véhicules blindés. Au même moment, la 5e Division progresse et s'empare du village de Misano. Le dernier groupe doit maintenant prendre la crête de Coriano, mais la pluie et la résistance des Allemands l'en empêchent.

Le 12 septembre, la 1re Division britannique et la 5e Division blindée canadienne de la Huitième armée avancent de nouveau vers la crête. Toute l'artillerie organique du corps d'armée pilonne le front ennemi. Le lendemain, après de durs combats - y compris des batailles livrées maison par maison - les Canadiens s'emparent de la crête. Le Perth Regiment atteint le sommet à 2 heures, suivi des soldats du Génie et des chars d'assaut. Les Canadiens poursuivent leur avance pendant toute une semaine d'un feu nourri d'une intensité égale à Cassino, et finissent par s'emparer de la position stratégique de la crête de San Fortunato, ce qui ouvre la voie vers Rimini. Le 21, les hommes de la 3e Brigade d'alpinistes grecs entrent dans la ville et constatent que les Allemands ont battu en retraite. Ils voient aussi que Rimini - qui a servi de jonction clé le long du chemin de fer jusqu'au nord industriel - a été ravagé. Plus de 1 000 citoyens ont été tués au cours des raids aériens alliés.

Au cours du mois de septembre, la Huitième armée a franchi 48 kilomètres. Le coût fut élevé. D'après l'histoire officielle, L'Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (Volume II, Les Canadiens en Italie, par le lcol G.W.L. Nicholson, Imprimeur de la Reine, Ottawa, 1956), au cours de la période du 25 août au 22 septembre, la 1re Division a subi 2 511 pertes, dont 626 fatales. Plus de 1 000 soldats furent évacués à cause de maladie. La 5e Division blindée a subi 1 385 pertes, dont 390 morts avant d'être retirée le 19 septembre.

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Le cimetière de guerre de la crête de Coriano est situé dans la commune de Coriano dans la province de Forli, au sud-ouest de Rimini sur le versant ouest de la crête. Le village de Coriano se trouve à 1,5 kilomètres, au sommet de la crête. Le cimetière contient 1 940 sépultures, surtout de soldats du Royaume-Uni, du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Zélande. On y trouve aussi la sépulture d'un soldat russe. Quelque 427 Canadiens (dont cinq membres du U.K.) y sont inhumés, la plupart ayant donné leur vie au cours de la progression vers Rimini.

Date de modification :