Price of Peace Monument

Price of Peace monument

The Price of Peace monument is located in the Piazza Plebiscito in Ortona, Italy. This powerful memorial was commissioned by a group of Canadian Veterans who had held a special reunion in 1998 in the town where they had fought during the Second World War. Designed by Canadian artist Rob Surette, it was unveiled in 1999 to commemorate the sacrifices and achievements of our soldiers during the Battle of Ortona.

During Christmas 1943, the historic town of Ortona along the Adriatic coast was the scene of vicious fighting in the Italian Campaign. Its steep, rubble-filled streets limited the use of tanks and artillery and made it an infantryman's battle. Over the course of several days of hard combat, the Canadians often smashed their way through walls and buildings—"mouseholing" as they called it – to avoid having to attack through the deadly streets that were swept by enemy fire. It would be some of the toughest fighting of the war for the Canadians and many of them became casualties before the town officially fell on December 28, 1943.

The square where the Price of Peace monument is located was badly damaged and the base of the memorial incorporates bricks from buildings that had been smashed in the fighting. Atop the memorial is a bronze, life-sized sculpture of a wounded Canadian soldier being comforted by a comrade.

Date modified:

Monument Le Prix de la paix

Price of Peace monument

Le monument Le Prix de la paix est situé à la Piazza Plebiscito dans la ville italienne d’Ortona. Ce monument commémoratif saisissant a été commandé par un groupe d’anciens combattants canadiens ayant organisé une réunion spéciale en 1998 dans la ville où ils avaient pris part aux combats pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le monument, qui a été créé par l’artiste canadien Rob Surette, a été inauguré en 1999 pour souligner les sacrifices et les réalisations des soldats canadiens pendant la bataille d’Ortona.

Pendant la période de Noël en 1943, la ville historique d’Ortona, située le long de la côte de l’Adriatique a été la scène de violents combats durant la campagne d’Italie. Les rues escarpées et jonchées de décombres limitaient l’usage de chars et d’artillerie et faisaient du combat une bataille de fantassins. Pendant plusieurs jours de bataille ardue, les Canadiens ont fait sauter des murs et des immeubles – technique qu’ils appelaient « trous de souris » – pour éviter les rues mortelles qui étaient ravagées par le feu de l’ennemi. Il s’agissait de l’une des batailles les plus rudes de la guerre pour les soldats canadiens, et bon nombre d’entre eux sont morts au combat avant que la ville ne tombe officiellement le 28 décembre 1943.

La place où est situé le monument Le Prix de la paix se trouve dans une partie de la ville qui a été gravement endommagée pendant la guerre, et la base du monument est formée de briques d’immeubles qui ont été détruits lors du combat. Sur le monument, on y trouve une sculpture en bronze de grandeur nature d’un soldat canadien blessé et d’un compagnon qui le réconforte.

Date de modification :