Payments: A Person Dies Before Receiving Payment

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research Division
Effective Date: April 1, 2018
Document ID: 2687

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to provide direction on how to administer a payment when a person dies before having received the payment from the Department under the Veterans Well-being Act (previously known as the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act).

 

Policy

Definitions

  1. For the purposes of this policy, as per the Payments subsection 87.1(3), a survivor is defined as a person who, at the time of a person’s death, was a spouse or common-law partner.
  2. “Spouse” refers to a person who is married to and residing with another person. For details on couples living apart and recent marriage, refer to the policy Definition of Survivor for the Purposes of Disability and Death Benefits.
  3. “Common-law partner” refers to a person who is cohabiting with another person in a conjugal relationship and has done so for a period of at least one year. For further detail, refer to the policy entitled Establishment of a Common-Law Partnership.
  4. The term “survivor” excludes surviving separated spouses, surviving former (divorced) spouses, and surviving former common-law partners.
  5. A “person” refers to a member, Veteran, spouse, common-law partner, survivor, child, orphan or dependent entitled to any benefit under the Veterans Well-being Act.
  6. The above definitions for survivor only apply for the determination of payments when a person dies prior to receiving their payment(s), under section 87.1.
  7. The definition of a survivor as defined in subsection 2(1) of the Veterans Well-being Act still applies for determining survivor eligibility and entitlement for applicable benefits and are not affected by the Payments section (87.1).

General

  1. The rules set out in the Payments section (87.1) of the Veterans Well-being Act do not replace the Eligibility rules for each of the benefits under the Act. The Payments section only applies when an amount is payable to a person who dies before receiving it.
  2. Under the Veterans Well-being Act, subsection 87.1(1) for Payments states that any amount that is payable to a person, who dies before receiving the payment, is to be paid to their survivor.
  3. Amount payable under the Act means a payment amount that has already been determined and is in transition or is a payment that is outstanding to a person. For example, a cheque has been issued and the person dies before receiving the cheque or a benefit has been approved but the person dies before the first payment has been issued.
  4. If the person does not have a survivor or the survivor dies before receiving the payment, then the payment is to be paid to the person’s estate or succession, as per subsection 87.1(2).
  5. If a survivor is not identified within a reasonable amount of time, and the Department has made a reasonable effort to identify a survivor on behalf of the deceased person, then the payment will be paid to the person’s estate or succession. Reasonable efforts and reasonable amount of time will be determined at the Department’s discretion on a case by case basis.
  6. If a payment has been returned to Veterans Affairs Canada, then that payment will be dealt with on a case by case basis in accordance with section 87.1.

    References

    The Veterans Well-being Act - subsections 2(2), 2(4), section 87.1

    Definition of Survivor for the Purposes of Disability and Death Benefits

    Establishment of a Common-Law Partnership

    Date modified:

Paiements : Une personne décède avant de recevoir un paiement

Autorité compétente : Directrice générale, Politique et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2018
Numéro du document : 2687

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

But

Cette politique a pour but de fournir des directives sur la façon de traiter un paiement du Ministère lorsqu’une personne décède avant de le recevoir, conformément à la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (anciennement appelée la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes).

Politique

Définitions

  1. Aux fins de la présente politique, un survivant est une personne qui, au moment du décès du militaire ou vétéran, était son époux ou son conjoint de fait, conformément au paragraphe 87.1(3) sur les paiements.
  2. Le terme « époux » désigne la personne qui est mariée et qui réside avec le militaire ou vétéran. Pour obtenir des précisions sur les couples vivant séparément et les couples récemment mariés, se reporter à la politique intitulée « Définition du survivant aux fins de prestations d’invalidité et d’indemnité de décès ».
  3. Le terme « conjoint de fait » désigne la personne qui vit avec le militaire ou vétéran en cause dans une relation conjugale depuis au moins un an. Pour obtenir d’autres précisions, se reporter à la politique intitulée « Établissement d’une union de fait ».
  4. Le terme « survivant » ne comprend pas les époux séparés, les ex-époux (divorcés) survivants et les ex-conjoints de fait survivants.
  5. Le terme « personne » désigne le militaire, le vétéran, l’époux, le conjoint de fait, le survivant, l’enfant, l’orphelin ou la personne à charge admissible à des prestations en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans.
  6. Les définitions du terme « survivant » susmentionnées ne s’appliquent qu’aux fins de détermination des paiements lorsqu’une personne décède avant de les recevoir, conformément à l’article 87.1.
  7. La définition du terme « survivant » énoncée au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans s’applique toujours pour déterminer l’admissibilité du survivant aux prestations applicables et n’est pas visée par l’article sur les paiements (87.1).

     

    Généralités

    1. Les règles établies dans l’article sur les paiements (87.1) de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans vétérans ne remplacent pas les règles d’admissibilité relatives à chaque avantage prévu par la Loi. L’article sur les paiements s’applique uniquement lorsqu’une personne décède avant d’avoir reçu un montant qui devait lui être verse.
    2. Conformément au paragraphe 87.1(1) sur les paiements, tout montant payable à une personne qui décède avant de recevoir le paiement doit être versé à son survivant.
    3. Le montant payable en vertu de la Loi correspond au montant du paiement déjà établi en transition ou au paiement en souffrance d’une personne. Par exemple, un chèque est émis et la personne décède avant de le recevoir, ou une allocation est approuvée, mais la personne décède avant l’émission du premier versement.
    4. Si la personne n’a pas de survivant ou si le survivant décède avant de recevoir le paiement, celui-ci doit alors être versé à la succession de la personne, conformément au paragraphe 87.1(2).
    5. Si, après les efforts raisonnables déployés par le Ministère pour trouver un survivant au nom de la personne décédée, aucun survivant n’a pu être identifié dans un délai raisonnable, le paiement doit alors être versé à la succession de la personne. Ce qui constitue des « efforts raisonnables » et un « délai raisonnable » sera laissé à la discrétion du Ministère et sera déterminé au cas par cas.
    6. Si un paiement est retourné à Anciens Combattants Canada, il sera alors traité au cas par cas, conformément à l’article 87.1.

      Références

      Loi sur le bien‑être des vétérans, paragraphes 2(2), 2(4) et article 87.1

      Politique Définition du survivant aux fins de prestations d’invalidité et d’indemnité de décès 

      Politique Établissement d’une union de fait

      Date de modification :