Ravenna War Cemetery

Ravenna War Cemetery

On December 1, the Canadian Corps had returned to action, just as the heavier fighting was beginning. In the first three weeks of the month, the Canadians would participate in the liberation of Ravenna (December 4 - see Cesena War Cemetery), as well as four other towns, 30 villages, almost 1000 smaller communities, and three well-defended water lines within a nine-mile area.

North of Ravenna, the Allies were challenged by two main rivers - the Lamone and Senio - which would be left behind despite bitter counterattacks. For two regiments from the 1st Infantry Division - the Royal Canadian Regiment and the Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment - attempts to set up a bridgehead at the Lamone claimed 164 casualties in 12 hours when the Germans counter-attacked December 5. However, infantry from the 5th Armoured Division, with support from low-flying aircraft, finally succeeded in establishing a bridgehead by mid-December. The Canadians would press on. They reached the Senio by year's end and this would be the farthest advance they would make in Italy as they subsequently settled into a defensive campaign.

Between Dec 2-22, the 1st Canadian Corps suffered 548 killed in a war characterized by rain, flooding, shortages of ammunition and reinforcements, and continued resistance and counter-attack by the Germans.* The end result was a winter break in the fighting, from January 1945 until April 1945 (except for the 1st Canadian Armoured Brigade, which supported the Americans and British north of Florence into February), when the Spring offensive began. By then, the 1st Canadian Corps had transferred to northwest Europe.

*From the official history, The Canadian Army in the Second World War (Volume II, The Canadians in Italy, by LCol G.W.L. Nicholson, Queen's Printer, Ottawa, 1956)

Directions

Ravenna War Cemetery is located in the province of Ravenna, 12 kilometres west of the town bearing the same name. What began as a battlefield cemetery became permanent. It contains the graves of nearly 1,000 Commonwealth war dead, most of them - 438 - Canadian, including two who are unknown. They were primarily members of the 1st Infantry Division; five belonged to the U.K.. The cemetery also contains the graves of 33 members of the Jewish Infantry Brigade Group (which was formed in September 1944 by volunteers from Palestine), and a small number of First World War participants. The 49 members of the Royal 22e Régiment buried here make this the most significantly represented unit. Most of the Canadians lost their lives during the "advance across the rivers", as well as in the patrolling actions that followed in late 1944 and early 1945.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Cimetière de guerre de Ravenne

Cimetière de guerre de Ravenne

Le 1er décembre, le Corps canadien retourna au combat au plus chaud de la bataille. Au cours des trois premières semaines du mois, les Canadiens participèrent à la libération de Ravenne (Le 4 décembre - voir Cimetière de guerre de Cesena), ainsi que de quatre autres villes, 30 villages, et près de 1 000 petites localités, sans compter trois lignes de flottaison bien défendues à l'intérieur d'un secteur de 9 milles.

Au nord de Ravenne, les Alliés réussirent à traverser deux rivières - la Lamone et la Senio - malgré de violentes contre-attaques. Deux régiments de la 1re Division d'infanterie - le Royal Canadian Regiment et le Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment - tentèrent d'établir une tête de pont à la Lamone et subirent 164 pertes en 12 heures lorsque les Allemands contre-attaquèrent, le 5 décembre. Toutefois, l'infanterie de la 5e Division blindée, avec l'appui d'avions à vol rasant, parvint à établir une tête de pont à la mi-décembre. Les soldats atteignirent la Senio à la fin de l'année. Ce fut leur plus importante progression en Italie puisqu'après cela, ils entreprirent une campagne défensive.

Du 2 au 22 décembre, le 1er Corps canadien accusa 548 pertes dans une guerre marquée par la pluie, les inondations, les pénuries de munitions et de renforts ainsi que la résistance et les contre-attaques des Allemands.1 Il s'ensuivit une pause hivernale qui dura de janvier à avril 1945 (sauf pour la 1re Brigade blindée canadienne qui soutint les Américains et les Britanniques au nord de Florence jusqu'au cours du mois de février) lorsque l'offensive du printemps commença. Le 1er Corps canadien se rendit alors dans le nord-ouest de l'Europe.

1D'après l'histoire officielle, L'Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (Volume II, Les Canadiens en Italie, par le lcol G.W.L. Nicholson, Imprimeur de la Reine, Ottawa, 1956)

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Le cimetière de guerre de Ravenne est situé dans la province de Ravenne, à 12 kilomètres à l'ouest de la ville du même nom. Le cimetière fut d'abord un cimetière de champ de bataille, puis devint un cimetière permanent. Il contient les sépultures de près de 1 000 soldats du Commonwealth - notamment celles de 438 Canadiens dont deux qui ne sont pas identifiés. Ils étaient principalement des membres de la 1re Division d'infanterie; cinq appartenaient au U.K.. Le cimetière contient aussi les sépultures de 33 membres du Jewish Infantry Brigade Group (mis sur pied en septembre 1944 par des volontaires de la Palestine), et celles d'un certain nombre de soldats ayant pris part à la Première Guerre mondiale. L'unité qui y compte le plus de représentants est celle Royal 22e Régiment; 49 de ses membres y sont inhumés. La plupart des Canadiens ont péri au cours de la traversée des rivières, de même que dans le cadre des patrouilles qui ont suivi à la fin de 1944 et au début de 1945.

Date de modification :