Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Caregiver Recognition Benefit (VAC PPU 702)

Description: This bank describes information that is used in support of determining eligibility and entitlement for benefits under the Caregiver Recognition Benefit program. The information is about individuals who applied for financial recognition for on-going informal caregiving provided without remuneration by their spouse, common-law partner, other adult family member, or other adult informal caregivers, designated to receive the benefit.

Personal information collected for both the Veteran and caregiver may include name, contact information, date of birth, personal opinions or views about the applicant and their caregiving needs, and signatures. Personal information collected for the Veteran only may include client identification numbers and health information. Personal information collected for the caregiver only may include other identification numbers, and financial information. Other required personal information may include whether the applicant is a VAC employee, other information required for identity validation, and information regarding a representative.

Note: Revised in 2019. Formerly known as the Family Caregiver Relief Benefit. For all Family Caregiver Relief Benefit applications made under subsection 65.1(1) of the Veterans Well-being Act, as it read on March 31, 2018, and that was received by the Minister before April 1, 2018, are to be dealt with in accordance with the Personal Information Bank VAC PPU 702 as it read on March 31, 2018.  Information may be stored in VAC's physical and electronic systems including: Client Service Delivery Network (CSDN) and/or GCCase, which may include client initiated actions and responses made through My VAC Account, and/or, VAC staff/contracted resource initiated actions and responses made through Benefit and Health Services On-line (BHSOL).

Some documents received in VAC from the Department of National Defence (DND) may reference the social insurance number (SIN) as DND personnel were required to use the SIN as their personal identification number between 1960 and 1990.

Class of Individuals: Canadian Armed Forces Veterans, informal caregivers, and/or representatives.

Purpose: The personal information is used to administer the program, determine eligibility and entitlement, and disburse funds. Personal information is collected pursuant to section 65.1 of the Veterans Well-being Act, as well as the associated Veterans Well-being Regulations.

Consistent Uses: Information may be used and disclosed for planning, research, development, evaluation and/or reporting of programs, policies and services. The use and disclosure is limited to VAC areas that are involved in the identified program, service and policy, and may also be shared with senior management.

Personal information may be shared with other VAC programs, including programs covered by the application waiver provision under sections 80.1 of the Pension Act and/or 78.1 of the Veterans Well-being Act, for the purpose of determining eligibility for additional benefits, assessments, case management, mental health initiatives, and/or commemorative activities, where applicable.

Disclosure of Veteran and/or designated caregiver information may occur between VAC, the Veteran, and the designated caregiver for purposes of administering the program.

Name, contact information, identifying number, entitlement amounts and direct deposit instructions may be shared with Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) for the purposes of issuing payments (refer to Receiver General Payments – PWGSC PCU 712).

Personal information may be obtained by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) in accordance with an established Memorandum of Agreement, for the purpose of creating a digital image of the record for use by VAC (refer to PSPC institution-specific personal information bank, PWGSC PCU 709 – Document Imaging Solutions); PSPC will not use the personal information for the purposes of making administrative decisions.

Personal information such as name, contact information, service information, health and financial information may be shared with an authorized and approved third party, in accordance with an established Service Level Agreement for the purpose of printing and mailing services. The approved third party will not use the personal information for the purposes of making administrative decisions.

Veterans Affairs Canada has contracted an authorized and approved third party, located in Canada, to provide transportation, storage, maintenance retrieval, delivery, and destruction services of VAC records, where applicable.

Retention and Disposal Standards: Regardless of the format, as part of the client record, the retention period is 7 years after the date of death of the applicant. If the date is not known, the retention period is 110 years after the date of birth provided there are no known dependents, no outstanding claims against the crown, no actions involving the estate, no indication on file of the legal status of a dependent, and no activity of any kind. 

RDA Number: 2017/002

Related Records: Caregiver Recognition Benefit Class of Record VAC MVA 892

TBS Registration: 20150186

Bank Number: VAC PPU 702

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Allocation de reconnaissance pour aidant (ACC PPU 702)

Description : Ce fichier contient des renseignements utilisés pour aider à déterminer l’admissibilité et le droit à des prestations dans le cadre du programme d’Allocation de reconnaissance pour aidant. Les renseignements concernent les personnes qui ont présenté une demande de compensation financière pour une aide naturelle continue offerte gratuitement par leur conjoint ou conjoint de fait, un autre adulte de la famille ou un autre aidant naturel adulte désigné pour recevoir l’allocation.

Les renseignements personnels recueillis pour le vétéran et l’aidant peuvent inclure le nom, les coordonnées, la date de naissance, des opinions ou des points de vue personnels au sujet du demandeur et de leurs besoins de soutien, et les signatures. Les renseignements personnels recueillis pour le vétéran peuvent également inclure les numéros d’identification du client et les renseignements sur la santé. Les renseignements personnels recueillis pour l’aidant seulement peuvent inclure d’autres numéros d’identification et des renseignements financiers. Parmi les autres renseignements personnels requis, mentionnons une indication précisant si le demandeur est un employé d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), les autres renseignements nécessaires à la validation de son identité et les renseignements concernant son représentant.

Observation : Révisé en 2019. Anciennement appelée l’Allocation pour relève d’un aidant familial. Toutes les demandes d’Allocation pour relève d’un aidant familial faites en vertu du paragraphe 65.1(1) de la Loi sur le bien être des vétérans, dans sa version au 31 mars 2018, et qui ont été reçues par le ministre avant le 1er avril 2018, doivent être traitées conformément au fichier de renseignements personnels ACC PPU 702 dans sa version au 31 mars 2018. Les renseignements peuvent être stockés dans les systèmes physiques et électroniques d’ACC suivants : le RPSC ou GCcas, où l’on peut trouver des mesures prises par le client et ses réponses dans Mon dossier ACC ou des mesures prises par les employés ou le personnel contractuel d’ACC et leurs réponses dans le système PSSD.

Certains documents que reçoit ACC du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) pourraient contenir le numéro d’assurance sociale du client, car les employés du MDN devaient l’utiliser comme numéro d’identification personnel de 1960 à 1990.

Catégorie de personnes : Les vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes, les aidants naturels, et/ou leurs représentants.

But : Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour administrer le programme, déterminer l’admissibilité et les droits, ainsi qu’attribuer les fonds. Ils sont recueillis en vertu de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur le bien être des vétérans et du Règlement sur le bien être des vétérans qui s’y rattache.

Usages compatibles : Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés et communiqués aux fins de planification, de recherche, d’élaboration, d’évaluation ou de préparation de rapports sur des programmes, des politiques et des services. L’utilisation et la communication sont limitées aux domaines d’ACC qui sont liés au programme ciblé, aux services et aux politiques. Les renseignements peuvent également être communiqués à la haute direction.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués à d’autres programmes d’ACC, notamment des programmes couverts par la disposition sur la dispense de l’obligation de présenter une demande conformément à l’article 80.1 de la Loi sur les pensions et/ou l’article 78.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, afin de déterminer l’admissibilité à d’autres prestations, à des évaluations, à la gestion de cas, aux initiatives sur la santé mentale et/ou aux activités commémoratives, le cas échéant.

La communication de renseignements sur le vétéran ou l’aidant désigné peut se faire entre ACC, le vétéran et l’aidant désigné dans le but d’administrer le programme.

Le nom, les coordonnées, le numéro d’identification, les montants payables et les instructions relatives au dépôt direct peuvent être communiqués à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) aux fins de paiement (consulter Paiements du receveur général – TPSGC PCU 712).

Conformément à un protocole d’entente établi, les renseignements personnels peuvent être obtenus par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) pour créer une image numérique du document aux fins d’utilisation par ACC (consulter le fichier de renseignements personnels propre à SPAC : Solutions d’imagerie documentaire – TPSGC PCU 709). SPAC n’utilisera pas les renseignements personnels pour prendre des décisions administratives.

Conformément à une convention sur le niveau de service établie, le nom, les coordonnées, les renseignements sur le service, les renseignements sur la santé et les renseignements financiers peuvent être communiqués a un tiers autorisé et approuvé aux fins de services d’impressions et d’envoi du courrier. Le tiers approuvé n’utilisera pas les renseignements personnels pour prendre des décisions administratives.

Anciens Combattants Canada a conclu un contrat avec un tiers autorisé et approuvé situé au Canada pour assurer les services de transport, d’entreposage, de maintien, de récupération, de livraison et de destruction de ses documents, au besoin.

Normes de conservation et de destruction : Pour ce qui est du dossier du client, peu importe le format, la période de conservation est de 7 ans suivant la date de décès du demandeur. Si la date est inconnue, la période de conservation est de 110 ans suivant la date de naissance, pourvu qu’il n’y ait aucune personne à charge connue, aucune revendication non réglée auprès de la Couronne, aucune mesure concernant la succession, aucune indication au dossier du statut juridique d’une personne à charge ni aucune activité de quelque nature que ce soit.   

Numéro ADD : 2017/002

Documents connexes : Catégorie de documents en matière de l’Allocation de reconnaissance pour aidant ACC MAC 892

Numéro d’enregistrement au SCT : 20150186

Numéro de fichier : ACC PPU 702  

Date de modification :