Moro River Canadian War Cemetery

Moro River Canadian War Cemetery

By the winter of 1943 the German armies in Italy were defending a line stretching from the Tyrrhenian Sea north of Naples, to the Adriatic Sea south of Ortona. The Allies prepared to break through this line to capture Rome. For its part, the 1st Canadian Infantry Division was to cross the Moro River and take Ortona.

On December 6, 1943, the Canadians crossed the river, attempting to capture Villa Rogatti and San Leonardo, two towns on its far bank. The Germans resisted, but, by focusing on San Leonardo, the Canadians succeeded in establishing a bridgehead. The following week, members of the Royal 22e Régiment, supported by tanks of the Ontario Regiment, launched an attack on the flanks of the deep gulley near Casa Berardi, where the Germans held their defensive positions and continually thwarted the Canadian advance. This attack, combined with a further assault by the 48th Highlanders and the Royal Canadians, finally drove the enemy out. After two weeks, the Canadians were free to advance to Ortona. And Captain Paul Triquet of the Royal 22e earned the VC.

The battle for the seaside town of Ortona was one of the most bitter of the war. Ortona was taken after eight days of fierce fighting. The term "mouseholing" has often been used to describe the house-to-house battles. On December 28, having been driven to the town's northern outskirts, the Germans withdrew. In all, the fighting in December cost the 1st Canadian Division over 500 fatal casualties. In January of 1944 the Canadians made further, but limited, advances and then settled into patrolling activities in this sector until March.

Directions

The Moro River Canadian War Cemetery is located on high ground near the Adriatic Sea at San Donato, in the Commune of Ortona (about 5 kilometres south of the town) and the Province of Chieti.

In January 1944 the Canadian Corps selected this site, intending that it would contain the graves of those who died during the Ortona battle and in the fighting in the weeks before and after it. Today, there are 1,615 graves in the cemetery, of which over 50 are unidentified and 1, 375 are Canadian.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre canadien de la Moro

Cimetière de guerre canadien de la Moro

Pendant l'hiver de 1943, les armées allemandes en Italie défendaient une ligne qui s'étendait depuis la mer Thyrénéenne au nord de Naples, jusqu'à l'Adriatique au sud d'Ortona. L'objectif des Alliés consistait à enfoncer cette ligne et à s'emparer de Rome. De son côté, la 1re Division de l'infanterie canadienne devait franchir la rivière Moro et s'emparer d'Ortona.

Le 6 décembre 1943, les Canadiens franchirent la rivière en vue de s'emparer de Villa Rogatti et de San Leonardo, deux villes situées sur la rive opposée. Les Allemands opposèrent une résistance, mais en se concentrant sur la prise de San Leonardo, les Canadiens parvinrent à établir une tête de pont. La semaine suivante, les membres du Royal 22e Régiment, soutenus par des chars d'assaut de l'Ontario Regiment, lancèrent une attaque sur la rive du profond ravin près de Casa Berardi, là où se trouvaient les positions défensives des Allemands qui ne cessaient de freiner l'avance des Canadiens. Cette attaque, combinée à l'assaut du 48e Highlanders et du Royal Canadians, permit enfin de repousser l'ennemi. Après deux semaines, les Canadiens purent avancer vers Ortona. Et le capitaine Paul Triquet, du Royal 22e, obtint la Croix de Victoria.

La bataille d'Ortona fut l'une des plus féroces de la guerre. Ortona fut prise après huit jours d'âpres combats. On a souvent utilisé l'expression « trou de souris » pour décrire les batailles maison par maison. Le 28 décembre, après avoir été repoussés vers la banlieue nord de la ville, les Allemands se retirèrent. Au cours des combats du mois de décembre, la 1re Division canadienne subit plus de 500 pertes fatales. En janvier 1944, les Canadiens progressèrent quelque peu, puis se limitèrent à des activités de patrouille dans ce secteur jusqu'en mars.

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Le cimetière de guerre canadien de la Moro se trouve sur un promontoire près de l'Adriatique, à San Donato, dans la commune d'Ortona (à environ 5 kilomètres de la ville) et la province de Chieti. En janvier 1944, les Corps d'armée canadien choisit ce site, afin d'y inhumer ceux qui périrent au cours de la bataille d'Ortona et des combats livrés pendant les semaines qui l'avaient précédée et suivie. Aujourd'hui, on y trouve 1 651 sépultures dont plus de 50 non identifiées et celles de 1 375 Canadiens.

Date de modification :