Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery

Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery

Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery

Most of the soldiers buried at Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery lost their lives in the fighting north of Antwerp during the Battle of the Scheldt, as the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, with support from the 4th Canadian Armoured Division, worked to clear the right (north) bank of the Scheldt estuary of German forces. Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery contains 1,118 Commonwealth burials of the Second World War, 31 of which are unidentified.

Directions

Located north of the Scheldt River near the Belgian border, Bergen-op-Zoom contains 968 Canadian graves, including 64 from the RCAF.

Most of the soldiers buried here lost their lives in the fighting north of Antwerp during the Battle of the Scheldt, as the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, with support from the 4th Canadian Armoured Division, worked to clear the right (north) bank of the Scheldt estuary of German forces.

Bergen-op-Zoom is approximately 40 kilometres north-west of Antwerp (Belgium). Bergen-op-Zoom War Cemetery and Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery are almost next to one another 3 kilometres east of the town centre.

  • Leave the A58 Motorway by taking the Bergen-op-Zoom Exit which leads on to the Roseveltlaan.
  • At the first crossroads turn right where there are signs posted directing to the cemeteries.
  • There is further signs posted after approximately 1 km and the cemetery is approximately 1.5 kms along the road on the left hand side.

For additional information on the cemetery visit the Commonwealth War Graves Commission website.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom

La plupart des soldats enterrés au cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom ont perdu la vie dans les combats qui ont eu lieu au nord d’Anvers pendant la bataille de l’Escaut, alors que la 2e Division d’infanterie canadienne, avec l’appui de la 4e Division blindée canadienne, s’employait à éliminer les forces allemandes de la rive droite (nord) de l’estuaire de l’Escaut. Le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom compte 1 118 sépultures du Commonwealth de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, dont 31 ne sont pas identifiées.

Indications routières

Situé au nord de l'Escaut, près de la frontière belge, le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom compte 968 tombes de Canadiens, parmi lesquels 64 membres du CARC.

La plupart des soldats enterrés ici ont péri lors de la bataille de l'Escaut, en combattant dans le nord d'Anvers (Antwerp), tandis que la 2e Division canadienne d'infanterie – appuyée par la 4e Division canadienne blindée – tentait de dégager la rive droite (nord) de l'estuaire de l'Escaut, occupée par les Allemands.

Bergen-op-Zoom se trouve à une quarantaine de kilomètres au nord ouest d’Anvers (Belgique). Le cimetière de guerre de Bergen-op-Zoom et le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom sont presque voisins. Ils se trouvent à 3 km à l’est du centre ville.

  • Quitter l’autoroute A58 en prenant la sortie pour Bergen op Zoom qui mène sur la Roseveltlaan.
  • Au premier carrefour, tourner à droite aux panneaux indiquant les cimetières.
  • D’autres panneaux se trouvent à environ 1 km. Le cimetière est à environ 1,5 km sur la gauche.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le cimetière, consulter le site Web de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth.

Date de modification :