Language selection


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

St. Julien Canadian Memorial

The St. Julien Canadian Memorial commemorates the brave action of the Canadian First Division during the Second Battle of Ypres. There, Canadians withstood the first poison gas attacks of the First World War.

St. Julien, Langemark, Belgium

Share:

First World War

Visitor Information

Brugseweg 123, 8920 Langemark-Poelkapelle, Belgium

The St. Julien Canadian Memorial is about 50 kms north of Lille, 7 kms northeast of Ypres, 30 kms west of Courtrai and 245 kms north of Paris. You can reach Ypres by train or by bus; the stations are side by side in the centre of the town. The Memorial is about 7 kms away from them. You can reach it by bus, direction Roulers (line 745 Roulers) and get off at stop number 36, which is right at the Memorial, beyond the village of St. Julien.

The St. Julien Canadian Memorial is open 24 hours a day.

Certain areas at the St. Julian Canadian Memorial are now restricted due to upcoming work. Visitors can still view the memorial and visit the site. This work is an important part of Veterans Affairs Canada’s continuing commitment to preserve and protect important Canadian cultural resources.

Canada's heroic stand

Visible for several miles from its site beside the main road from Ypres to Bruges, the impressive Canadian Memorial at St. Julien stands like a sentinel over those who died during the heroic stand of Canadians during the first gas attacks of the First World War.

“The Brooding Soldier”

It is one of the most striking of all the battlefield memorials on the Western Front. Rising almost 11 metres from a stone-flagged court, "The Brooding Soldier" surmounts a single shaft of granite - the bowed head and shoulders of a Canadian soldier with folded hands resting on arms reversed. The expression on the face beneath the steel helmet is resolute yet sympathetic, as though its owner meditates on the battle in which his comrades displayed such great valour. The statue is set in the middle of a garden surrounded by tall cedars, which are kept trimmed to perfect cones to match and complement the towering granite shaft.

Inspired design

The designer of the monument was a Regina architect, Frederick Chapman Clemesha, who was wounded while serving with the Canadian Corps during the war. The stone for the shaft was cut in quarries of the Vosges and the surmounting bust was carved in Brussels.

Official unveiling

The St. Julien Canadian Memorial was unveiled on 8 July, 1923, by HRH the Duke of Connaught. Among the many veterans who were present was the former Commander-in-Chief of the Allied Armies, Marshal Ferdinand Foch. Speaking in tribute to those whom the Memorial honoured, Marshal Foch said: "The Canadians paid heavily for their sacrifice and the corner of earth on which this Memorial of gratitude and piety rises has been bathed in their blood. They wrote here the first page in that Book of Glory which is the history of their participation in the war."

In memoriam

The inscription on the Memorial recalls the Canadian participation in the Second Battle of Ypres:

THIS COLUMN MARKS THE BATTLEFIELD WHERE 18,000 CANADIANS ON THE BRITISH LEFT WITHSTOOD THE FIRST GERMAN GAS ATTACKS THE 22ND-24TH OF APRIL 1915. 2,000 FELL AND HERE LIE BURIED
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien

Le mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien rend hommage aux braves actions de la Première Armée canadienne pendant la deuxième bataille d’Ypres. Les Canadiens y avaient été confrontés aux premières attaques de gaz toxique de la Première Guerre mondiale.

St. Julien, Langemark, Belgique

partager :

Première Guerre mondiale

Information pour les visiteurs

Brugseweg 123, 8920 Langemark-Poelkapelle, Belgium

Le mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien est situé à environ 50 km au nord de Lille, 7 km au nord-est d'Ypres, 30 km à l'ouest de Courtrai et 245 km au nord de Paris. Vous pouvez vous rendre à Ypres en train ou en autobus. Les stations se situent l'une à côté de l'autre au centre de la ville. Le mémorial se situe à environ 7 km des stations. Vous pouvez vous y rendre en autobus en direction de Roulers (ligne 745 Roulers) et descendre à l'arrêt numéro 36 lequel se trouve juste au mémorial, après le village de St. Julien.

Le mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien est ouvert 24h / 24.

Certains espaces au Mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien ne sont plus accessible en amont de futurs travaux. Les visiteurs peuvent tout de même visiter le mémorial et le site. Ce travail est un élément important de l’engagement continu d’Anciens Combattants Canada à préserver et à protéger les ressources culturelles canadiennes importantes.

Résistance héroïque du Canada

Visible depuis plusieurs kilomètres, en bordure de la route principale allant d'Ypres à Bruges, l'impressionnant Mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien semble monter la garde auprès des morts, telle une sentinelle, pour rappeler la résistance héroïque des Canadiens durant les premières attaques aux gaz de la Première Guerre mondiale.

« Soldat en méditation »

Ce mémorial est l'un des plus saisissants monuments de champs de bataille du front occidental. D'une hauteur d'environ 11 mètres, ce simple bloc de granit, dressé au centre d'un parc dallé de pierre, est surmonté du « Soldat en méditation », la tête penchée, les épaules courbées, les mains repliées sur les bras retournés. L'expression du visage qui apparaît sous le casque d'acier est résolue mais sympathique, comme si ce soldat canadien méditait sur la bataille au cours de laquelle ses camarades firent preuve de tant de vaillance. Le mémorial se dresse au centre d'un jardin entouré de cèdres géants taillés en cônes impeccables, qui s'harmonisent avec ce bloc élancé de granit.

Design inspiré

Le mémorial a été dessiné par un architecte de Regina, monsieur Frederick Chapman Clemesha, qui fut blessé lorsqu'il servait dans le Corps canadien durant la guerre. La pierre de la base du mémorial a été tirée des carrières des Vosges, tandis que le buste a été sculpté à Bruxelles.

Dévoilement officiel

Le Mémorial canadien à Saint-Julien fut dévoilé le 8 juillet 1923 par S.A.R. le duc de Connaught. Parmi les nombreux vétérans présents à cette cérémonie se trouvait l'ancien commandant en chef des Armées alliées, le maréchal Ferdinand Foch. Rendant hommage à ceux que ce mémorial voulait honorer, le maréchal déclara : « Les Canadiens ont payé cher leur sacrifice, et le coin de terre sur lequel se dresse ce monument de gratitude et de piété baigne dans leur sang. Ils ont écrit ici la première page du Livre de Gloire qui est l'histoire de leur participation à cette guerre ».

En mémoire

L'inscription qui figure sur le mémorial rappelle la participation canadienne à la deuxième bataille d'Ypres :

ICI LES 22-24 AVRIL 1915 DIX-HUIT MILLE CANADIENS DE LA GAUCHE BRITANNIQUE RÉSISTÈRENT VICTORIEUSEMENT AUX PREMIÈRES ATTAQUES DE GAZ DES ALLEMANDS 2 000 D'ENTRE EUX GLORIEUSEMENT TOMBÉS REPOSENT PRÈS DE CETTE COLONNE

Monuments commémoratifs de la Première Guerre mondiale

Page principale des monuments commémoratifs
Date de modification :