Paardeberg Memorial and Vendusie Drift Garden of Remembrance

The Paardeberg Memorial and Vendusie Drift Garden of Remembrance honours the Canadian soldiers who died during the South African War's Battle of Paardeberg.

Boshof District of Free State, South Africa

Share:

South African War

Visitor Information

Boshof District of Free State, South Africa

The Vendusie Drift Garden of Remembrance is located in the Boshof District of Free State, South Africa. It is 9.1 km from the Paardeberg Museum. Follow the dirt road and turn right at the Cannon sign, travel 600 m, turn right, and travel a further 200 m.

Latitude: -28.94222

Longitude: 25.15724

The Paardeberg Memorial and Vendusie Drift Garden of Remembrance is open 24 hours a day.

Canada's first major international engagement

The men buried in the Vendusie Drift Garden of Remembrance lost their lives during the Battle of Paardeberg (18–27 February 1900), which was the first major engagement for Canadian troops in the South African War. The highest single-day losses our soldiers suffered in the conflict came on the battle’s opening day when 18 Canadians were killed and 60 were wounded. The Battle of Paardeberg would be the first significant victory for the British forces in the war.

Source : Le Royal Canadian Regiment

Lest we forget

The special memorial stone erected in the Garden of Remembrance commemorates all those believed to be buried in the cemetery without a headstone. A total of 34 Canadians—all members of the 2nd (Special Service) Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry—lay at rest there.

Date modified:

Mémorial de Paardeberg et Jardin du Souvenir de Vendusie

Le mémorial de Paardeberg et le Jardin du Souvenir de Vendusie rendent hommage aux soldats canadiens morts au combat durant la bataille de Paardeberg, lors de la guerre d’Afrique du Sud.

District de Boshof dans la province de l’État libre, Afrique du Sud

Partager :

Guerre d’Afrique du Sud

Information pour les visiteurs

District de Boshof dans la province de l’État libre, Afrique du Sud

Le Jardin du Souvenir de Vendusie Drift est situé dans le district Boshof de l'État libre, en Afrique du Sud. Il est situé à 9,1 km du musée de Paardeberg. Il faut suivre un chemin de terre et tourner à droite au panneau Cannon, parcourir environ 600 m et tourner à droite pour ensuite parcourir 200 m.

Latitude: -28.94222

Longitude: 25.15724

Le Mémorial de Paardeberg et le Jardin du Souvenir de Vendusie sont ouverts 24 heures par jour.

Premier engagement militaire majeur du Canada à l’échelle internationale

Les hommes enterrés dans le Jardin du Souvenir de Vendusie Drift ont perdu la vie durant la bataille de Paardeberg (du 18 au 27 février 1900), le premier déploiement majeur de troupes canadiennes pendant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud. C’est le premier jour de la bataille où les Canadiens ont subi les plus lourdes pertes, alors que 18 Canadiens ont perdu la vie et 60 autres ont été blessés. La bataille de Paardeberg constituait pour les forces britanniques la première victoire importante de la guerre.

Source : Le Royal Canadian Regiment

N’oublions jamais

Le monument commémoratif en pierre érigé dans le Jardin du Souvenir rend hommage à toutes les personnes qui, croit-on, sont enterrées dans le cimetière sans pierre tombale. Au total, 34 citoyens canadiens, tous membres du 2e Bataillon de service spécial du Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry, y reposent.

Date de modification :