Tradition Grows

The Brant Memorial in Brantford, Ontario, honours the Mohawk Chief Joseph Brant, who fought alongside British troops during both the Seven Years' War and the American Revolution. (Library and Archives Canada / PA-66647)

It is difficult to pinpoint reasons for the response of Indigenous people. Many volunteered for the same reasons other Canadians did, i.e. because their friends and relatives did, for patriotism, for the chance of adventure or simply to earn a guaranteed wage.

Some volunteered for reasons that were unique to their band or reserve. One member of the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte Band attributes his reserve's high enlistment ratio to its ties to Great Britain: "We came over with the United Empire Loyalists from the United States. Our treaties are with the Crown, so, when the Crown calls, you go."18

One Indigenous historian suggests that the Great War offered First Nations men who lived on reserves an opportunity to assume a more active role.19 According to his theory, reserve life had made the role of men less important, a change to which many had difficulty adjusting. He also says, for some, the war presented a chance to escape boredom on the reserve.

Tradition was also a factor in the response. Indigenous peoples in Canada had a well-established history of fighting on the side of Great Britain, dating back to the activities of the Mohawk Chief Joseph Brant during the 18th Century. Brant was just a teenager when he fought with the British in the Seven Years' War. As well, in 1775, he and 1,500 other members of the Six Nations Iroquois (or Long House) Confederacy fought alongside Great Britain's Royal Regiment during the American Revolution.20

First Nations cooperation in British military activity continued over the years. Joseph Brant's youngest son, John, followed in his father's footsteps. As Captain of the Northern Confederate Indians, he fought against the Americans in the War of 1812.

Eighty-six Indigenous volunteers helped guide General Wolseley and his troops up the Nile River in 1884 so they could relieve British soldiers during the Battle of Khartoum. Along with some 300 other Canadians, these Indigenous boatmen were the Nile Voyageurs. (Notman and Son / Library and Archives Canada PA-139815)

Several Mohawks from present-day Quebec journeyed south to join the Ontario Iroquois during this war. The Americans felt their presence most in the second year of the war during the Battle at Beaver Dams, when 180 Mohawks from Kahnawake, Kanesatake and Akwesasne, along with 200 members of the Six Nations of the Grand River, thwarted an American military expedition on its way to Fort George. During the two-hour battle, 15 First Nations warriors were killed and 25 were wounded.21

In all, Great Britain awarded 96 Military General Service Medals to Indigenous soldiers for their military assistance between 1793 and 1814.22

Indigenous people also helped British troops overseas. In 1884, during the Battle of Khartoum in the Sudan, the British put out a call for Canadian volunteers to help guide British soldiers up the Nile River. The soldiers were to provide some relief to the isolated men stationed there. General Lord Garnet Wolseley's group included nearly 400 Canadian boatmen—the Nile Voyageurs—56 of whom were Mohawks23, mostly from the Kahnawake band in Quebec, and 30 of whom were Ojibwa from Manitoba and Northern Ontario.24 Chief Louis Jackson of Kahnawake recommended the design for the whaler-boats that were used on the voyage and became a river foreman. Afterward, he wrote a book about the experiences of the Kahnawake participants. Two Indigenous men lost their lives during the perilous six-month, 19,000-kilometre expedition. This journey turned out to be for naught. The British troops were killed two days before the rescuers arrived.

Like Joseph Brant—his great great grandfather—Cameron Brant chose to come to the aid of Great Britain in wartime. The lieutenant was 28 years old when he was killed near Ypres, Belgium, while leading his platoon in a counterattack.

Many Indigenous recruits of the First World War followed in the footsteps of their Veteran ancestors. One example is Cameron Brant, Joseph Brant's great-great-grandson. He commanded a platoon of the 4th Canadian Infantry Battalion. The 28-year-old lieutenant lost his life in 1915 near Ypres, Belgium, while leading a counter-attack into the enemy's trenches.

For Cameron Brant and many other participants in the First World War, pride in past family achievements may have attracted them to the service. What these men probably did not realize was that they, in turn, would inspire future generations.

Date modified:

La tradition se propage

Le Monument commémoratif de Brant à Brantford, en Ontario, a été érigé en l'honneur du chef mohawk Joseph Brant qui se battit aux côtés des troupes britanniques au cours de la guerre de Sept Ans et de la révolution américaine. (Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-66647)

Il est difficile de dégager les raisons de la réponse autochtone. Plusieurs se sont portés volontaires pour les mêmes raisons que les autres Canadiens l'ont fait, c'est-à-dire, parce que leurs amis et leurs parents s'étaient enrôlés, par patriotisme, afin de connaître l'aventure ou simplement pour gagner une solde garantie.

Certains se sont portés volontaires pour des raisons propres à leur bande ou à leur réserve. L'un des membres de la bande mohawk de la baie de Quinte attribue le fort taux d'enrôlement sur sa réserve à ses liens avec la Grande-Bretagne : « Nous sommes venus avec les Loyalistes des États-Unis. Nos traités ont été conclus avec la Couronne, donc si la Couronne lance un appel, nous répondons. »18

Un historien autochtone prétend que la Grande Guerre offrait l'occasion d'assumer un rôle plus actif aux Autochtones qui vivaient dans les réserves.19 Selon lui, le rôle des hommes était devenu moins important dans les réserves, et beaucoup d'Autochtones avaient de la difficulté à s'adapter à ce changement. Il ajoute que pour certains d'entre eux, c'était la chance d'échapper à l'ennui.

La tradition influença également la réponse. Les Autochtones canadiens avaient déjà combattu du côté de la Grande-Bretagne. On n'a qu'à penser au chef mohawk Joseph Brant au cours du 18e siècle. Brant était encore adolescent lorsqu'il combattit avec les Britanniques au cours de la guerre de Sept Ans. De plus, en 1775, Brant et 1 500 autres membres de la Confédération iroquoise des Six-Nations combattirent aux côtés du Royal Regiment de Grande-Bretagne pendant la révolution américaine.20

La collaboration des Autochtones aux activités militaires des Britanniques se poursuivit au fil des ans. Le plus jeune fils de Joseph Brant, John, suivit les traces de son père. Il fut capitaine des Northern Confederate Indians, et se battit contre les Américains au cours de la Guerre de 1812.

Quatre-vingt-six volontaires Autochtones aidèrent le général Wolseley et ses troupes à remonter le Nil en 1884 pour porter secours aux soldats britanniques pendant la bataille de Khartoum. À l'instar de quelque 300 autres Canadiens, ces bateliers autochtones furent les Voyageurs du Nil. (Notman & Son / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-139815)

Plusieurs Mohawks du Québec firent le voyage vers le sud pour se joindre aux Iroquois de l'Ontario au cours de cette guerre. Les Américains firent davantage sentir leur présence au cours de la deuxième année de la guerre pendant la bataille qui se déroula à Beaver Dams, lorsque 180 Mohawks de Kahnawake, de Kanesatake et d'Akwesasne, ainsi que 200 membres des Six-Nations de Grand River, barrèrent la route à une expédition militaire américaine qui se rendait à Fort George. Au cours de la bataille qui dura deux heures, 15 Autochtones furent tués et 25 furent blessés.21

En tout, la Grande-Bretagne décerna 96 médailles pour services généraux à des Autochtones du Canada pour leur aide militaire entre 1793 et 1814.22

Les Autochtones canadiens aidèrent aussi les troupes britanniques outre-mer. En 1884, au cours de la bataille de Khartoum au Soudan, les Britanniques lancèrent un appel aux volontaires canadiens pour aider à guider les soldats britanniques dans la remontée du Nil. Les soldats devaient porter secours aux hommes isolés qui étaient en poste à cet endroit. Le détachement du général Lord Garnet Wolseley comprenait près de 400 bateliers canadiens, les Voyageurs du Nil, dont 56 Mohawks23 principalement de la bande de Kahnawake au Québec, et 30 Ojibwas du Manitoba et du nord de l'Ontario.24 Le chef Louis Jackson de Kahnawake donna des conseils concernant la conception des baleiniers qui furent utilisés pour le voyage et devint chef d'équipe. Il écrivit un livre au sujet des expériences que vécurent les Autochtones de Kahnawake qui participèrent à cette expédition. Deux Autochtones perdirent la vie au cours de la périlleuse expédition de 19 000 kilomètres qui dura six mois. L'expédition fut cependant vaine. Les troupes britanniques furent tuées deux jours avant que les sauveteurs arrivent.

Comme Joseph Brant, son
arrière-arrière-grand-père, Cameron Brant se porta au secours de la Grande-Bretagne en temps de guerre. Le lieutenant avait 28 ans lorsqu'il fut tué près d'Ypres, en Belgique, tandis qu'il dirigeait son peloton dans une contre-attaque.

De nombreuses recrues autochtones de la Première Guerre mondiale suivirent les traces de leurs ancêtres. Ce fut le cas de Cameron Brant, l'arrière-arrière-petit-fils de Joseph Brant. Il commanda un peloton du 4e Bataillon d'infanterie canadien. Le lieutenant de 28 ans perdit la vie en 1915, près de Ypres, en Belgique, alors qu'il dirigeait une contre-attaque dans les tranchées ennemies.

Il se peut que Cameron Brant et de nombreux autres Autochtones qui participèrent à la Première Guerre mondiale eussent été tentés de s'enrôler parce qu'ils étaient fiers des réalisations antérieures de leurs familles. Mais ces hommes ne se rendaient probablement pas compte qu'ils deviendraient à leur tour une source d'inspiration pour les générations futures.

Date de modification :